logo
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2008, 10:07 PM
yellowman2513 is offline
Find More Posts by yellowman2513
When did that tree appear?
yellowman2513's Avatar
St. Louis, Missouri, United States, North America, Earth, MilkyWay, Space
Joined Apr 2008
2,747 Posts
how to hook up esc to receiver?

hey i know this is a really stupid question, but how would i hook up my ar6100 to an esc. Thanks guys.
yellowman2513 is offline Find More Posts by yellowman2513
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 11:43 PM
Uncle Brett is offline
Find More Posts by Uncle Brett
Registered User
Uncle Brett's Avatar
Huntington Beach CA.
Joined Jan 2006
1,316 Posts
Re: how to hook up esc to receiver?

Most ESC's plug into channel 3
Uncle Brett is offline Find More Posts by Uncle Brett
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 11:48 PM
dmcquinn is offline
Find More Posts by dmcquinn
Registered User
dmcquinn's Avatar
USA, MO, Chesterfield
Joined Apr 2007
1,027 Posts
Re: how to hook up esc to receiver?

PLug into whatever channel is marked "throttle". On JR receivers this is channel 1.
dmcquinn is offline Find More Posts by dmcquinn
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 11:51 PM
bodywerks is offline
Find More Posts by bodywerks
Registered User
bodywerks's Avatar
Tucson
Joined Jan 2006
5,323 Posts
Re: how to hook up esc to receiver?

You plug it into your throttle channel. If you are using the ESC's BEC, it will also feed power to the receiver through that channel. If your ESC has a BEC but you still plan to use an outside power sourse, like a receiver battery, you need to remove the positive pin from the ESC connector.
If your ESC does not have a bec and you have to use a seperate receiver battery anyway, just plug it in to the throttle channel.
bodywerks is offline Find More Posts by bodywerks
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 06:28 AM
yellowman2513 is offline
Find More Posts by yellowman2513
When did that tree appear?
yellowman2513's Avatar
St. Louis, Missouri, United States, North America, Earth, MilkyWay, Space
Joined Apr 2008
2,747 Posts
Re: how to hook up esc to receiver?

ok, thanks a lot guys!
yellowman2513 is offline Find More Posts by yellowman2513
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 02:37 PM
jajalito is offline
Find More Posts by jajalito
Flyin' Around
Caracas, Venezuela
Joined Jan 2009
5 Posts
Re: how to hook up esc to receiver?

Hello, Does anyone know how this "throttle channel" works? I`m making my owkn receiver using a microprocessor, but I would like to know how i can communicate with the ESC.

Thanks in advance
jajalito is offline Find More Posts by jajalito
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:27 PM
Bob S is offline
Find More Posts by Bob S
Registered User
Bob S's Avatar
Austin, TX, USA
Joined Jan 2006
284 Posts
Re: how to hook up esc to receiver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowman2513 View Post
hey i know this is a really stupid question, but how would i hook up my ar6100 to an esc. Thanks guys.
As bodywerks indicated, many ESCs have an onboard BEC. Be careful about how many servos you are driving from an onbaord BEC as they typically can't handle very much current at all.
Bob S is offline Find More Posts by Bob S
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:33 PM
Joe Ford is offline
Find More Posts by Joe Ford
Flyin' Around
Joe Ford's Avatar
Olathe, Kansas
Joined Feb 2006
5 Posts
Re: how to hook up esc to receiver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jajalito View Post
Hello, Does anyone know how this "throttle channel" works? I`m making my owkn receiver using a microprocessor, but I would like to know how i can communicate with the ESC.

Thanks in advance
Jajalito...you would use a 50Hz carrier signal with a 1-2ms PWM input. 1ms is zero throttle, 2ms is full throttle.
Joe Ford is offline Find More Posts by Joe Ford
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 07:11 AM
Ralphxyz is offline
Find More Posts by Ralphxyz
Flyin' Around
Joined Jul 2010
1 Posts
Re: how to hook up esc to receiver?

I also need to connect a brushless motor esc to a micro processor!

"you would use a 50Hz carrier signal with a 1-2ms PWM input. 1ms is zero throttle, 2ms is full throttle"

There are three control wires coming from the esc are they + - and PWM?

Sure appreciate the help!

Thanks,

Ralph
Ralphxyz is offline Find More Posts by Ralphxyz
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 12:43 PM
deepak.jiitn is offline
Find More Posts by deepak.jiitn
Flyin' Around
Joined Sep 2010
1 Posts
Re: how to hook up esc to receiver?

RALPHXZ thanks a lot for this reply i have goooooooooogled around 2 weeks that how can i connect microcontroller to ese ...i just wana conform that the + voltage is 5 volt na (in three wire of ese for receiver throttle).......
thanks again
deepak sharma
noida,india
deepak.jiitn is offline Find More Posts by deepak.jiitn
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JR-9303 2.4 Field Results 1bwana1 Radios 186 08-22-2011 02:23 AM
FlyingGiants Exclusive! Introducing The Futaba 12FG, Modules & More! madmax General Discussion 473 01-24-2010 10:01 AM
New 2.4GHZ RECEIVER NO NEED FOR POWER BOXES ULTIMATE1 What's Hot 66 03-12-2008 02:30 AM
Futaba Fasst vs Spektrum radio link hillmanr2 Radios 65 12-28-2007 12:35 PM
DX-7. This Changes Everything.. Again! LeadingEdge General Discussion 112 12-03-2006 03:58 AM