logo
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2011, 09:31 PM
smarks is offline
Find More Posts by smarks
Gravity Sucks!
smarks's Avatar
Castle Rock, Colorado
Joined May 2006
483 Posts
Just wanted to share that I have replaced all my servos in my Yak with MKS and am loving them! I will be flying them in the Tucson Shootout this year and expect them to perform very well
smarks is offline Find More Posts by smarks
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 06:52 AM
1bigben is offline
Find More Posts by 1bigben
Registered User
United States, MN, Rosemount
Joined Nov 2008
386 Posts
Which model did you install? I put the 767's in my YAK's control surfaces and the 300's on the throttle and choke and find them to be flawless thus far.
1bigben is offline Find More Posts by 1bigben
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 08:08 AM
smarks is offline
Find More Posts by smarks
Gravity Sucks!
smarks's Avatar
Castle Rock, Colorado
Joined May 2006
483 Posts
I am using 660A+ on all surfaces and the HV787 on throttle. They are in a 40% Yak. Great products and service!
smarks is offline Find More Posts by smarks
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 10:22 AM
Eganwp is offline
Find More Posts by Eganwp
Jesus saves!
Eganwp's Avatar
Canada, AB, Calgary
Joined Feb 2009
858 Posts
I'm interested to hear more people's thoughts and real world test results with them. They look like a great alternative.

I looked into them a few months back, but was a bit concerned as there were a couple of reported failures by people on the rebranded Turnigy HV-767, especially when turning the EPA's up too high as the servo would loose all it's holding power completely or turn off. Videos like this didn't help my confidence either :
Worst servos in the world TURNIGY hv-767 - YouTube
but it may just be his setup so who knows. Another guy said that when the servo is at it's end point that if you bump it or push on it the servo will shut down and require a power cycle.???

That being said, if more and more people are testing them and having great success I think I may jump on a few! WrongWayRC and a few others like TBM really really liked these servos in testing, so I wont make any judgements until I can test them for myself.

In the mean time, I'm planning on placing an order for some XQ servos for my 33% Yak, the XQ-4020D servos. Cheap prices, and highly reviewed by T3Beatz in his cheap alternative servo database. HV, titanium gears, coreless, fast, high resolution, reasonably strong in real world testing, haven't found any reported failures yet, etc. but I doubt they're anything like the MKS servo is though. Those who are flying them, please keep us posted!

TFC thread has some great info on these MKS servos for those who haven't read it.
Eganwp is offline Find More Posts by Eganwp
Last edited by Eganwp; 09-29-2011 at 12:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:29 AM
WrongWayRC is offline
Find More Posts by WrongWayRC
Dot Com-ing it...
WrongWayRC's Avatar
Ormond Beach, FL
Joined Sep 2008
3,445 Posts
My MKS HV-767 are new in this vid. Nothing like that. I also have 660+ in the wings of this 50cc and the DS-1210 on throttle. All are flawless, I flew the plane 10 flights last weekend. Love them.

I have a 660+ in the rudder of my other 50cc slab and it has been in there since July, working good... no issues. (the plane with the blue under wing. Photos courtesy of Norman Watters.

MKS HV 767 servo - YouTube
WrongWayRC is offline Find More Posts by WrongWayRC
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 09:46 AM
1bigben is offline
Find More Posts by 1bigben
Registered User
United States, MN, Rosemount
Joined Nov 2008
386 Posts
DS 1210

Has anyone found if these are a coreless motor? If a pole motor is it three or five???
1bigben is offline Find More Posts by 1bigben
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:56 PM
cje0114 is offline
Find More Posts by cje0114
Mr.DirtyRudder
cje0114's Avatar
Carteret, NJ
Joined Jul 2006
101 Posts
I have some ds1210's waiting to go in a little 30cc but I'm kind of hesitant on using them now that I see the manufacturer doesn't recommend using anything over 6 volts on them...they actually state to use a 4 cell numb pack. All I use these days are a123 packs without any regulators. I really don't want a new plane to go in because of fried servos.

What's the word on this? Are the 1210's a123 friendly or should I find a different servo?

Thanks..

Chris
cje0114 is offline Find More Posts by cje0114
Last edited by cje0114; 10-07-2011 at 03:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:31 AM
1bigben is offline
Find More Posts by 1bigben
Registered User
United States, MN, Rosemount
Joined Nov 2008
386 Posts
DS 1210

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1bigben View Post
Has anyone found if these are a coreless motor? If a pole motor is it three or five???
I don't know what accounts for it but I sent a message to MKS and they didn't answer my question about coreless either. With so many other good choices guess I'll look at others instead.
1bigben is offline Find More Posts by 1bigben
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:40 PM
MKSservosUSA is offline
Find More Posts by MKSservosUSA
Flyin' Around
MKSservosUSA's Avatar
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Apr 2011
7 Posts
Sorry for not reply sooner but we were at the Tucson Shootout over the weekend.
Got to love the freestyle!

Regarding your question, the DS1210 uses a cored motor.
IMO the DS1210 is the the best value Titanium gear, standard size digital servo out there.

Thanks,
Thomas
MKSservosUSA is offline Find More Posts by MKSservosUSA
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:44 PM
cje0114 is offline
Find More Posts by cje0114
Mr.DirtyRudder
cje0114's Avatar
Carteret, NJ
Joined Jul 2006
101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKSservosUSA View Post
Sorry for not reply sooner but we were at the Tucson Shootout over the weekend.
Got to love the freestyle!

Regarding your question, the DS1210 uses a cored motor.
IMO the DS1210 is the the best value Titanium gear, standard size digital servo out there.

Thanks,
Thomas

That didn't answer my question...i wanted to know the reason why that are rated for 6v Max and if they can run on a123 packs without burning up..

Please refer to post #37.
cje0114 is offline Find More Posts by cje0114
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:49 PM
MKSservosUSA is offline
Find More Posts by MKSservosUSA
Flyin' Around
MKSservosUSA's Avatar
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Apr 2011
7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cje0114 View Post
I have some ds1210's waiting to go in a little 30cc but I'm kind of hesitant on using them now that I see the manufacturer doesn't recommend using anything over 6 volts on them...they actually state to use a 4 cell numb pack. All I use these days are a123 packs without any regulators. I really don't want a new plane to go in because of fried servos.

What's the word on this? Are the 1210's a123 friendly or should I find a different servo?

Thanks..

Chris
Hi Chris,
Best to use a regulator if you plan to use A123's on the DS1210.
You need to remember that a charged A123 pack is over 6.9 volts.
We are working on a HV model to work with 2s LiFe and LiPo packs for next year.
Thanks,
Thomas
MKSservosUSA is offline Find More Posts by MKSservosUSA
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:50 PM
MKSservosUSA is offline
Find More Posts by MKSservosUSA
Flyin' Around
MKSservosUSA's Avatar
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Apr 2011
7 Posts
Sorry chris I was anwering one question at a time.
See above
Cheers,
Thomas
MKSservosUSA is offline Find More Posts by MKSservosUSA
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 05:39 PM
Bikman is offline
Find More Posts by Bikman
Suspended Account
Joined Jun 2011
854 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKSservosUSA View Post
Hi Chris,
Best to use a regulator if you plan to use A123's on the DS1210.
You need to remember that a charged A123 pack is over 6.9 volts.
That would be true for a unknown chinese servo, but LiFe pack voltage drops to 6.6V quickly when you power on the Rx. there is no damage for the servo unless you run them over 7V all the time they will have a short live.
4.0V - 6.0V means 4 and 5 cell with no regulator!
if you think that is a regulated voltage then 4.8V servos would burn with a 4 cell pack, I have never seen no one with a 4 cell pack + voltage regulator.

Why does a HV servo 7.4V work fine with a 2S pack ?
you know a 2S lipo is over 8V when full charged why dont you recommend a voltage regulator in this case ?

I bought 6 x DS1210 from Hobby King for $23 each, ($35 in the USA) this is why they are on back order, they wont have them never again in stock because you want the margin profit for you, malicious dealers
Bikman is offline Find More Posts by Bikman
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old 10-15-2011, 07:30 AM
smarks is offline
Find More Posts by smarks
Gravity Sucks!
smarks's Avatar
Castle Rock, Colorado
Joined May 2006
483 Posts
smarks is offline Find More Posts by smarks
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 10:22 AM
RCToon is offline
Find More Posts by RCToon
Registered User
Dubai, UAE
Joined Dec 2009
874 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKSservosUSA View Post
Hi Chris,
Best to use a regulator if you plan to use A123's on the DS1210.
You need to remember that a charged A123 pack is over 6.9 volts.
We are working on a HV model to work with 2s LiFe and LiPo packs for next year.
Thanks,
Thomas
That is disappointing Thomas. Every other 6v servo (that I am aware off) we can use a A123 unregulated. Why is it different for the MKS? this alone is a deal killer for me.
RCToon is offline Find More Posts by RCToon
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools