Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Technology > Onboard Electronics
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2010, 08:10 PM   #1
poprlite
which rudder?
 
poprlite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 35
Posts: 368
Default Power Switches

I am trying to figure out what setup I want use on my new project,trying to decide if I won't to go with dual receivers or a power board.This is only because there is not enough space on a 9 channel 922 powersafe for all the plugs.I am in need of a switch that has deans in and two heavy duty 22 guage wire out with standard connectors,fromeco has the badger and wolverine switch but it did not describe what I needed as far as connectors.Do they make switches to order?Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou,

Last edited by poprlite; 01-07-2010 at 08:12 PM. Reason: correct the spelling
poprlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:19 PM   #2
jamesrxx951
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
jamesrxx951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 8,039
Default Re: Power Switches

the wolverine has 2 deans in and can have 2 deans out and make your own connector harness or they have the 2 jr out.
__________________
Extreme Flight 60" Edge E-flight 60
Hanger 9 Extra 300 DA120 re2's
Hanger 9 3.1M Sukhoi DA 170 re3's
Team JR NCFR IMAC
http://tntlandinggear.com/ http://www.rcaircraftcomponents.com/

Last edited by jamesrxx951; 01-07-2010 at 11:27 PM.
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:09 PM   #3
ken6881
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
ken6881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Henderson, Ky
Posts: 1,765
Default Re: Power Switches

I would call kurt and I'm sure he will make them with two deans in and 22 gauge wire out with jr ends. Fromeco are really good people and will work with you.
ken6881 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:19 PM   #4
flatspinjim
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
flatspinjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ft Lupton CO
Posts: 2,643
Default Re: Power Switches

Smart-Fly super switch has deans in and 2 JR plugs out.
flatspinjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:22 PM   #5
poprlite
which rudder?
 
poprlite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 35
Posts: 368
Default Re: Power Switches

I have seen the smart fly switches but they are not failsafe and I don't know if the fromeco switches are.I found a adapter at duralite that james mentioned.I guess I can give fromeco a call and see if they have anything that fits.What are you guys using?
poprlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:28 PM   #6
rede2fly
GRAVITY SUCKS
 
rede2fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: florida
Age: 59
Posts: 4,761
Default Re: Power Switches

fromeco is the only way to go for switches that is all i will use
rede2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:29 PM   #7
jamesrxx951
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
jamesrxx951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 8,039
Default Re: Power Switches

Quote: Originally Posted by poprlite
View Post
I have seen the smart fly switches but they are not failsafe and I don't know if the fromeco switches are.I found a adapter at duralite that james mentioned.I guess I can give fromeco a call and see if they have anything that fits.What are you guys using?
the wolverine is a fail safe switch. call them they can help you with anything you need. well most everything you need
__________________
Extreme Flight 60" Edge E-flight 60
Hanger 9 Extra 300 DA120 re2's
Hanger 9 3.1M Sukhoi DA 170 re3's
Team JR NCFR IMAC
http://tntlandinggear.com/ http://www.rcaircraftcomponents.com/
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:56 AM   #8
ken6881
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
ken6881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Henderson, Ky
Posts: 1,765
Default Re: Power Switches

Quote: Originally Posted by poprlite
View Post
I have seen the smart fly switches but they are not failsafe and I don't know if the fromeco switches are.I found a adapter at duralite that james mentioned.I guess I can give fromeco a call and see if they have anything that fits.What are you guys using?
I am currently using 3 of the older pin flag switches(on my 35%), 2 badger switches(on my comp arf), and I just ordered a Wolverine and 3 more badger switches for one 43% carden and a 35% carden. I like to use the same connector in on my switch as out so that if something does happen with the switch and im at an IMAC event I can bypass the switch. And still fly my sequences. With that said I have yet to have one issue with any of my Fromeco switches or regulators.
ken6881 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:35 PM   #9
poprlite
which rudder?
 
poprlite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 35
Posts: 368
Default Re: Power Switches

ken

great idea on the same in as out in case of a problem,what is the difference between wolverine an badger.What is the most common way of power,through a board or strait off the receiver.
poprlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:49 PM   #10
ken6881
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
ken6881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Henderson, Ky
Posts: 1,765
Default Re: Power Switches

a wolverine is a double badger switch. it has two slider switches, two charge jacks, and dual power in and out(on most options). Not sure what you mean as a board? I run li ions and lipos on everything I have but then I plug it straight into the reciever. If your using nimh, nicads, or A123 you can skip the reg. and plug it straight to the reciever.

What is your setup?

Last edited by ken6881; 01-08-2010 at 06:54 PM.
ken6881 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 12:00 AM   #11
poprlite
which rudder?
 
poprlite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 35
Posts: 368
Default Re: Power Switches

A board meaning smartfly or powerbower.My setup is going to be two 921 9 channel receivers maybe fromeco switches two duralite 2s2p a123 and 8 hitec 7955 servo's.I think that I would like the badger switches with deans input and two jr's out.I would also keep a couple of adapters around incase something were to happen to the switch I could bypass it.Thanks for the help and keep the idea's coming because I am drawing a big blank on this one.
poprlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:19 AM   #12
ken6881
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
ken6881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Henderson, Ky
Posts: 1,765
Default Re: Power Switches

I would run one wolverine with two deans in and out then adapt to jr ends and plug into reciever. That would allow you to only have one hole cut in the fuse to mount the switch and you have the same redundancy you would have with two badger switches.
ken6881 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 08:26 AM   #13
jaguar bone
balsa, glue & gas
 
jaguar bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,981
Default Re: Power Switches

This may get deleted but;
I'd call this a POWER SWITCH!


Last edited by jaguar bone; 01-14-2010 at 06:00 PM.
jaguar bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 05:13 PM   #14
poprlite
which rudder?
 
poprlite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 35
Posts: 368
Default Re: Power Switches

Another switch that came to mind.

Last edited by poprlite; 01-15-2010 at 06:43 PM.
poprlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 03:09 PM   #15
vwchad
Wishin' I was flyin'
 
vwchad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Washington
Age: 34
Posts: 801
Default Re: Power Switches

Wow. This thread took quite the turn there..... Anywhooo.... I just emailed Fromeco the other day about a custom configuration for the wiring on a Wolverine switch. I wanted 2 deans in and 3 JR out. I got a prompt reply that they can put pretty much any connector configuration you want on the switch. Just email or call them. They seemed like nice people to deal with. In fact they said that it is easy enough to solder your own connectors to the PCB, if you have reasonable soldering skills.
vwchad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kodiak switches what gives rede2fly Onboard Electronics 8 10-12-2008 08:00 AM
receiver switches sportflyer1 General Discussion 10 10-04-2008 03:17 PM
Dual Switches ?? zx32tt Onboard Electronics 7 07-28-2008 10:20 AM
2 Switches in 1 Reciever thewrap General Discussion 8 02-25-2008 12:02 AM
KILL SWITCHES storklappe Gas Engines 7 03-29-2006 08:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.