logo
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2011, 04:10 PM
Reza is offline
Find More Posts by Reza
Registered User
Reza's Avatar
Aliso Viejo, CA
Joined Jan 2006
4,398 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Those who have bought them from Duralite, they have most likely received an email and been notified of this issue and will have replacements as soon as they get here, hopefully this week.

If you bought it from AI, I don't think things should be any different for you, contact them and request your replacement!

New ones will have a red dot on the case, regardless of who you buy it from!

My friend installed his way before I did mine and never had an issue but problem was they could not figure out which ones had the issue and which ones did not so they are replacing all of them!

Sorry for the trouble folks!
Reza is offline Find More Posts by Reza
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:12 PM
Cryhavoc38 is online now
Find More Posts by Cryhavoc38
They should have called a run
Cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA
Joined Oct 2007
4,584 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reza View Post
Those who have bought them from Duralite, they have most likely received an email and been notified of this issue and will have replacements as soon as they get here, hopefully this week.

If you bought it from AI, I don't think things should be any different for you, contact them and request your replacement!

New ones will have a red dot on the case, regardless of who you buy it from!

My friend installed his way before I did mine and never had an issue but problem was they could not figure out which ones had the issue and which ones did not so they are replacing all of them!

Sorry for the trouble folks!
Not your deal at all. So no need for appologies!


I'm sure 90% of them probably work great, but this "missing" issue is definitely caused by MY spark switch.

Once its replaced, I may test it out again, but sure as heck, my engine is now smooth with just a 4.8v pack right into the ignition.
Cryhavoc38 is online now Find More Posts by Cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:15 PM
Bam Bam is offline
Find More Posts by Bam Bam
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
Bam Bam's Avatar
Victoria, Australia
Joined Oct 2007
3,385 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

It will be interesting to see if they work better when the new ones start coming in.
I have one on a new 125" ef extra. yet to fly it!
Bam Bam is offline Find More Posts by Bam Bam
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:31 PM
Reza is offline
Find More Posts by Reza
Registered User
Reza's Avatar
Aliso Viejo, CA
Joined Jan 2006
4,398 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Thanks very much buddy! I am sure yours has the issue!
Once it is replaced, please give it shot, I am confident they have solved the issue as it is very costly for them to replaces things from Germany, I am sure they want the nightmare gone.

I am happy once they found out there was a problem they did not procrastinate!

Were you using a Li_Po or Li-ion with the spark switch and this happened? If so, I have no doubt yours was not good!

Partly this was unfortunate as I had it a couple months before the release and played with it a lot, did not fly but did put it on the plane running it then many times checking things on the bench! Mine did not show any issue, had mine shown any problems we would not be here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryhavoc38 View Post
Not your deal at all. So no need for appologies!


I'm sure 90% of them probably work great, but this "missing" issue is definitely caused by MY spark switch.

Once its replaced, I may test it out again, but sure as heck, my engine is now smooth with just a 4.8v pack right into the ignition.
Reza is offline Find More Posts by Reza
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:38 PM
ericb is offline
Find More Posts by ericb
Team WTFO
ericb's Avatar
USA, SD, Worthing
Joined Mar 2006
9,051 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

This issue sounds oddly familiar. Can you say "Zues"?
ericb is offline Find More Posts by ericb
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:45 PM
Cryhavoc38 is online now
Find More Posts by Cryhavoc38
They should have called a run
Cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA
Joined Oct 2007
4,584 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reza View Post
Thanks very much buddy! I am sure yours has the issue!
Once it is replaced, please give it shot, I am confident they have solved the issue as it is very costly for them to replaces things from Germany, I am sure they want the nightmare gone.

I am happy once they found out there was a problem they did not procrastinate!

Were you using a Li_Po or Li-ion with the spark switch and this happened? If so, I have no doubt yours was not good!

Partly this was unfortunate as I had it a couple months before the release and played with it a lot, did not fly but did put it on the plane running it then many times checking things on the bench! Mine did not show any issue, had mine shown any problems we would not be here!
This plane, the AW extra 300 100cc is setup all HV so I am using redundant 2s 7.4v packs.
Power to the SS was fed directly from the Smart Fly Comp 12.

To eliminate the Smart Fly, I plugged in a 5cell nimh pack into the SS, with no change in behaviour.
Cryhavoc38 is online now Find More Posts by Cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:46 PM
Smacka is offline
Find More Posts by Smacka
Registered User
United States, PA, Ridgway
Joined Jun 2008
2,571 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reza View Post
Thanks very much buddy! I am sure yours has the issue!
Once it is replaced, please give it shot, I am confident they have solved the issue as it is very costly for them to replaces things from Germany, I am sure they want the nightmare gone.

I am happy once they found out there was a problem they did not procrastinate!

Were you using a Li_Po or Li-ion with the spark switch and this happened? If so, I have no doubt yours was not good!

Partly this was unfortunate as I had it a couple months before the release and played with it a lot, did not fly but did put it on the plane running it then many times checking things on the bench! Mine did not show any issue, had mine shown any problems we would not be here!
I will say this much...once the problem came to light, they moved on it I wish the same aggressive attention was given to DSM2
Smacka is offline Find More Posts by Smacka
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 09:58 PM
g_mkoch is offline
Find More Posts by g_mkoch
Doo It! Doo It!
g_mkoch's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
206 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

I've been talking to Jack at Duralite and he seems to be on top of everything. He told me they should get the replacements this week so hopefully I'll should have new ones the following week. I have to agree that PoweBox has been agressive and quickly solved the problem .
g_mkoch is offline Find More Posts by g_mkoch
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 10:14 PM
Cryhavoc38 is online now
Find More Posts by Cryhavoc38
They should have called a run
Cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA
Joined Oct 2007
4,584 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by g_mkoch View Post
I've been talking to Jack at Duralite and he seems to be on top of everything. He told me they should get the replacements this week so hopefully I'll should have new ones the following week. I have to agree that PoweBox has been agressive and quickly solved the problem .
I have to agree that they have been all over this to be sure.

I'd like to know what they found as the failure or circuit design issues.
Just the electronics geek in me to know these things.
hazards of the occupation.
Cryhavoc38 is online now Find More Posts by Cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 10:34 PM
decoy26 is offline
Find More Posts by decoy26
Displaced Missouri Boy!!!
decoy26's Avatar
Honolulu, OAHU
Joined May 2007
489 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Mine had the issue as well, I was chasing ground issues. Glad they fixed it, mine will be in the mail this Tuesday.
decoy26 is offline Find More Posts by decoy26
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 11:18 PM
Reza is offline
Find More Posts by Reza
Registered User
Reza's Avatar
Aliso Viejo, CA
Joined Jan 2006
4,398 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Honestly, I have been flying the DSM2 since their release. 10X with module, DX7, X9303 and now 12X. I have never had a single issue on any of my planes for the places I have flown at! I have never had a personal plane at Nall but have flown Quique's personal planes there with success as well. I am not even going to bother with the DSMX add-on and be out of single radio that I have! That is my personal experience and can't and won't speak for everybody! I am glad the DSMX will bring more positive results to giant events!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smacka View Post
I will say this much...once the problem came to light, they moved on it I wish the same aggressive attention was given to DSM2
Reza is offline Find More Posts by Reza
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 12:10 AM
Smacka is offline
Find More Posts by Smacka
Registered User
United States, PA, Ridgway
Joined Jun 2008
2,571 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reza View Post
Honestly, I have been flying the DSM2 since their release. 10X with module, DX7, X9303 and now 12X. I have never had a single issue on any of my planes for the places I have flown at! I have never had a personal plane at Nall but have flown Quique's personal planes there with success as well. I am not even going to bother with the DSMX add-on and be out of single radio that I have! That is my personal experience and can't and won't speak for everybody! I am glad the DSMX will bring more positive results to giant events!
...and to be fair, neither have I...BUT...I attend IRCHA each year (for the past 3-years) and the thought I have been at risk My helicopter flies so much better than I can, it scares me to think what "could" have happen with my 4ft swath blades spinning at some 2200 rpm. I cannot risk it by not having DSMX. To be clear, I do NOT give a hoot about my bird crashing...it can be replaced. I care about all those peeps around me. Speaking only for myself, I was a tad confused about the timing of DSMX...but, that said, I applaud HH for suspending sales in order to "fix" all the radios they had in stock first. Very good move on their part
Smacka is offline Find More Posts by Smacka
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 03:16 PM
tcruiser16 is offline
Find More Posts by tcruiser16
Watch this!
tcruiser16's Avatar
Vancouver Island
Joined Jan 2007
372 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

The website says "Product not Found!". Anyone know what's up? I need to order one.
tcruiser16 is offline Find More Posts by tcruiser16
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 03:29 PM
Reza is offline
Find More Posts by Reza
Registered User
Reza's Avatar
Aliso Viejo, CA
Joined Jan 2006
4,398 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Which website did you go to?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcruiser16 View Post
The website says "Product not Found!". Anyone know what's up? I need to order one.
Reza is offline Find More Posts by Reza
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 03:38 PM
tcruiser16 is offline
Find More Posts by tcruiser16
Watch this!
tcruiser16's Avatar
Vancouver Island
Joined Jan 2007
372 Posts
Re: Duralite: Spark Switch

Duralite's
tcruiser16 is offline Find More Posts by tcruiser16
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools