logo
Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2010, 10:48 PM
Registered User
Australia
Joined Jan 2006
131 Posts
Help!
Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

Just considering using 2 servos per aileron and only have the spectrum 9100 power safe no smart fly or power box.

What do I need to do?
dale691 is online now Find More Posts by dale691
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:01 PM
Registered User
reyn3545's Avatar
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Oct 2006
10,107 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

I use a 12x, not a 9100, but the "needs" are the same... you might want to look at your manual for the "how"....

Anyway, you'll need to disable any "channels" that you aren't using... go into your device management screen and determine what channels you absolutely will be using... throttle, rudder, 2 main ailerons, elevators. Then, disable EVERY other channel on the radio. Then, if your radio supports it, select the wing type and set it to 4 servos... the radio should do the rest. Now go into your channel monitor page and it should show you what channels to attach the 2 additional aileron serovs to.

Now the real important part.... get the 2 servos on each wing programmed perfectly with each other for every flight mode. If you don't, you'll eventually burn one of the servos out. There are several ways to do that, depending on what type of servo you use and whether you want to do the programming in the servo, the radio or both. Essentially, you make sure that your end points and center location for both related servos are identical (no singing in the servos).

That should do it. It's always complicated the first time, but then seems like second nature.
reyn3545 is offline Find More Posts by reyn3545
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:36 PM
Registered User
Australia
Joined Jan 2006
131 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

I forgot, I'm using a JR 9X 2.4
dale691 is online now Find More Posts by dale691
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 02:02 AM
Hovering
Patrick H's Avatar
200k from home
Joined Jan 2007
977 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

With the 9X you will have to,

a) setup the geometry the same and match the servos together. It is time consuming and sometimes not possible to get two servos the same, out of the selection you have.

b) program the servos, hitec 79XX series.

c) get some sort of matchbox

d) get the 11X. I upgraded my DSX9 for the price of three matchboxes and am really pleased I did.
Patrick H is offline Find More Posts by Patrick H
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 02:20 AM
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
BeverleyFlyer's Avatar
Australia, WA, Kelmscott
Joined Aug 2010
2,151 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

Dale there is no servo matching capability with the DSX 9 that's why i too updated to the 11x
are you running some sort of power expander? smartfly or powerbox? if so they can be set up for servo matching too.
BeverleyFlyer is offline Find More Posts by BeverleyFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:24 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Apr 2008
3,381 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

Quote:
Originally Posted by dale691 View Post
Just considering using 2 servos per aileron and only have the spectrum 9100 power safe no smart fly or power box.

What do I need to do?
Dale what you can do is use a Matchbox for each wing to match the servos then for example on (JR) the right wing plugs into the aileron port on the receiver and the left wing plugs into the flap port then mix them.After that your good to go.
Edgeman 540 is offline Find More Posts by Edgeman 540
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:42 AM
Sponsor of My Sons
KnowCrashes's Avatar
Sea Level in the SunShine!
Joined Aug 2008
1,280 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgeman 540 View Post
Dale what you can do is use a Matchbox for each wing to match the servos then for example on (JR) the right wing plugs into the aileron port on the receiver and the left wing plugs into the flap port then mix them.After that your good to go.

No need to "mix" them if you choose "mate" in the set up menu. This little gem saves one of your Pmixes for other fun things.
KnowCrashes is offline Find More Posts by KnowCrashes
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 07:27 AM
Registered User
Zeeb's Avatar
United States, UT, Highland
Joined Feb 2006
2,748 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

There is no native support for a 4 aileron servo install on the 9 channel JR radios, there is a way to do it but you will not have trim available on one side.
Zeeb is offline Find More Posts by Zeeb
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 07:51 AM
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
BeverleyFlyer's Avatar
Australia, WA, Kelmscott
Joined Aug 2010
2,151 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

What size model you building dale? On the larger models 50cc and up i would always run apower expander myself it gives you the same constant voltage to all the servos and you can match multiple servos on each control surface. On my Extra 260 i'm building at the moment i'm running 1 servo per control surface through a smartfly wit RD921 reciever and HS 7955TG.s on elevators and ailerons and a HS7950TG on the rudder, Bit of an overkill for the model i know but better to have too much than not enough. I also run each control surface of a different chanell i run flaperon mix on the wing so aileron chanel and flap chan, i mate aux2 with elevator so all up with rudder throttle ail and elevator and engine kill i'm running of 7 chan running through the smartfly with 1 A123 battery for the rx and 1 A123 battery for the servos and another A123 regulated to 5 v for the ignition.
BeverleyFlyer is offline Find More Posts by BeverleyFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 08:30 AM
Cruzin The "Blood Moon"
Barn-E-Stormer's Avatar
United States, VA, Narrows
Joined Jan 2008
992 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

I use a 9303 and no power expander on all my dual aileron servo planes. I use Hitec digital servos, program the center, and each endpont with the programmer(there are threads on this), and then just hook the two servos together on a y-harness. One output on your RX will drive two serovs fine.
Barn-E-Stormer is offline Find More Posts by Barn-E-Stormer
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 09:02 AM
DA isn't Haulin it? It Drags
Hammerman's Avatar
Tucson AZ
Joined Mar 2006
1,546 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

JR Match Box, very simple.
Hammerman is online now Find More Posts by Hammerman
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 09:15 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Apr 2008
3,381 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnowCrashes View Post
No need to "mix" them if you choose "mate" in the set up menu. This little gem saves one of your Pmixes for other fun things.
I should have explained further.Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
There is no native support for a 4 aileron servo install on the 9 channel JR radios, there is a way to do it but you will not have trim available on one side.
You have to choose the wing type as flaperon.I have all my planes set up this way on my 9503.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammerman View Post
JR Match Box, very simple.
You got it.
Edgeman 540 is offline Find More Posts by Edgeman 540
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:47 AM
Registered User
Dubai, UAE
Joined Dec 2009
872 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barn-E-Stormer View Post
I use a 9303 and no power expander on all my dual aileron servo planes. I use Hitec digital servos, program the center, and each endpont with the programmer(there are threads on this), and then just hook the two servos together on a y-harness. One output on your RX will drive two serovs fine.
I do the same. AR9100/DX7. 2 servos per wing, Hitec 7955 on a Y harness. About 30 flights on my 33% Raven, no problem what-so-ever.
RCToon is offline Find More Posts by RCToon
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:11 AM
Super Contributor
ScottZ's Avatar
Egg Harbor,NJ
Joined Jan 2006
462 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
There is no native support for a 4 aileron servo install on the 9 channel JR radios, there is a way to do it but you will not have trim available on one side.
If you had trim only on one side then it sounds like you didn't mate the two channels. I spent two hours at the field trying to figure that out!
ScottZ is offline Find More Posts by ScottZ
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:31 AM
Registered User
Zeeb's Avatar
United States, UT, Highland
Joined Feb 2006
2,748 Posts
Re: Dual aileron servos no smart fly? How to

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottZ View Post
If you had trim only on one side then it sounds like you didn't mate the two channels. I spent two hours at the field trying to figure that out!
Well I never really tried anything more than what I'd seen written up by some folks who play with JR programming all the time and it's been quite awhile at that so I was going off memory. My 12X does multiple aileron servos without a hitch....
Zeeb is offline Find More Posts by Zeeb
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water on Probond BigBird Build Threads 12 07-11-2006 04:50 AM