logo
Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2012, 07:15 PM
Just Here For The Comments
BOSSIER_ROB's Avatar
United States, LA, Bossier City
Joined Mar 2007
6,598 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pistolera View Post
It looks like the Greylor pump, but for about $25 dollars you can get the box and switches from RadioShack and put your new Greylor on it.

Earle
Yep. That's a Greylor pump. You can order the pump and either buy a project box from RS like Earl mentioned or even find an electrical box at Lowes or Home Depot as well as a switch and have the same thing for half the price. The Greylor pump will really crank some gas out with a 3s lipo and it doesn't have to be very big. I have a five year old 2500mAh 3s lipo on mine and it will literally run my pump for over half a flying season on one charge, so you could use a much smaller, very inexpensive battery to run it.
BOSSIER_ROB is online now Find More Posts by BOSSIER_ROB
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 09:11 PM
3D Legion
AeroSheldon's Avatar
United States, CO, Highlands Ranch
Joined Jan 2006
1,906 Posts

OK, I am an electrical dunce. Can I get a list of parts? Those switches look pretty specific…. RS will have those too? And then just run some wire to the switches from the 3S lipo or my 8FG pack I have left over? All to the Greylor that I attach to the box, right? I like saving half!
AeroSheldon is offline Find More Posts by AeroSheldon
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 09:28 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Apr 2006
4,242 Posts

Here ya go.....got this from a fellow RC'er on RCG. Built mine just like this but with the Greylor pump.

Earle
Pistolera is offline Find More Posts by Pistolera
Last edited by Pistolera; 11-17-2014 at 09:14 AM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old 03-14-2012, 09:29 PM
3D Legion
AeroSheldon's Avatar
United States, CO, Highlands Ranch
Joined Jan 2006
1,906 Posts

thanks!!
AeroSheldon is offline Find More Posts by AeroSheldon
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 11:41 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2009
392 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmala3 View Post
I didn't realize futaba servos were programmable.

Is the process the same as for hitec servos
its similar you get alot more features with the futaba software plus the pulse width matches if you program the center plug it into youre rx its the same no more guessing a few numbers definitely alot more user friendly
abobo808 is offline Find More Posts by abobo808
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 11:43 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2009
392 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by teookie View Post
Where did you get your 9075's? I can't fine 'em in stock anywhere.
i work part time at a hobby shop they had them in stock
abobo808 is offline Find More Posts by abobo808
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:36 PM
Uber Contributor
Lappster's Avatar
Bismarck ND
Joined Jan 2007
780 Posts

careful with the ABS boxes, if any gas does get on them (like after the Sig pump starts leaking.... ), they will get very soft and crappy. I did find a very nice grey plastic junction box at menards that works great and seems to be holding up, very similar to the one on the Abell jugs, has a nice oring seal too.
t
Lappster is offline Find More Posts by Lappster
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:49 PM
Super Contributor
Madison, AL
Joined Feb 2007
321 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lappster View Post
careful with the ABS boxes, if any gas does get on them (like after the Sig pump starts leaking.... ), they will get very soft and crappy. I did find a very nice grey plastic junction box at menards that works great and seems to be holding up, very similar to the one on the Abell jugs, has a nice oring seal too.
t
The radio shack ones are working fine. I had a plugged T connector in my plane one day preventing it from taking gas. The pump kept pumping and soaked the inside of the radio shack box. That was over a year ago. No issues yet.
cmala3 is offline Find More Posts by cmala3
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 08:07 PM
Go big
Friedclutch's Avatar
Sacramento ca
Joined Aug 2009
228 Posts

Dang... The gaylord pumps are cheap. Might have to grab one too. I hope it comes with some "gaylord fueling systems" decals. Oh snap. I've been reading the brand name all wrong.
Friedclutch is offline Find More Posts by Friedclutch
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:37 AM
Sponsored by my wife & girls
Phil Griffin's Avatar
Mountain Brook, Alabama
Joined Jun 2008
6,599 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroSheldon View Post
OK, I am an electrical dunce. Can I get a list of parts? Those switches look pretty specific…. RS will have those too? And then just run some wire to the switches from the 3S lipo or my 8FG pack I have left over? All to the Greylor that I attach to the box, right? I like saving half!
+1..
I might even give that a try. All I have is two 2.5 gal with hand cranks.
Phil Griffin is online now Find More Posts by Phil Griffin
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 09:11 AM
Fast & Low
pryor808's Avatar
Originally from Puerto Rico but, live in NY. Go! Gabriel Altuz
Joined Nov 2009
3,460 Posts

Hey friedclutch!

If you really want some "gaylord fueling systems" decals. We can make some up for you free of charge but, most put them on your big bird.....
pryor808 is offline Find More Posts by pryor808
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 09:46 AM
Fast can be bad
parpar1's Avatar
Garden Grove, CA
Joined Nov 2009
3,562 Posts
spinner

I know the subject is pumping. But i want to talk about spinners. No not the little Asian one again.

Just in case you guys have not been following the carbon fiber spinner threads i thought i would throw this out to you.

You can use a tru turn 5" spinner back plate on a 3dhs spinner. The receiving lip is a little tall and the inner diameter is a little tight. I am going to try it as is. Others have been turning the lip down to the same height as the lip on the spinner and increasing the I.D.

Looks bad ass.

got mine from DA
parpar1 is offline Find More Posts by parpar1
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 09:53 AM
Uber Contributor
steve400's Avatar
Patchogue, NY
Joined May 2009
703 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by parpar1 View Post
I know the subject is pumping. But i want to talk about spinners. No not the little Asian one again.

Just in case you guys have not been following the carbon fiber spinner threads i thought i would throw this out to you.

You can use a tru turn 5" spinner back plate on a 3dhs spinner. The receiving lip is a little tall and the inner diameter is a little tight. I am going to try it as is. Others have been turning the lip down to the same height as the lip on the spinner and increasing the I.D.

Looks bad ass.

got mine from DA
Nice! How thick is the backplate at the part where the spinner sits???
steve400 is offline Find More Posts by steve400
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 09:53 AM
Registered User
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
5,354 Posts

So where did you get it, TrueTurn or 3DHS? What do I ask for?
ghoffman is online now Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 10:04 AM
Registered User
3daviator's Avatar
Simpsonville , SC
Joined Jan 2006
1,286 Posts

I like that spinner idea, it does look good and I'm assuming it will prevent the cone from slipping like it does with the stock carbon back plate.

ghoffman, he said he got it from DA.
3daviator is offline Find More Posts by 3daviator
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
PONSLER
Thread Tools