Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Giant Scale Planes > Gas Engines
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2014, 07:12 PM   #4441
crash.n.dash05
"Hey your low end is to rich"
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 171
Default

That would toast a engine for sure...
crash.n.dash05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 07:47 PM   #4442
49dimes
My heads in the clouds not my;
 
49dimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 53
Posts: 1,709
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by raydar
View Post
I thought EME adressed the crank issues and use upgraded bearings on all engines now?, if that is true then there is prob nobody out there with a new EME and anywhere near 50 gallons through it?. If so nobody out there knows how long a new EME 60 crank may/may not last!.

For the record my first one on original china bearings (jan 2013) has done well over 10 gallons and is running as strong as ever.

The gp 61 with DA crank sure sounds like a good buy in the USA if you can get it for $50 dollars more!, I would like to try one but as my two EME 60,s run strong and clean I personally dont have a need to try one.
I got a crank free of charge from Mike and I did not even buy the engine there. It has the IKO bearing in it and the press fit of the pin is a lot better than the one that tanked on me. I also purchased a crank with the old bearing and that is what is currently running in my 60. I got a rebuild on the shelf so odds have it I will probably yard dart it before it fails.
__________________
I Like Cheeseburgers
49dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 12:26 AM   #4443
db4spd
Doo It! Doo It!
 
db4spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 115
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by 49dimes
View Post
I got a crank free of charge from Mike and I did not even buy the engine there. It has the IKO bearing in it and the press fit of the pin is a lot better than the one that tanked on me. I also purchased a crank with the old bearing and that is what is currently running in my 60. I got a rebuild on the shelf so odds have it I will probably yard dart it before it fails.
You gonna yard dart before engine failure? Not Kell no hell no. D
db4spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 12:27 AM   #4444
db4spd
Doo It! Doo It!
 
db4spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 115
Default

All in fun Kell!
db4spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 08:12 AM   #4445
49dimes
My heads in the clouds not my;
 
49dimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 53
Posts: 1,709
Default

What up D.....

We need to get that T-Cart hovering over short grass.
__________________
I Like Cheeseburgers
49dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 03:16 PM   #4446
rcpilot_971
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 311
Default

Lost 400 RPM going to a proflow can on the eme 60

I was getting 6600 with a 24-8 laminated xoar stock muffler now I cant get over 6250 with out it getting hot 6300 is about peek with the proflow had this header and can setup on a DLE 55 & did not loose any RPMS
rcpilot_971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 03:25 PM   #4447
49dimes
My heads in the clouds not my;
 
49dimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 53
Posts: 1,709
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by rcpilot_971
View Post
Lost 400 RPM going to a proflow can on the eme 60

I was getting 6600 with a 24-8 laminated xoar stock muffler now I cant get over 6250 with out it getting hot 6300 is about peek with the proflow had this header and can setup on a DLE 55 & did not loose any RPMS

I would check the header length. I run a pro flow with the 60. 12.5" header length. Always re-tune when changing muffler configuration.
__________________
I Like Cheeseburgers
49dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 03:58 PM   #4448
rcpilot_971
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 311
Default

I think my header is 11' or 11 1/2 not sure its a MTW I getting 6600 RPMs with an open header 6200 with the proflow on it

I had the can and the header butted up to each other can I spread them apart ? or do I need to get a longer header
rcpilot_971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 03:58 PM   #4449
Clever1
Uber Contributor
 
Clever1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Galion, Ohio
Posts: 681
Default

My EME and GP both ran stronger by a couple hundred rpm's on the stock muffler over the Proflow . I wouldn't run any canister again unless I had to meet noise restrictions, which thankfully I don't

More power, less weight!
__________________
www.eaglesquardronrc.com
Clever1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 04:09 PM   #4450
49dimes
My heads in the clouds not my;
 
49dimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 53
Posts: 1,709
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by rcpilot_971
View Post
I think my header is 11' or 11 1/2 not sure its a MTW I getting 6600 RPMs with an open header 6200 with the proflow on it

I had the can and the header butted up to each other can I spread them apart ? or do I need to get a longer header
You can spread them apart inside the coupler. A lot of things affect overall max rpm such as prop choice, altitude, ambient conditions...etc. You should be able to get 6600 with a good tune and 12.5" length. I turn a mejzlik 24x8 7000 at peak in summer weather at sea level. I do back off 200 rpms when I tune.
__________________
I Like Cheeseburgers
49dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 04:54 PM   #4451
rcpilot_971
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 311
Default

I spread them apart a as far as I could. getting 6500 RPMS my header is only 10 1/2' if I get any longer header the can will hit the back of the canister tunnel I was using the can to get some more weight up front the plane is tail heavy I dont have anything else to move batteries are already on the motor box
rcpilot_971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 06:26 PM   #4452
49dimes
My heads in the clouds not my;
 
49dimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 53
Posts: 1,709
Default

Your good with 6500. Xoar laminated keep a good pitch but are heavy.
__________________
I Like Cheeseburgers
49dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 07:53 PM   #4453
49dimes
My heads in the clouds not my;
 
49dimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 53
Posts: 1,709
Default

A little windy but down the run way and lots of sunshine. Cotton ball clouds and blue hazel sky appeared as if it where painted just for me.

Got another gallon through my EME 60 and also tested the new lipos for the HV set up I installed in the Edge and I must say all is good in the world.

With weather changes I re- tuned and actually picked up 150 rpm at peak setting (7150) and backed off to 6900. Looks like the new crank is doing well. I can't remember if the Rcexl ignition
that came with the engine is 2s rated or not but it did not skip a beat and the throttle response with the Mejzlik 24x8 and pro flo is smooth and sweet. Low hover is easily maintained with out having to pulse the stick and pull outs are just plain awesome. So as of now 20 total gallons through the engine and 4 gallons since the new crank went in.

PS I capped the day and went to 5 guys for........DOUBLE BACON CHEESEBURGER!!!
__________________
I Like Cheeseburgers

Last edited by 49dimes; 04-20-2014 at 08:15 PM.
49dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 08:29 PM   #4454
rcpilot_971
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 311
Default

I flew mine today after spreading the header and proflow apart re tune with a falcon 23 X 9 im getting 7100 rpms and the plane a 3DHS 87' extra 300 was moving right along may switch to a 24 x 8 carbon

I am having some trouble getting it started after its been running seems I need to re choke it
also every time I choke it it kicks back pretty hard I use a chicken stick and have broken my wood props
rcpilot_971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 08:34 PM   #4455
49dimes
My heads in the clouds not my;
 
49dimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 53
Posts: 1,709
Default

Look at the pick up sensor and make sure it is moved as far as it will go towards the cylinder.
__________________
I Like Cheeseburgers
49dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 13 (6 members and 7 guests)
Languid Virago, ULTIMATE1, Bunky F. Knuckle, -Rick-, Racerman27410, FGNewbie
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: The E Zone :: Lift Zone :: RC Power :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.