logo
Reply
Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2007, 09:18 PM
Registered User
CSpaced's Avatar
Oak Ridge, NC
Joined Jul 2006
4,893 Posts
Fromeco Badger Switch problem

For those of you who run the badger switch with the pin flag:

I've noticed that the pin flag on my switch is super sensitive, if I so much as look at it the wrong way it flickers the power on and off. I only have to touch the pin lightly and the power fluctuates on and off, and this is happening on both of my switches.

Has anyone else had this problem?
CSpaced is offline Find More Posts by CSpaced
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:26 PM
Registered User
Dan_nO's Avatar
Frankfort, Ky.
Joined Jan 2006
3,000 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

I remember Wizzard having something like this going on when we were in Etown a few weeks ago
Dan_nO is offline Find More Posts by Dan_nO
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:34 PM
Hmmm...tastes like chicken!!!!
RADRICH's Avatar
Louisville,KY
Joined Jan 2007
632 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_nO View Post
I remember Wizzard having something like this going on when we were in Etown a few weeks ago
Yeah, he wasn't totally impressed with those switches. They do look cool tho. I personally prefer sliders.
RADRICH is offline Find More Posts by RADRICH
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 03:20 PM
Registered User
CSpaced's Avatar
Oak Ridge, NC
Joined Jul 2006
4,893 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Anybody have any contact info for Fromeco, or know of a "go to" guy I can talk to? I've been trying their phone number without any success, and they don't seem to have any email address listed.

Thanks!
CSpaced is offline Find More Posts by CSpaced
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 03:44 PM
Registered User
dick hanson's Avatar
murray utah
Joined Jan 2006
2,435 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

If you like pin switches - ZDZ (the engine guys ) have a good one
dick hanson is online now Find More Posts by dick hanson
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 03:52 PM
The Aluminum Bling Guy!
Azhar's Avatar
Redmond, WA
Joined Aug 2006
1,714 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Cspaced,

Leave a message. They will respond back within the day.
Azhar is offline Find More Posts by Azhar
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 03:59 PM
Registered User
CSpaced's Avatar
Oak Ridge, NC
Joined Jul 2006
4,893 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Yep, I did that - thanks.
CSpaced is offline Find More Posts by CSpaced
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 08:54 PM
USA, OH, Aurora
Joined Jan 2006
30,076 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Also they have a "contact us" page. But its actually a form email thing.

I have submitted the form and received a call from Mike or Kurt the very next day.

I had an issue with a Ion Cube, and they handled it with extreme quickness!
Service was on par with DA.
SleepyC is offline Find More Posts by SleepyC
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 12:57 AM
It will fly!!!
wizard's Avatar
Washington, Indiana
Joined Jan 2006
13,374 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_nO View Post
I remember Wizzard having something like this going on when we were in Etown a few weeks ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by RADRICH View Post
Yeah, he wasn't totally impressed with those switches. They do look cool tho. I personally prefer sliders.
Hey guys, The problem with my switches has been caused by abuse. They have some age on them and at times my plane was in a damp environment. They have also been stressed by using a strap around the plane and through the loop on the end of the pin. Both of those conditions are why I have had problems, my fault, not the fault of the switches. I know many people that are using the same switch without any problems.

My switches are still in use and perform just like they are supposed to. The great thing about these switches is that if there is a problem the switch will go to the ON state. If my switches were just normal switches, a problem with the switch would cause the radio to stop working.
wizard is offline Find More Posts by wizard
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:59 AM
Registered User
CSpaced's Avatar
Oak Ridge, NC
Joined Jul 2006
4,893 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by SleepyC View Post
Also they have a "contact us" page. But its actually a form email thing.

I have submitted the form and received a call from Mike or Kurt the very next day.
Yeah I saw that, but for some reason it wasn't working yesterday.

Just to echo what Wizard said, I'm sure the reason I have this problem is that the switch is just wearing out. Other than this problem I've been perfectly happy with the swithes.
CSpaced is offline Find More Posts by CSpaced
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 09:18 AM
USA, OH, Aurora
Joined Jan 2006
30,076 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

That email form thing - try clicking on it and opening in a new window. For some reason thats the only way it works.
SleepyC is offline Find More Posts by SleepyC
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 10:02 AM
Registered User
CSpaced's Avatar
Oak Ridge, NC
Joined Jul 2006
4,893 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

Hey waddya know, that worked - weird!
CSpaced is offline Find More Posts by CSpaced
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 10:50 AM
Registered User
CSpaced's Avatar
Oak Ridge, NC
Joined Jul 2006
4,893 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

I got a call back today from Fromeco. It turns out I have two of the oldest badger switches out there and they have been updated since. They are going to send me the replacement "guts" for the switch and I am going to send the faulty ones back so that they can figure out what the cause of the problem is and possibly come up with a field fix. It was a very proffesional and friendly phone call!
CSpaced is offline Find More Posts by CSpaced
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 10:50 PM
Flyin' Around
Salinas, CA
Joined Mar 2006
2 Posts
Re: Fromeco Badger Switch problem

I use the Fromeco pin switch and am very happy with them, I also noticed that
the pin must be inserted all the way through the second PC board, that is why the pin is so long.
then you will not have this problem. Hope this helps.
I have used this method for more than two years and no problems.
Don247 is offline Find More Posts by Don247
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Badger Switch Problem sperrier Fromeco SA Support 4 10-10-2007 03:22 PM
New From FROMECO. Wolverine Switch. Wayne What's Hot 41 07-31-2007 09:21 PM
Problem with Duralite Digital Regulator Switch ciressarg Onboard Electronics 0 07-17-2007 06:30 PM
Triton Charging through Fromecto Badger Switch??? juvaknin Onboard Electronics 4 02-21-2007 12:29 AM
Yo Fromeco! Biff Onboard Electronics 24 05-03-2006 01:46 AM