logo
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2011, 09:11 PM
scott m lyons is offline
Find More Posts by scott m lyons
GOT GAS ?
scott m lyons's Avatar
Bennington VT.
Joined Aug 2008
6,797 Posts
Discussion
4 ail servos jr 9503

Can you setup 4 aileron servos ( two per wing ) with a 9503 ?
scott m lyons is offline Find More Posts by scott m lyons
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 09:16 PM
jamesrxx951 is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Proud memeber of Team JR
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
8,542 Posts
not according to horizon. there is supposed to be a way to use some mixing to make it work but you burn up some mixes and i hear you don't have the ability to make trim adjustments. horizon told me the radio was not designed for that feature.
jamesrxx951 is offline Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 09:19 PM
sensei is online now
Find More Posts by sensei
Super Weight Freak
sensei's Avatar
San Antonio Texas
Joined Nov 2006
2,992 Posts
You can use match boxes, or Y them if you are good at your mechanical setup.

Bob
sensei is online now Find More Posts by sensei
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 09:54 PM
wylieruneyjr is offline
Find More Posts by wylieruneyjr
RUTNBUC
wylieruneyjr's Avatar
United States, SC, McClellanville
Joined Sep 2008
2,659 Posts
I think you can. Try the hidden menu to set up two channels for ailerons, then use two mixes to slave a aux channel to each of the aileron channels Four channels two program mixes plus the orignal setup mix on the hidden screen.
wylieruneyjr is offline Find More Posts by wylieruneyjr
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 09:57 PM
jamesrxx951 is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Proud memeber of Team JR
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
8,542 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wylieruneyjr View Post
I think you can. Try the hidden menu to set up two channels for ailerons, then use two mixes to slave a aux channel to each of the aileron channels Four channels two program mixes plus the orignal setup mix on the hidden screen.

the hidden menu? do you need some sort of superman glassess to see it? or maybe jump in a circle six times and touch your toes to activate it.
jamesrxx951 is offline Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:12 PM
scott m lyons is offline
Find More Posts by scott m lyons
GOT GAS ?
scott m lyons's Avatar
Bennington VT.
Joined Aug 2008
6,797 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wylieruneyjr View Post
I think you can. Try the hidden menu to set up two channels for ailerons, then use two mixes to slave a aux channel to each of the aileron channels Four channels two program mixes plus the orignal setup mix on the hidden screen.
We tried that and everything else. It can't be done and have trim adjustments. Getting matchboxxes. Just thought we'd save some cash. I can do it on my 10c and thought this radio was close in fetures. So we gave it a shot. No go
scott m lyons is offline Find More Posts by scott m lyons
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 10:57 AM
AWorrest is offline
Find More Posts by AWorrest
Registered User
Lincoln, NE
Joined Nov 2008
375 Posts
I’ve set up a 9303 for two pairs of ganged aileron servos. I won’t recommend it. The setup is not as flexible as using matchboxes or the like. The AUX TRIM has to be used instead of the regular aileron trim. Also if you program in flaps, you risk having the ganged-pair servos rotate in opposition. Overall it is easier, safer and more flexible to use matchboxes.

Allan
AWorrest is offline Find More Posts by AWorrest
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 11:25 PM
Bill Vargas is offline
Find More Posts by Bill Vargas
3W Flyer
Bill Vargas's Avatar
United States, CA, Apple Valley
Joined Mar 2011
1,966 Posts
Servos

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott m lyons View Post
Can you setup 4 aileron servos ( two per wing ) with a 9503 ?

Y-cords and match boxes are the simplest way or something like a Smartfly eq6 that will do just about anything you want it to do.
Bill Vargas is offline Find More Posts by Bill Vargas
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 03:02 AM
Extra nuts is offline
Find More Posts by Extra nuts
Truckin Extra Hucker
Extra nuts's Avatar
United States, UT, St George
Joined Apr 2007
2,442 Posts
I thought Y-harnesses were a no-no? Especially with 2.4?? I thought i read that on a thread here somehwhere? Or was it Y-harnesses with the little filter/amplifier thing wired in them?
IDK, thought i'd better ask about it.
Extra nuts is offline Find More Posts by Extra nuts
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 06:40 AM
jamesrxx951 is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Proud memeber of Team JR
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
8,542 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extra nuts View Post
I thought Y-harnesses were a no-no? Especially with 2.4?? I thought i read that on a thread here somehwhere? Or was it Y-harnesses with the little filter/amplifier thing wired in them?
IDK, thought i'd better ask about it.

the non amplified ones are ok to use. but with a y harness your geometry must be perfect or use a programable servo.
jamesrxx951 is offline Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 06:49 AM
sensei is online now
Find More Posts by sensei
Super Weight Freak
sensei's Avatar
San Antonio Texas
Joined Nov 2006
2,992 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extra nuts View Post
I thought Y-harnesses were a no-no? Especially with 2.4?? I thought i read that on a thread here somehwhere? Or was it Y-harnesses with the little filter/amplifier thing wired in them?
IDK, thought i'd better ask about it.
In 2006 I build this 40% Carden 260, it was on 2.4, no match boxes, the aileron servos were and still are running a Y harnes and this airplane has hundreds of flights on it today.

Bob
sensei is online now Find More Posts by sensei
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 06:51 AM
scott m lyons is offline
Find More Posts by scott m lyons
GOT GAS ?
scott m lyons's Avatar
Bennington VT.
Joined Aug 2008
6,797 Posts
I know guys that y harness some servos. I wouldn't do it but it seems to work for them. we're getting matchboxess for this perticular istalation.
scott m lyons is offline Find More Posts by scott m lyons
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found Pusher Props Goatnick Planes and Accessories 0 10-17-2014 09:12 AM