Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Technology > Radios
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2011, 12:14 PM   #5521
Nogyro
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Puryear, Tn
Posts: 342
Default

They need to skip a 10 and go right up to a 12 or 14 channel. Takes care of all the channels needed on a 40% with each servo on separate channels. No programming servos needed.
__________________
Frank
Nogyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 05:06 PM   #5522
birdbrain
Doo It! Doo It!
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by grassie
View Post
So buy an A10!!!
Yeh but who can afford a warthog ? Cheers the brain
birdbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 12:01 AM   #5523
grassie
Uber Contributor
 
grassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa, GP, Centurion
Age: 56
Posts: 601
Default

Yip, would'nt it be great if they put a 14 channel Hitec on the market with programming same as the A9!! Sigh.....
__________________
And He said to man, 'Behold, the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom, and to turn away from evil is understanding.'
grassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:25 AM   #5524
skyrock
Gettin' Lower!
 
skyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 95
Default Update

Why don't we get just an update for the A9 like Futaba did with the T8FG?
It would be nice to have an A9 update to 14 channels just by updating the A9 with a new software version. I even would pay for such an update.
But Futaba's situation was different. They had their 6014FS/HS RX's already on the market and Hitec would same time have to develop new 14ch RX's. This takes time.....

Juergen
__________________
The truth will prevail!
skyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 06:31 AM   #5525
wecoyote
Super Genius
 
wecoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colonial Heights, VA
Posts: 1,161
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by skyrock
View Post
Why don't we get just an update for the A9 like Futaba did with the T8FG?
It would be nice to have an A9 update to 14 channels just by updating the A9 with a new software version. I even would pay for such an update.
But Futaba's situation was different. They had their 6014FS/HS RX's already on the market and Hitec would same time have to develop new 14ch RX's. This takes time.....

Juergen
Or they could make the Tx software recognize 2 receivers (maybe change Rx software to gang them) and you could use 1 Optima 7 for channels 1-7 and the second for channels 8-14.
__________________
~Tom~
My Club: www.mvrcc.com
There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness".
wecoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 08:27 AM   #5526
Nogyro
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Puryear, Tn
Posts: 342
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by wecoyote
View Post
Or they could make the Tx software recognize 2 receivers (maybe change Rx software to gang them) and you could use 1 Optima 7 for channels 1-7 and the second for channels 8-14.
Bingo, now there's an idea. All I know is I just finished putting some new servo's in my 110" EF Yak that were not programmable. I put the four aileron servos on four different channels, No mixes were needed, I just chose the 2 servo option when setting up the model, and the TX did the rest. I was able to use subtrims to center each servo, then used end points to match the max throws. It came out perfect. In fact they are smoother with less binding than when the programmed set of servos where in there, not to mention how quick it was as compared to using a programmer.
__________________
Frank

Last edited by Nogyro; 12-21-2011 at 08:27 AM. Reason: sp
Nogyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 03:51 PM   #5527
Truckracer
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Des Moines, Iowa USA
Age: 65
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by skyrock
View Post
Why don't we get just an update for the A9 like Futaba did with the T8FG?
It would be nice to have an A9 update to 14 channels just by updating the A9 with a new software version. I even would pay for such an update.
But Futaba's situation was different. They had their 6014FS/HS RX's already on the market and Hitec would same time have to develop new 14ch RX's. This takes time.....

Juergen
Futaba also has S-Bus which adds to their bag of tricks.
Truckracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:41 PM   #5528
skyrock
Gettin' Lower!
 
skyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 95
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Truckracer
View Post
Futaba also has S-Bus which adds to their bag of tricks.
O.T.: Operating a T14MZ and a T12Z I seriously doubt that Futaba's S-BusII adds to their "bag of tricks....".

Juergen
__________________
The truth will prevail!
skyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 12:25 AM
IwataAir
This post is temporarily hidden while IwataAir edits it.
Old 12-22-2011, 10:30 AM   #5530
Robotech
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Posts: 3,004
Default

Robotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 02:15 PM   #5531
Truckracer
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Des Moines, Iowa USA
Age: 65
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by skyrock
View Post
O.T.: Operating a T14MZ and a T12Z I seriously doubt that Futaba's S-BusII adds to their "bag of tricks....".

Juergen
S-Bus on a heli is a god sent as it can greatly reduce the wire count. I have not yet had a reason to use in on an airplane though.
Truckracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 03:07 PM   #5532
jamesrxx951
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
jamesrxx951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 8,007
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Truckracer
View Post
S-Bus on a heli is a god sent as it can greatly reduce the wire count. I have not yet had a reason to use in on an airplane though.

how does it reduce the wire count on a heli. you still need a power source. i figured with a heli all the servo's plug directly into the reciever because of the close proximity of the servo's to the reciever. a pic would be awsome.
__________________
Extreme Flight 60" Edge E-flight 60
Hanger 9 Extra 300 DA120 re2's
Hanger 9 3.1M Sukhoi DA 170 re3's
Team JR NCFR IMAC
http://tntlandinggear.com/ http://www.rcaircraftcomponents.com/
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 05:03 PM   #5533
johncoulouris
Flyin' Around
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Hello,
I would like to ask you if hitec has solve the problems with the brown out with the latest firmware?

thanks,
john
johncoulouris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 06:57 PM   #5534
2.4ghz
Uber Contributor
 
2.4ghz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United States, NM, Albuquerque
Age: 57
Posts: 595
Default

Im not having anymore problems
2.4ghz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:18 PM   #5535
Truckracer
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Des Moines, Iowa USA
Age: 65
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by jamesrxx951
View Post
how does it reduce the wire count on a heli. you still need a power source. i figured with a heli all the servo's plug directly into the reciever because of the close proximity of the servo's to the reciever. a pic would be awsome.
If you use something like the GY-701 gyro/governor or CGY-750 3 axis gyro/governor, these gyros connect to the receiver through the S-Bus port rather than having an individual lead per channel from the receiver to the gyro box. If you're using the governor function, you eliminate one more lead from the receiver. Of course each servo has its individual lead, that doesn't change. For helis, a common Futaba receiver / gyro combination is now the 3 channel R6203SB Micro S Bus HV receiver combined with the CY-701 or CGY-750 gyro. These receivers only have (3) direct servo connections but all the channels can connect through S Bus.
Truckracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hitec Customer Service, Awesome! 1bwana1 Radios 4 03-27-2008 12:05 PM
JR vs Hitec vs Futaba High Performance servo choice HTSkywalker Radios 1 02-07-2008 06:08 AM
Hitec, Great Service dontmesswithgus General Discussion 13 12-13-2007 04:03 AM
hitec 5945 centering issue spaceW Radios 12 09-12-2006 06:06 AM
The Szabo's new ride....Avant Aurora Nitrohuffer Helicopters 9 06-23-2006 06:22 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.