logo
Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2010, 08:10 PM
which rudder?
poprlite's Avatar
Joined Nov 2008
378 Posts
Power Switches

I am trying to figure out what setup I want use on my new project,trying to decide if I won't to go with dual receivers or a power board.This is only because there is not enough space on a 9 channel 922 powersafe for all the plugs.I am in need of a switch that has deans in and two heavy duty 22 guage wire out with standard connectors,fromeco has the badger and wolverine switch but it did not describe what I needed as far as connectors.Do they make switches to order?Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou,
poprlite is offline Find More Posts by poprlite
Last edited by poprlite; 01-07-2010 at 08:12 PM. Reason: correct the spelling
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:19 PM
Registered User
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
8,173 Posts
Re: Power Switches

the wolverine has 2 deans in and can have 2 deans out and make your own connector harness or they have the 2 jr out.
jamesrxx951 is online now Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Last edited by jamesrxx951; 01-07-2010 at 11:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:09 PM
Registered User
ken6881's Avatar
Henderson, Ky
Joined Aug 2008
1,767 Posts
Re: Power Switches

I would call kurt and I'm sure he will make them with two deans in and 22 gauge wire out with jr ends. Fromeco are really good people and will work with you.
ken6881 is offline Find More Posts by ken6881
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:19 PM
Registered User
flatspinjim's Avatar
Ft Lupton CO
Joined Nov 2008
2,661 Posts
Re: Power Switches

Smart-Fly super switch has deans in and 2 JR plugs out.
flatspinjim is offline Find More Posts by flatspinjim
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:22 PM
which rudder?
poprlite's Avatar
Joined Nov 2008
378 Posts
Re: Power Switches

I have seen the smart fly switches but they are not failsafe and I don't know if the fromeco switches are.I found a adapter at duralite that james mentioned.I guess I can give fromeco a call and see if they have anything that fits.What are you guys using?
poprlite is offline Find More Posts by poprlite
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:28 PM
GRAVITY SUCKS
rede2fly's Avatar
florida
Joined Jan 2006
4,798 Posts
Re: Power Switches

fromeco is the only way to go for switches that is all i will use
rede2fly is offline Find More Posts by rede2fly
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:29 PM
Registered User
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
8,173 Posts
Re: Power Switches

Quote:
Originally Posted by poprlite View Post
I have seen the smart fly switches but they are not failsafe and I don't know if the fromeco switches are.I found a adapter at duralite that james mentioned.I guess I can give fromeco a call and see if they have anything that fits.What are you guys using?
the wolverine is a fail safe switch. call them they can help you with anything you need. well most everything you need
jamesrxx951 is online now Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:56 AM
Registered User
ken6881's Avatar
Henderson, Ky
Joined Aug 2008
1,767 Posts
Re: Power Switches

Quote:
Originally Posted by poprlite View Post
I have seen the smart fly switches but they are not failsafe and I don't know if the fromeco switches are.I found a adapter at duralite that james mentioned.I guess I can give fromeco a call and see if they have anything that fits.What are you guys using?
I am currently using 3 of the older pin flag switches(on my 35%), 2 badger switches(on my comp arf), and I just ordered a Wolverine and 3 more badger switches for one 43% carden and a 35% carden. I like to use the same connector in on my switch as out so that if something does happen with the switch and im at an IMAC event I can bypass the switch. And still fly my sequences. With that said I have yet to have one issue with any of my Fromeco switches or regulators.
ken6881 is offline Find More Posts by ken6881
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:35 PM
which rudder?
poprlite's Avatar
Joined Nov 2008
378 Posts
Re: Power Switches

ken

great idea on the same in as out in case of a problem,what is the difference between wolverine an badger.What is the most common way of power,through a board or strait off the receiver.
poprlite is offline Find More Posts by poprlite
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:49 PM
Registered User
ken6881's Avatar
Henderson, Ky
Joined Aug 2008
1,767 Posts
Re: Power Switches

a wolverine is a double badger switch. it has two slider switches, two charge jacks, and dual power in and out(on most options). Not sure what you mean as a board? I run li ions and lipos on everything I have but then I plug it straight into the reciever. If your using nimh, nicads, or A123 you can skip the reg. and plug it straight to the reciever.

What is your setup?
ken6881 is offline Find More Posts by ken6881
Last edited by ken6881; 01-08-2010 at 06:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 12:00 AM
which rudder?
poprlite's Avatar
Joined Nov 2008
378 Posts
Re: Power Switches

A board meaning smartfly or powerbower.My setup is going to be two 921 9 channel receivers maybe fromeco switches two duralite 2s2p a123 and 8 hitec 7955 servo's.I think that I would like the badger switches with deans input and two jr's out.I would also keep a couple of adapters around incase something were to happen to the switch I could bypass it.Thanks for the help and keep the idea's coming because I am drawing a big blank on this one.
poprlite is offline Find More Posts by poprlite
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:19 AM
Registered User
ken6881's Avatar
Henderson, Ky
Joined Aug 2008
1,767 Posts
Re: Power Switches

I would run one wolverine with two deans in and out then adapt to jr ends and plug into reciever. That would allow you to only have one hole cut in the fuse to mount the switch and you have the same redundancy you would have with two badger switches.
ken6881 is offline Find More Posts by ken6881
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 08:26 AM
balsa, glue & gas
jaguar bone's Avatar
Joined Jun 2006
3,018 Posts
Re: Power Switches

This may get deleted but;
I'd call this a POWER SWITCH!

jaguar bone is offline Find More Posts by jaguar bone
Last edited by jaguar bone; 01-14-2010 at 06:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 05:13 PM
which rudder?
poprlite's Avatar
Joined Nov 2008
378 Posts
Re: Power Switches

Another switch that came to mind.
poprlite is offline Find More Posts by poprlite
Last edited by poprlite; 01-15-2010 at 06:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 03:09 PM
Wishin' I was flyin'
vwchad's Avatar
Washington
Joined Apr 2009
801 Posts
Re: Power Switches

Wow. This thread took quite the turn there..... Anywhooo.... I just emailed Fromeco the other day about a custom configuration for the wiring on a Wolverine switch. I wanted 2 deans in and 3 JR out. I got a prompt reply that they can put pretty much any connector configuration you want on the switch. Just email or call them. They seemed like nice people to deal with. In fact they said that it is easy enough to solder your own connectors to the PCB, if you have reasonable soldering skills.
vwchad is offline Find More Posts by vwchad
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kodiak switches what gives rede2fly Onboard Electronics 8 10-12-2008 08:00 AM
receiver switches sportflyer1 General Discussion 10 10-04-2008 03:17 PM
Dual Switches ?? zx32tt Onboard Electronics 7 07-28-2008 10:20 AM
2 Switches in 1 Reciever thewrap General Discussion 8 02-25-2008 12:02 AM
KILL SWITCHES storklappe Gas Engines 7 03-29-2006 08:19 AM