logo
Reply
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2012, 11:25 AM
Uber Contributor
Dubai, UAE
Joined Dec 2009
870 Posts
Question
Questions on PilotRC 35% Sbach / DLE 111

This is not really a build thread. I was just putting together my Sbach with a DLE111. My first Sbach and first DLE 111

Questions:
1. Why does Pilot RC ask us to cut a centre hole in the firewall behind the engine? there is no way out for the air in the fuslage so I dont see much point in cutting that hole.
2. On the DLE i was trying to put a servo for the choke to have a transmitter based engine cut off control. The choke lever is so wrong that I can only use a manual lever to operate it. Else remove the orgnal lever and install a arm, which is unnecessary work if you ask me. Those with DEL111's and know what I am talking about, any ideas on how I can install a servo for the choke without going through a lot of hassle?
RCToon is offline Find More Posts by RCToon
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 10:16 PM
Registered User
FGMember's Avatar
GTA, Canada
Joined Nov 2009
544 Posts

I don't know about the hole! but instead of chock servo you can use "ignition kill" switch. (I use my finger to reach to chock arm on my GW Sbach!)
FGMember is offline Find More Posts by FGMember
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:16 PM
RUTNBUC
wylieruneyjr's Avatar
United States, SC, McClellanville
Joined Sep 2008
2,602 Posts

I use the choke servo. What I do is remove the existing arm/lever by grinding the end of the choke shaft enought to knock the lever off. Then I use a swb servo arm for Hitec servo, I drill the hole out that normally would be on the splines shaft of the servo. Do not drill out the splines, just the end thats blocked off where the servo screw is. The one that holds the arm on the servo. Slip this over the choke shaft, and position as needed. Then tighten the little allen screw/nut were the it compresses on the coke shaft. Whoa all new choke arm. Rutnbuc
wylieruneyjr is offline Find More Posts by wylieruneyjr
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 02:33 AM
Uber Contributor
Dubai, UAE
Joined Dec 2009
870 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by wylieruneyjr View Post
I use the choke servo. What I do is remove the existing arm/lever by grinding the end of the choke shaft enought to knock the lever off. Then I use a swb servo arm for Hitec servo, I drill the hole out that normally would be on the splines shaft of the servo. Do not drill out the splines, just the end thats blocked off where the servo screw is. The one that holds the arm on the servo. Slip this over the choke shaft, and position as needed. Then tighten the little allen screw/nut were the it compresses on the coke shaft. Whoa all new choke arm. Rutnbuc
Nice
I would have like to avoid the grinding and all, but i think it is worth it.
RCToon is offline Find More Posts by RCToon
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 03:17 AM
Flyin' Around
Spotfree's Avatar
Norway
Joined Feb 2007
49 Posts

I have just made mine with a choke servo. What I did was a one inch long thin aluminum plate, made a fork like split at the end. The size of this must be the same as the exsisting arm of the choke . Made a hole that was the same as on the choke lever. Placed the alu. plate on the inside of the choke lever and use a pop nail/ bolt to fasten. The fork like split together with the nail will prevent to arm from moving. Oh, I forgot,,,,the alu. plate can be cut out at any angle you may see fit for your engine and servo placement
Spotfree is offline Find More Posts by Spotfree
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 05:22 AM
Uber Contributor
Dubai, UAE
Joined Dec 2009
870 Posts

Thanks Spot!

On the Sbach 35% where do you place the throttle and choke servos? I would like to keep them behind the engine, but since that would be close to the silencers I am think perhaps the heat will be too much.
Placing them in the fuslage the rods become a little too long and will vibrate in a gasser.
RCToon is offline Find More Posts by RCToon
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 05:34 AM
Flyin' Around
Spotfree's Avatar
Norway
Joined Feb 2007
49 Posts

I placed mine together under the engine inside the headers just behind the firewall ( I use cannisters with 70 mm drop on headers). To prevent heat from damaging the servo I made a heat shield from very light alum.
Spotfree is offline Find More Posts by Spotfree
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:33 PM
Flyin' Around
Joined Dec 2009
5 Posts

I'm just finishing my plane. If the CG is at the rear of the wing tube, I will have to add 8 ozs to the tail. This seems like a lot of weight! Has anyone else had this problem?
cruiser3983 is offline Find More Posts by cruiser3983
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:26 PM
I got a BIG BLOCK now ......
flying skunks's Avatar
Flying with the Best of Friends
Joined May 2006
16,642 Posts

Just move your batteries aft. I had mine placed at the forward edge of the rear turtledeck..
flying skunks is online now Find More Posts by flying skunks
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:20 AM
Uber Contributor
Dubai, UAE
Joined Dec 2009
870 Posts

+1
I installed my A123 batteries below the Rudder servo tray. The CG comes out about an inch ahead of the recommended CG, but that is fine for the first few flights which is all I have just done so far. Once I get more comfortable with the plane, I will move the batteries further back, including the ignition battery (2200mah A123 too) which is way ahead right now.
RCToon is offline Find More Posts by RCToon
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:09 AM
Uber Contributor
United Kingdom, Scotland, Glasgow
Joined May 2011
785 Posts

+2

Both my a123's are halfway down the rear of the fuse.

In hindsight if I knew that I would have put the rudder servo in the tail but alas.

Cheers
raptorheli2 is offline Find More Posts by raptorheli2
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools