logo
Old 02-01-2010, 09:30 AM
Find More Posts by Chuchuf
Joined Oct 2009
191 Posts
Over Rotating Snap Roll

I am trying to understand why my 30% Yak has a tendency to over rotate it's snap roll on the horizontal line. It seems like I need to lead the exit of the snap by an 1/8 or a turn maybe a bit more.
I am entering the snaps at between 1/2 to 1/3 throttle typically, and try and lead the snap with up elevator an instant before I apply full aileron and rudder. Exit is to neutralize the sticks. I am doing the snap on low rates. The snap inself looks good, just over rotates.
While I am new to the gas scene I am not new to pattern just a few years removed so I am pretty familiar with setting up a plane properly.
The other day I flew a freinds EF 110" Yak 100cc and could not believe how well it snapped. Using the same technique when I nutralized the sticks, the snap stopped.
So I am wondering what on the plane will effect snap rolls?? CG, Thrust, Deflection, etc??

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Chuchuf is offline Find More Posts by Chuchuf
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 02-01-2010, 10:25 AM
Find More Posts by toad
Straight up Huckin!
Tulsa, OK
Joined Feb 2006
192 Posts
Re: Over Rotating Snap Roll

ChuChuf -

There are several things in could be, in my limited experience. With my models...the over-rotating offenders were all on the porky side. I have come to believe that the weight of the wings themselves have a lot to do with this over rotating tendency. If you think about it...with heavy wings...the built up inertia in a snap is sometimes difficult to overcome. Sadly, again, from my experience, correcting this often required rather drastic measures. My latest offender, a 35% AW Edge 540T, has been decommissioned due to excessive wing weight. It being a composite frame and wing made any lightening project a task I was not prepared to undertake.
toad is offline Find More Posts by toad
Old 02-01-2010, 10:47 AM