logo
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2011, 08:06 PM
barger is offline
Find More Posts by barger
Registered User
ottawa, canada
Joined Jul 2010
26 Posts
Discussion
One 5955 on rudder enough?

Hello from Canada folks just have a rudder question . Just recently purchased a beautiful 33% omp yak 55 my first 100cc project , just wondering if one 333oz 5955 tail mounted would be enough for some knife edge , some hovering no hard flying thanks any advice would be appreciated
barger is offline Find More Posts by barger
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 08:15 PM
jamesrxx951 is online now
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Registered User
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
9,650 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

a freind of mine has been using one on his rudder on a 35% aeroworks extra 260 for 4 yrs. push pull config. no hard 3d but knife edge loops and death slides no problem. running li-po's on a 6v reg.
jamesrxx951 is online now Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 08:26 PM
N726AC is online now
Find More Posts by N726AC
Seven.Four Liters
N726AC's Avatar
United States, FL, North Fort Myers
Joined Sep 2006
7,325 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

There is always the 7950 or even the 7980/7990 !
N726AC is online now Find More Posts by N726AC
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 08:57 PM
racelikustolit3k is offline
Find More Posts by racelikustolit3k
how low can you go
racelikustolit3k's Avatar
tulsa, oklahoma
Joined Aug 2008
601 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

I personally fly the omp yak55 and the 59/7955 is just fine on the rudder and I absolutley beat the crap out of that plane there is no need for 5-600 ounce servo on the rudder of anything less than a 40% plane ( just pissin in the wind )

have fun with the build its a great plane
racelikustolit3k is offline Find More Posts by racelikustolit3k
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 09:24 PM
airboss/oc is offline
Find More Posts by airboss/oc
Registered User
airboss/oc's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
5,415 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by N726AC View Post
There is always the 7950 or even the 7980/7990 !
7980 gives that rudder a structural test
airboss/oc is offline Find More Posts by airboss/oc
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 09:29 PM
Altavillan is offline
Find More Posts by Altavillan
Uber Contributor
Altavillan's Avatar
Altaville, California
Joined Apr 2007
627 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

Start with the one servo. If your plane appears to be drawing excessive mah. per flight then perhaps add another servo to help it out. It doesn't have to be a identical servo either, just be able to match the throw. I look for between 280 and 360 mah/flight on my 35% planes. A single servo working hard will draw more than two servos working half as hard.
Altavillan is offline Find More Posts by Altavillan
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 09:31 PM
Outlaw308 is online now
Find More Posts by Outlaw308
Airplane Killer
Outlaw308's Avatar
United States, FL, DeLand
Joined Jun 2009
562 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

I have a 33% aero-works with a DA 85 and I have two JR8611A servos on the rudder it holds a knife edge perfect
Outlaw308 is online now Find More Posts by Outlaw308
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 09:54 PM
jamesrxx951 is online now
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Registered User
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
9,650 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Altavillan View Post
Start with the one servo. If your plane appears to be drawing excessive mah. per flight then perhaps add another servo to help it out. It doesn't have to be a identical servo either, just be able to match the throw. I look for between 280 and 360 mah/flight on my 35% planes. A single servo working hard will draw more than two servos working half as hard.

actually they should be almost the same. it will require a certain amount of power to hold a surface in a position. if a single servo is capable of doing that ,the draw will be the same as using two smaller servo's doing the same work or 2 large servo's doing the same work. now the life of the servo may lenthen if your using multiple servo's on that surface due to less work load on each one, but if a single servo is rated for and capable of easily handling it, the servo will hold up.
jamesrxx951 is online now Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 10:28 PM
N726AC is online now
Find More Posts by N726AC
Seven.Four Liters
N726AC's Avatar
United States, FL, North Fort Myers
Joined Sep 2006
7,325 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by airboss/oc View Post
7980 gives that rudder a structural test

We had a 7990 seriously bend a MPI rudder arm on a 37% MXS-R.

Guess we are pissin in the wind!
N726AC is online now Find More Posts by N726AC
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 10:35 PM
barger is offline
Find More Posts by barger
Registered User
ottawa, canada
Joined Jul 2010
26 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

Thanks for all the great advice folks one 5955 it is ! sounds like one will be enough for my type of flying.
barger is offline Find More Posts by barger
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:08 PM
racelikustolit3k is offline
Find More Posts by racelikustolit3k
how low can you go
racelikustolit3k's Avatar
tulsa, oklahoma
Joined Aug 2008
601 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

I guess I should spell it out, a servo that big on a plane that small is just a waste of money(pissin in the wind or your the just have to have latest and greatest blah blah I have to have a seiko on the rudder of my 30cc sbach cause any less it has blow back guy) .. but to each his own..
racelikustolit3k is offline Find More Posts by racelikustolit3k
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:13 PM
scott m lyons is offline
Find More Posts by scott m lyons
GOT GAS ?
scott m lyons's Avatar
Bennington VT.
Joined Aug 2008
6,798 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

On that size plane if you hold knife edge long or do alot of manuvers that use the rudder exsesivly it will not be enough. 5955 and 7955 heat up fast and lose almost half there torque fast when over worked.. I had one on a 35% and it got hot and melted. I then tried two 7955 and it worked well but decided to use them in the elivators on a 40%. I now have one 8711 and it blows away both the other setups. All my wings have 7955's in them and I lovem'. All setups were push pull same plane. Always over servo your plane when you can. That way the servo has less of a chance of failing and the whole setup will last longer. I was also running a sm with a123's.
scott m lyons is offline Find More Posts by scott m lyons
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:18 PM
racelikustolit3k is offline
Find More Posts by racelikustolit3k
how low can you go
racelikustolit3k's Avatar
tulsa, oklahoma
Joined Aug 2008
601 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

scott what should the temps be on a single 7955 after a straight 12 minute beating??

<<<<< pictured there is a 28 pound cap 580 with one 5955 on the rudder and I have never had the servo get hot on me in the last 4 years of flying it only using 2 2000mah ni-mhs
racelikustolit3k is offline Find More Posts by racelikustolit3k
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:25 PM
robbinsp is offline
Find More Posts by robbinsp
Registered User
robbinsp's Avatar
United States, SD, Harrisburg
Joined Sep 2009
3,163 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

yes yall the 8711 is a monster that has not yet been matched
robbinsp is offline Find More Posts by robbinsp
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:26 PM
scott m lyons is offline
Find More Posts by scott m lyons
GOT GAS ?
scott m lyons's Avatar
Bennington VT.
Joined Aug 2008
6,798 Posts
Re: One 5955 on rudder enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by racelikustolit3k View Post
scott what should the temps be on a single 7955 after a straight 12 minute beating??

<<<<< pictured there is a 28 pound cap 580 with one 5955 on the rudder and I have never had the servo get hot on me in the last 4 years of flying it only using 2 2000mah ni-mhs
I couldn't tell you the temps but I know it's not supposto melt the case . TBM did some testing a while back that comferm what I feel when I flew all three setups. Again I'm just trying to help him make a plane last longer, use what you want. I will say this I have never had a mechanical failer in any of my planes. I have seen alot of guys that use the smallest servo they THOUGHT would be OK lose many aircraft. I can't belive that setup has lasted this long truthfully. Exspecially with nimh's. Nimh's have no place in giant aircraft except for the ignition. IMHO . your plane is on borrowed time. Happy flying.
scott m lyons is offline Find More Posts by scott m lyons
Last edited by scott m lyons; 01-19-2011 at 11:38 PM.
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gallery 465_P Dounis Scorpion VONKARAVOLOS General Discussion 0 08-23-2010 11:34 PM