logo
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by oalhindi, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old 04-13-2012, 01:10 AM
oalhindi is offline
Find More Posts by oalhindi
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2010
792 Posts
Discussion
new plane requires Lots of elevator in a Hover ?

Hi,
I just got a new plane ( Extra 330sc ) and it is hard to hover. It’s wants to fall towards the belly quickly and requires a lot of elevator to keep it up.
I have other planes that hover with almost no Elevator to some, But this one is a hands full.
Does anyone know why this might be happening ? and how to correct it ?
also in a verticle clib it goes towards the belley a lot. when moving the CG forwards it goes away but then its nose heavy

Could it be the down thrust or incidence

I appreciate anyone’s help
oalhindi is offline Find More Posts by oalhindi
Old 04-13-2012, 08:39 AM
3daviator is offline
Find More Posts by 3daviator
Registered User
3daviator's Avatar
Simpsonville , SC
Joined Jan 2006
1,294 Posts
So after trimming it for hands off straight/level flight, what does it do on an inverted 45deg upline? How's the elevator trim after trimming for straight/level ? Did you check the incidence when you put it together?
3daviator is offline Find More Posts by 3daviator
Old 04-13-2012, 08:57 AM
yakwards is offline
Find More Posts by yakwards
Bastard 3D pilot
yakwards's Avatar
United States, VA, Hampton
Joined Apr 2010
2,254 Posts
What type of extra,engine size,a little more info maybe?
yakwards is offline Find More Posts by yakwards
Old 04-13-2012, 09:40 AM
airboss/oc is offline
Find More Posts by airboss/oc
fly inverted indoors
airboss/oc's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
4,736 Posts
sounds like its maybe the thrust angle is off.
airboss/oc is offline Find More Posts by airboss/oc
Old 04-13-2012, 01:51 PM
oalhindi is offline
Find More Posts by oalhindi
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2010
792 Posts
Ehen I go inverted to a 45 line it goes staight for a bit and the slowly goes towards the canopy. not to bad on the CG.
my incidence shows that it is around 0-1 degree. I'm using the 4 in 1 digital incidence meter and there is a play in there.
all of them have that play. I have 2 of them and couple of my friends do too.
i'm going to try increasing the up thrust with one washer and see what happens.
oalhindi is offline Find More Posts by oalhindi
Old 04-13-2012, 01:54 PM
oalhindi is offline
Find More Posts by oalhindi
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2010
792 Posts
did anyone experience this before ?
I have a 50cc reactor as well and it does the same thing in a hover. and both planes in a vertical line go towards the belly.
my other planes like the OMP yak 50cc is just perfect. here is a video so you can see the way I fly. not a beginner but was just surprised with this new plane.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-CIt-Mq6NU&feature=relmfu
oalhindi is offline Find More Posts by oalhindi
Old 04-13-2012, 08:37 PM
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline
Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Flying Giant Scale is News.
Bunky F. Knuckle's Avatar
TFC
Joined Jan 2006
7,323 Posts
Change your CG, not the upthrust. CG will change how an airplane hovers. My first Carden was stupid nose heavy, and hovered hands off. Once it was locked in, it was all over. It would actually torque roll by it self.

Also, fly numerous up and down lines, directly in front of you.

If engine incidence is off, fly full throttle and pull the throttle off. If the airplane climbs with throttle removal, you need to add a touch of up thrust. Opposite if it dives.
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Last edited by Bunky F. Knuckle; 04-13-2012 at 08:44 PM.
Old 04-13-2012, 09:00 PM
oalhindi is offline
Find More Posts by oalhindi
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2010
792 Posts
so to hover it would be better to have it tail heavy right ?
but I tried this and the plane becomes real snappy.
is there something I can do ?
thanks
oalhindi is offline Find More Posts by oalhindi
Old 04-14-2012, 03:54 PM
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline
Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Flying Giant Scale is News.
Bunky F. Knuckle's Avatar
TFC
Joined Jan 2006
7,323 Posts
It don't have to be tail heavy. Neutral to slightly nose heavy will be fine.
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Old 04-16-2012, 09:02 PM
Rush7 is offline
Find More Posts by Rush7
Huckin somewhere under the sun
Rush7's Avatar
Chattanooga, TN
Joined Mar 2007
2,020 Posts
One more thing to keep in mind is that some planes like to hover slightly laid back. I think that you may have just not found the sweet spot on your plane.

My 110" EF Yak will hover straight up (vertical) where as my 125" EF Extra will hovers the best leaned slightly towards the canopy. I think its just the flight characteristics of the planes. Both planes are balanced right on the cg and are really close to neutral upright and inverted.
Rush7 is offline Find More Posts by Rush7
Old 04-16-2012, 09:16 PM
oalhindi is offline
Find More Posts by oalhindi
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2010
792 Posts
Thanks. I will try that tomorrow or the day after if the wind is calm so I can get an idea if that makes it better
oalhindi is offline Find More Posts by oalhindi
Old 04-18-2012, 10:17 PM
RCFreak is offline
Find More Posts by RCFreak
Just Yakn
RCFreak's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Werribee
Joined Oct 2011
11 Posts
I have recently had some help setting up my plane properly for the first time and I could not believe how much better the plane flew. our local gun pilot gave my Yak a shake down, flying vertical up lines and down lines. If the plane pulls to the belly, put in some up thrust. once you have this sorted concentrate on the downlines. We had to add one or two clicks of down elevator because the Yaks wing incidence was slightly out. You could try to fix the incidence, but I couldnt be bothered cutting up a new plane.
once the plane was perfectly neutral in the vertical up and down lines, we tried level flight. had to hold a little back stick for level flight but it was exactly the same for inverted. I find this to be a perfect set up for IMAC. C of G is also neutral.
RCFreak is offline Find More Posts by RCFreak
Old 04-18-2012, 11:23 PM
oalhindi is offline
Find More Posts by oalhindi
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2010
792 Posts
thanks that helps, I will try that.
Now when you measure the CG and do an invert 45 degree, What is your throttle settings ? is like full, half, or 3/4 throttle.

thanks
oalhindi is offline Find More Posts by oalhindi
Old 04-19-2012, 06:29 AM
RCFreak is offline
Find More Posts by RCFreak
Just Yakn
RCFreak's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Werribee
Joined Oct 2011
11 Posts
my throttle setting is normally 3/4 to full.
RCFreak is offline Find More Posts by RCFreak


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools