logo
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2015, 11:56 AM
Rusty 73 is offline
Find More Posts by Rusty 73
Flyin low and Smooth
Rusty 73's Avatar
Canada, AB, Calgary
Joined Feb 2014
206 Posts
Are your wheels also upgrade from the Dubro factory set ? They look to have a metal rim .
Thanks
Rusty 73 is offline Find More Posts by Rusty 73
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 02:58 PM
Gixxerjack is offline
Find More Posts by Gixxerjack
Registered User
Gixxerjack's Avatar
United States, CA, Palmdale
Joined Jul 2012
156 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty 73 View Post
Jack Love the polished landing gear goes great with the spinner .
My new gear from TnT's will be here friday . Did you round the front edge of the gear or just sanded it smooth and polished it Looks great
I just sanded the gear smooth and polished them. The spinner I just polished. I did not airfoil the leading edge, although that's a great idea! The mains and tail wheel are White Rose.
Gixxerjack is offline Find More Posts by Gixxerjack
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 11:54 PM
Rusty 73 is offline
Find More Posts by Rusty 73
Flyin low and Smooth
Rusty 73's Avatar
Canada, AB, Calgary
Joined Feb 2014
206 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gixxerjack View Post
I just sanded the gear smooth and polished them. The spinner I just polished. I did not airfoil the leading edge, although that's a great idea! The mains and tail wheel are White Rose.
Back when I raced F1 pylon I always filed the Prather landing gear leading and trailing edges ,then sanded and polished them like yours is. It's a labour of love and a personal signature to your aircraft . So white Rose wheels , I like them . Thanks
Rusty 73 is offline Find More Posts by Rusty 73
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 07:16 PM
Rusty 73 is offline
Find More Posts by Rusty 73
Flyin low and Smooth
Rusty 73's Avatar
Canada, AB, Calgary
Joined Feb 2014
206 Posts
On that new landing gear did you put white rose axles ? Drilled out at 1/4 inch for mounting the axle ?
Rusty 73 is offline Find More Posts by Rusty 73
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 07:58 PM
rightflyer is offline
Find More Posts by rightflyer
Registered User
Grove City OH
Joined Apr 2006
91 Posts
Hangar 9 Carden receiver position

I have an EME 60 and plan on using LiFe packs for the receiver power. I am going to mount up front on the fuse sides. Where did others mount their main switch? Manual shows receiver in rear which is a long way from the batteries.
rightflyer is offline Find More Posts by rightflyer
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 08:25 PM
Muttdog is offline
Find More Posts by Muttdog
Registered User
Muttdog's Avatar
United States, FL, Jupiter
Joined Feb 2013
1,846 Posts
I mounted mine near the Rx. It's ok just use heavy duty wire from the batts to the switch(s). Mounting the Rx near the firewall and ignition is not recommended although I've seen it done with no problems. I have my eyes on another one of these but it has to wait on my kit build 60cc profile. It's not a bad idea to reinforce the firewall with some fiberglass cloth. I've seen 2 firewalls start to fail on high time (and abused) airframes. most of these need nose weight anyway so why not add a little strength instead of lead? EME 60 is awesome power and it makes the install simple as all the mounting dimensions are the same as the DA it was designed around (I'm putting one in my profile). Vess 24B is a great companion to the EME and at half the cost of CF it's worth a try. Good luck
Muttdog is offline Find More Posts by Muttdog
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 02:57 PM
Rusty 73 is offline
Find More Posts by Rusty 73
Flyin low and Smooth
Rusty 73's Avatar
Canada, AB, Calgary
Joined Feb 2014
206 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightflyer View Post
I have an EME 60 and plan on using LiFe packs for the receiver power. I am going to mount up front on the fuse sides. Where did others mount their main switch? Manual shows receiver in rear which is a long way from the batteries.
i used 20 gauage wire and have the batteries behind the firewall so i could balance it . the Rx switch on mine is at the rear near the Rx
Rusty 73 is offline Find More Posts by Rusty 73
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 08:43 PM
Muttdog is offline
Find More Posts by Muttdog
Registered User
Muttdog's Avatar
United States, FL, Jupiter
Joined Feb 2013
1,846 Posts
Just ordered a new one. They are on back order until September and I'm in no rush. Gonna take my time with this one and will maiden closer to the end of the year. Not sure of the gear yet but shopping a couple of DA60 options in the area. I have a JR powersafe RX already as well as 2 Savox SA 1231 SG servos for the ailerons. Not sure what I'll put in the tail yet but thinking of going carbon tail tube and Ti pushrods to keep it light. If budget allows we'll go carbon LG and main tube to attempt a sub 17lb RTF (no fuel) weight. Now if only Carden would start kitting a 30% size again but until then this is the next best thing
Muttdog is offline Find More Posts by Muttdog
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 03:27 AM
lowie_becaus is offline
Find More Posts by lowie_becaus
Aerobertics
Joined Aug 2015
1 Posts
Servo's needed to fly extreme 3D

I have a new carden extra 300 89" 2.20 size. I want servo's that will hold every manoever and never will stop working. How much kg should they take?

Thx

Lowie
lowie_becaus is offline Find More Posts by lowie_becaus
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 07:16 PM
rightflyer is offline
Find More Posts by rightflyer
Registered User
Grove City OH
Joined Apr 2006
91 Posts
CG on H9 Carden Extra

I just borrowed my friend's Vanessa balance and wanted to verify my CG. When I mark the forward leading CG points. Where on the wing did you meassure? Near the the fuse or out on the wing tip?
rightflyer is offline Find More Posts by rightflyer
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 08:21 PM
Gixxerjack is offline
Find More Posts by Gixxerjack
Registered User
Gixxerjack's Avatar
United States, CA, Palmdale
Joined Jul 2012
156 Posts
Take the wings off and place the wing tube in each wing. Use a crayon or dry erase marker to mark any CG point between 2.75-3.75 inches from the leading edge of the wing tip. Top and/or bottom. Now, take a string and and pull it taut from each mark. Dray a line on the underneath side of the wing. Now you can use any point along the wing once the wings are installed on the fuse.

Or use your finger at the wingtip...
Gixxerjack is offline Find More Posts by Gixxerjack
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:07 PM
rightflyer is offline
Find More Posts by rightflyer
Registered User
Grove City OH
Joined Apr 2006
91 Posts
Thanks, Gixxerjack. I used fingers the first time just want to see if I was right on.
rightflyer is offline Find More Posts by rightflyer
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools