logo
Old 09-04-2008, 02:55 PM
Find More Posts by Twizlair
Abq. NM
Joined Oct 2006
757 Posts
Gettin a BLADE 400 To HOLD TIGHT and RIP!!

First off Let me tell anyone reading this I AM NOT A HELI PRO by any stretch of the imagination. I got this Blade 400 from a guy that wanted me to give it a try since I had been having a terrible time with my T-rex 450se. I threw over a grand in that thing and it still was very hard to fly. It is a full out hard core Alan and Danny SZABO type heli, Way too much for me. I just want to do loops rolls and a few flips or other stuff to scare myself.
I started with a bone stock Blade 400. Stock servos, gyro, and batt. Nothing upgraded at all and that’s the way this one will stay Oh yeah except for the DX7. So I started with reading all I could about this machine here is a link to Run Ryder that has a great post about the Blade and was my starting point. http://runryder.com/helicopter/t3949...blade+400+mods

I read all I could then took the heli out bone stock and gave a turn around the yard. Not Fun the tail was all over the place. I started looking and measuring my 50 heli compared to the blade and found that the geometry for the tail rotor linkage was really short. I tried moving the link in one hole and that helped but not a lot. Gain was still sub70% Bummer the tail would wag around all over. So I need more moment arm to give more travel with less tail input. I made a G10 Glass Tail arm extender to move the ball out 4mm on the Tail. Now the Vertical fin gets in the way no big deal off to ACE and get two 2mm x 20mm bolts and use two micro servo eyelets and that sets the fin off enough to clear. (SEE PHOTOS BELOW) Still on the 3rd hole on the servo arm and out 4mm on the tail I take it out to the street. YEAH BABY it works I turn up the gain to 93% with stock servo in normal mode and the tail is stuck right where I want it. Fast piro one turn and let the stick bang to center no wag just locked and stopped.