logo
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2010, 03:00 PM
anders e is offline
Find More Posts by anders e
Registered User
anders e's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
2,257 Posts
Anti-vibration engine mounts

Hi.
Where do i buy it?

I think my 110 yak vibrate to much. But i love my 120
anders e is offline Find More Posts by anders e
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 03:07 PM
S.Dubai is offline
Find More Posts by S.Dubai
Doo It! Doo It!
S.Dubai's Avatar
U.A.E, Dubai
Joined Aug 2009
176 Posts
Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

http://www.secraft.net/shop/step1.php?number=595
S.Dubai is offline Find More Posts by S.Dubai
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 03:22 PM
Jkoch713 is offline
Find More Posts by Jkoch713
Hermit
Jkoch713's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
1,505 Posts
Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

lots of money for a alum. mount and some medical rubber (called rubber tire on the website)

How does it work? Does it work well??
I realize that the nearest mount would be a Hyde mount and that would surely cost 200$ so I know that if
this truely works well, it is not too bad, but alum. molds surely deosn't run 70$ to make?
Is the Alum. plate CNC out of solid alum? or Molded...????

This could be made lighter if made out of a think piece of CF...??
Jkoch713 is offline Find More Posts by Jkoch713
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 04:07 PM
Tired Old Man is offline
Find More Posts by Tired Old Man
Suspended Account
California
Joined Jul 2006
4,329 Posts
Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

The only part of the mount doing anything at all is in front of the firewall. The O-rings in back are functionally useless. Better off to eliminate the plate and standoffs and mount directly over the o-ring or a ployurethane spacer. Put a two stroke on a mount that's provided the opportunity to oscillate and it most certainly will.
Tired Old Man is offline Find More Posts by Tired Old Man
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old 10-17-2010, 05:45 PM
Pistolera is offline
Find More Posts by Pistolera
Suspended Account
Joined Apr 2006
4,242 Posts
Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

Quote:
Originally Posted by anders e View Post
Hi.
Where do i buy it?

I think my 110 yak vibrate to much. But i love my 120
Have you tried a Vess Balance Ring? Have one on my DA120 and it's pretty damned smooth

Earle
Pistolera is offline Find More Posts by Pistolera
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old 10-18-2010, 12:56 AM
anders e is offline
Find More Posts by anders e
Registered User
anders e's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
2,257 Posts
Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pistolera View Post
Have you tried a Vess Balance Ring? Have one on my DA120 and it's pretty damned smooth

Earle
No i havent. I will try.

Thanks every one.
anders e is offline Find More Posts by anders e
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 02:12 AM
Rod is offline
Rod
Find More Posts by Rod
Rod
Registered User
Rod's Avatar
Wellington New Zealand
Joined Apr 2006
2,151 Posts
Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

Hi Anders Just make a Hyde style mount. The rear mount is straight forwards but the front mount is a bit more of a problem due to the ignition sensor and the removable cowl. I will be documenting my build of one in our Slick build. I have made a few smaller ones (see my Miro F3A build). My main reason for using one is for noise reduction. I think I will set up the whole system on a test stand first.
Rod is offline Find More Posts by Rod
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 11:39 AM
Jkoch713 is offline
Find More Posts by Jkoch713
Hermit
Jkoch713's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
1,505 Posts
Re: Anti-vibration engine mounts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod View Post
Hi Anders Just make a Hyde style mount. The rear mount is straight forwards but the front mount is a bit more of a problem due to the ignition sensor and the removable cowl. I will be documenting my build of one in our Slick build. I have made a few smaller ones (see my Miro F3A build). My main reason for using one is for noise reduction. I think I will set up the whole system on a test stand first.
I made a hyde mount ( a very simple one)
It had 2-separate plates, joinded by rubber inner tube....
It was a mess...

Not only did it move excesively, it changed position of the throttle....and almost killed my plane...

There is better one that Matt had made, but it is time consuming....
It's why the mounts cost 200$ to purchase already made....

Lot's of labor of love involved...
Jkoch713 is offline Find More Posts by Jkoch713
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools