Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Technology > Onboard Electronics
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2007, 09:18 PM   #1
CSpaced
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 4,645
Default Fromeco Badger Switch problem

For those of you who run the badger switch with the pin flag:

I've noticed that the pin flag on my switch is super sensitive, if I so much as look at it the wrong way it flickers the power on and off. I only have to touch the pin lightly and the power fluctuates on and off, and this is happening on both of my switches.

Has anyone else had this problem?
__________________
Team FUTABA
Team KDE Direct
Castle Creations
Vess Propellers
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:26 PM   #2
Dan_nO
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Dan_nO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frankfort, Ky.
Age: 49
Posts: 2,958
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

I remember Wizzard having something like this going on when we were in Etown a few weeks ago
Dan_nO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:34 PM   #3
RADRICH
Hmmm...tastes like chicken!!!!
 
RADRICH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Louisville,KY
Age: 49
Posts: 631
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Quote: Originally Posted by Dan_nO
View Post
I remember Wizzard having something like this going on when we were in Etown a few weeks ago
Yeah, he wasn't totally impressed with those switches. They do look cool tho. I personally prefer sliders.
__________________
And once again, her voice is as of the buzzing of a bug in my ear!
RADRICH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 03:20 PM   #4
CSpaced
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 4,645
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Anybody have any contact info for Fromeco, or know of a "go to" guy I can talk to? I've been trying their phone number without any success, and they don't seem to have any email address listed.

Thanks!
__________________
Team FUTABA
Team KDE Direct
Castle Creations
Vess Propellers
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 03:44 PM   #5
dick hanson
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
dick hanson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: murray utah
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

If you like pin switches - ZDZ (the engine guys ) have a good one
dick hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 03:52 PM   #6
Azhar
The Aluminum Bling Guy!
 
Azhar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,681
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Cspaced,

Leave a message. They will respond back within the day.
Azhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 03:59 PM   #7
CSpaced
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 4,645
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Yep, I did that - thanks.
__________________
Team FUTABA
Team KDE Direct
Castle Creations
Vess Propellers
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 08:54 PM   #8
SleepyC
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA, OH, Aurora
Age: 43
Posts: 25,858
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Also they have a "contact us" page. But its actually a form email thing.

I have submitted the form and received a call from Mike or Kurt the very next day.

I had an issue with a Ion Cube, and they handled it with extreme quickness!
Service was on par with DA.
SleepyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 12:57 AM   #9
wizard
It will fly!!!
 
wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington, Indiana
Age: 50
Posts: 9,067
Send a message via Skype™ to wizard
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Quote: Originally Posted by Dan_nO
View Post
I remember Wizzard having something like this going on when we were in Etown a few weeks ago
Quote: Originally Posted by RADRICH
View Post
Yeah, he wasn't totally impressed with those switches. They do look cool tho. I personally prefer sliders.
Hey guys, The problem with my switches has been caused by abuse. They have some age on them and at times my plane was in a damp environment. They have also been stressed by using a strap around the plane and through the loop on the end of the pin. Both of those conditions are why I have had problems, my fault, not the fault of the switches. I know many people that are using the same switch without any problems.

My switches are still in use and perform just like they are supposed to. The great thing about these switches is that if there is a problem the switch will go to the ON state. If my switches were just normal switches, a problem with the switch would cause the radio to stop working.
__________________
Prevent Darwinism become a paramedic!!!

Never try to teach a pig to sing! It wastes your time and it annoys the pig!!!

Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

Powered by Jim Beam

wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:59 AM   #10
CSpaced
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 4,645
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Quote: Originally Posted by SleepyC
View Post
Also they have a "contact us" page. But its actually a form email thing.

I have submitted the form and received a call from Mike or Kurt the very next day.
Yeah I saw that, but for some reason it wasn't working yesterday.

Just to echo what Wizard said, I'm sure the reason I have this problem is that the switch is just wearing out. Other than this problem I've been perfectly happy with the swithes.
__________________
Team FUTABA
Team KDE Direct
Castle Creations
Vess Propellers
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 09:18 AM   #11
SleepyC
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA, OH, Aurora
Age: 43
Posts: 25,858
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

That email form thing - try clicking on it and opening in a new window. For some reason thats the only way it works.
SleepyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 10:02 AM   #12
CSpaced
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 4,645
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Hey waddya know, that worked - weird!
__________________
Team FUTABA
Team KDE Direct
Castle Creations
Vess Propellers
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 10:50 AM   #13
CSpaced
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 4,645
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

I got a call back today from Fromeco. It turns out I have two of the oldest badger switches out there and they have been updated since. They are going to send me the replacement "guts" for the switch and I am going to send the faulty ones back so that they can figure out what the cause of the problem is and possibly come up with a field fix. It was a very proffesional and friendly phone call!
__________________
Team FUTABA
Team KDE Direct
Castle Creations
Vess Propellers
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 10:50 PM   #14
Don247
Flyin' Around
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Salinas, CA
Age: 67
Posts: 2
Default Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

I use the Fromeco pin switch and am very happy with them, I also noticed that
the pin must be inserted all the way through the second PC board, that is why the pin is so long.
then you will not have this problem. Hope this helps.
I have used this method for more than two years and no problems.
Don247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Badger Switch Problem sperrier Fromeco SA Support 4 10-10-2007 03:22 PM
New From FROMECO. Wolverine Switch. Wayne What's Hot 41 07-31-2007 09:21 PM
Problem with Duralite Digital Regulator Switch ciressarg Onboard Electronics 0 07-17-2007 06:30 PM
Triton Charging through Fromecto Badger Switch??? juvaknin Onboard Electronics 4 02-21-2007 12:29 AM
Yo Fromeco! Biff Onboard Electronics 24 05-03-2006 01:46 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.