Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Technology > Onboard Electronics
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2013, 04:57 PM   #31
dmcquinn
Uber Contributor
 
dmcquinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA, MO, Chesterfield
Posts: 983
Default

I'm using the DA sensor - large red plastic sensor that DA has been using for years. This is on a 4 year old DA-170.
dmcquinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:56 PM   #32
dmcquinn
Uber Contributor
 
dmcquinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA, MO, Chesterfield
Posts: 983
Default

Does anyone know if this optical rpm sensor can be used with the Spektrum TM1000 telemetry transmitter for this application? I want to measure rpm of my DA-170 and have not been able to get the magnetic sensor (which is designed to read the steel pin of the crankshaft on a glow engine) to report consistent rpm.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/products/rpm-sensor-SPM1452
dmcquinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:06 PM   #33
orthobird
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
orthobird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States, LA, Shreveport
Age: 43
Posts: 2,902
Default

dmcquinn, answer is yes. on rcu, the guru there states it is more accurate to go with optical sensor.
orthobird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:06 PM   #34
orthobird
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
orthobird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States, LA, Shreveport
Age: 43
Posts: 2,902
Default

my rpm does not work either, it will only work at low rpm, once it gets high, the readings are wacked. i am going to go optical.
orthobird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:00 PM   #35
dmcquinn
Uber Contributor
 
dmcquinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA, MO, Chesterfield
Posts: 983
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by orthobird
View Post
my rpm does not work either, it will only work at low rpm, once it gets high, the readings are wacked. i am going to go optical.
Exactly. I have two of the magnetic rpm sensors -- one on my DA-170 and one on my DA-85. They seem to be more or less correct at idle, but at full throttle (where I am expecting approx 6,000 rpm) the readings jump all over the place. Even at idle, the readings do not hold steady.

A $30 hand-held optical tach will give consistent repeatable steady readings. I think I will order the optical sensor for the TM1000. Will let you know.
dmcquinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:38 PM   #36
1972gsmith
Gettin' Lower!
 
1972gsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States, VA, Radford
Posts: 71
Default

try this it works great
http://www.flyinggiants.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=80395
1972gsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:56 PM   #37
camss69
DDD
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,024
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by 1972gsmith
View Post
Is that for a DA setup?
camss69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:09 PM   #38
1972gsmith
Gettin' Lower!
 
1972gsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States, VA, Radford
Posts: 71
Default

mine is on a rcxel ignition
1972gsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:08 PM   #39
dmcquinn
Uber Contributor
 
dmcquinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA, MO, Chesterfield
Posts: 983
Default

OK I received my optical sensor and made a mount for the DA-170. I ran the engine in the back yard for about 30 seconds and it seems to work. The readings seemed to be in the ball park at idle and at full throttle, but I did see some jumping around like with the magnetic sensor. I won't claim success until I get some time on it. Maybe this weekend ...
dmcquinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 05:08 PM   #40
dmcquinn
Uber Contributor
 
dmcquinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA, MO, Chesterfield
Posts: 983
Default

Not working well. The display reads a reasonable number for a while (like 1800 at idle). Then it goes to "-----" for a long time. Some times it displays a number at full throttle, but mostly not. Useless.

I'm going to check all the connections. The temperature and receiver voltage seem to work well.
dmcquinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 12:05 PM   #41
Brettis1
Kiwis can fly
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New Zealand, Auckland, Waiuku
Posts: 60
Default

I put the spektrum rpm sensor just next to the magnet, plugged into the TM1000, went into the telemetry settings and inhibited No. of poles and that was it.
Simple and it works. No chopping wiring or any chance of interfering with ignition circuit.
Attached Thumbnails
  • Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-07-28 07.20.03.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	267.8 KB
ID:	587410 267.8 KB · Views: 88

__________________
it's better to ask a dumb question before takeoff....
Brettis1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 01:43 PM   #42
Brettis1
Kiwis can fly
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New Zealand, Auckland, Waiuku
Posts: 60
Default

DLE 35RA with DX8. seems ok on the ground but have only had 3 or 4 flights so unable to comment about airborne performance .( a bit nervous with maiden flight )
__________________
it's better to ask a dumb question before takeoff....
Brettis1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.