Old 09-21-2011, 10:54 AM
Find More Posts by T_Simatovic
Team Horizon
United States, GA, Smyrna
Joined Jan 2010
3,889 Posts
Question
what does 3d mean anyway??

ive been flying 3d for 2-3 years now and i dont even know the definition... what does 3d mean? what does a plane have to have to be a 3D plane? my friend asked me... wow you fly toy planes? and i said sort of... i told her i fly 3d and she says, what does 3d mean? i said.....good question!!! haha just curious so i can have the answer when i am asked....
T_Simatovic is offline Find More Posts by T_Simatovic
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 09-21-2011, 11:07 AM
Find More Posts by exeter_acres
Our society is collapsing
Johns Creek, GA
Joined Jan 2006
8,711 Posts
I define it as any time when the airframe is flying in a stalled condition......

Don't know if that is "correct'
but it works for me
exeter_acres is offline Find More Posts by exeter_acres
Old 09-21-2011, 11:10 AM
Find More Posts by gapple12
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Aug 2006
4,561 Posts
3D Three Dimensional flying on all three axises, I think.....
gapple12 is offline Find More Posts by gapple12
Old 09-21-2011, 11:10 AM
Find More Posts by Futabaman
United States, VA, Amelia Court House
Joined Jan 2006
606 Posts
3D is more of a flying style than a technical aspect of aeronautics. Example "X games". Where's the X in snowboarding, etc?
Futabaman is offline Find More Posts by Futabaman
Old 09-21-2011, 11:17 AM
Find More Posts by Reza
Aliso Viejo, CA
Joined Jan 2006
4,400 Posts
As mentioned 3D means 3 dimensional, however, it represents stalled condition maneuvers. True 3dimensional flying can also be performed with speed just like snap rolls and many other maneuvers but it is an accepted term in RC to represent a flying style! Now, if you want to impress her, why don't you take her to the field and fly for her, take a buddy box with you as well :-)
Reza is offline Find More Posts by Reza