Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Giant Scale Planes > Gas Engines
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2010, 04:00 PM   #1
anders e
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
anders e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,231
Default Anti-vibration engine mounts

Hi.
Where do i buy it?

I think my 110 yak vibrate to much. But i love my 120
__________________
Anders Engesvoll....flying Aurora rc products
Norway
PAU airplanes and GP-engines
http://www.planebenderproducts.com/
http://www.bandegraphix.com/ http://www.aztechaeromodels.com/
anders e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 04:07 PM   #2
S.Dubai
Doo It! Doo It!
 
S.Dubai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.A.E, Dubai
Posts: 176
Default Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

http://www.secraft.net/shop/step1.php?number=595
__________________
Clear Skies Never Make Good Pilots !


Telink Models-UAE
SAVOX-UAE
SECRAFT-UAE
S.Dubai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 04:22 PM   #3
Jkoch713
Hermit
 
Jkoch713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,490
Default Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

lots of money for a alum. mount and some medical rubber (called rubber tire on the website)

How does it work? Does it work well??
I realize that the nearest mount would be a Hyde mount and that would surely cost 200$ so I know that if
this truely works well, it is not too bad, but alum. molds surely deosn't run 70$ to make?
Is the Alum. plate CNC out of solid alum? or Molded...????

This could be made lighter if made out of a think piece of CF...??
Jkoch713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 05:07 PM   #4
Tired Old Man
on a vacation
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Posts: 4,321
Default Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

The only part of the mount doing anything at all is in front of the firewall. The O-rings in back are functionally useless. Better off to eliminate the plate and standoffs and mount directly over the o-ring or a ployurethane spacer. Put a two stroke on a mount that's provided the opportunity to oscillate and it most certainly will.
Tired Old Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 06:45 PM   #5
Pistolera
on a vacation
 
Pistolera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Berkeley Springs, WV
Posts: 4,215
Default Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

Quote: Originally Posted by anders e
View Post
Hi.
Where do i buy it?

I think my 110 yak vibrate to much. But i love my 120
Have you tried a Vess Balance Ring? Have one on my DA120 and it's pretty damned smooth

Earle
Pistolera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:56 AM   #6
anders e
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
anders e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,231
Default Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

Quote: Originally Posted by Pistolera
View Post
Have you tried a Vess Balance Ring? Have one on my DA120 and it's pretty damned smooth

Earle
No i havent. I will try.

Thanks every one.
__________________
Anders Engesvoll....flying Aurora rc products
Norway
PAU airplanes and GP-engines
http://www.planebenderproducts.com/
http://www.bandegraphix.com/ http://www.aztechaeromodels.com/
anders e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 03:12 AM   #7
Rod
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Age: 57
Posts: 2,145
Default Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

Hi Anders Just make a Hyde style mount. The rear mount is straight forwards but the front mount is a bit more of a problem due to the ignition sensor and the removable cowl. I will be documenting my build of one in our Slick build. I have made a few smaller ones (see my Miro F3A build). My main reason for using one is for noise reduction. I think I will set up the whole system on a test stand first.
Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 12:39 PM   #8
Jkoch713
Hermit
 
Jkoch713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,490
Default Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

Quote: Originally Posted by Rod
View Post
Hi Anders Just make a Hyde style mount. The rear mount is straight forwards but the front mount is a bit more of a problem due to the ignition sensor and the removable cowl. I will be documenting my build of one in our Slick build. I have made a few smaller ones (see my Miro F3A build). My main reason for using one is for noise reduction. I think I will set up the whole system on a test stand first.
I made a hyde mount ( a very simple one)
It had 2-separate plates, joinded by rubber inner tube....
It was a mess...

Not only did it move excesively, it changed position of the throttle....and almost killed my plane...

There is better one that Matt had made, but it is time consuming....
It's why the mounts cost 200$ to purchase already made....

Lot's of labor of love involved...
Jkoch713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.