Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Technology > Radios
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2011, 09:31 PM   #31
smarks
Gravity Sucks!
 
smarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Castle Rock, Colorado
Age: 41
Posts: 483
Default

Just wanted to share that I have replaced all my servos in my Yak with MKS and am loving them! I will be flying them in the Tucson Shootout this year and expect them to perform very well
__________________
Special Thanks To:

http://www.mksservosusa.com
http://www.smart-fly.com
smarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 06:52 AM   #32
1bigben
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 361
Default

Which model did you install? I put the 767's in my YAK's control surfaces and the 300's on the throttle and choke and find them to be flawless thus far.
1bigben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 08:08 AM   #33
smarks
Gravity Sucks!
 
smarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Castle Rock, Colorado
Age: 41
Posts: 483
Default

I am using 660A+ on all surfaces and the HV787 on throttle. They are in a 40% Yak. Great products and service!
__________________
Special Thanks To:

http://www.mksservosusa.com
http://www.smart-fly.com
smarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 10:22 AM   #34
Eganwp
Uber Contributor
 
Eganwp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada, AB, Calgary
Age: 32
Posts: 766
Default

I'm interested to hear more people's thoughts and real world test results with them. They look like a great alternative.

I looked into them a few months back, but was a bit concerned as there were a couple of reported failures by people on the rebranded Turnigy HV-767, especially when turning the EPA's up too high as the servo would loose all it's holding power completely or turn off. Videos like this didn't help my confidence either : but it may just be his setup so who knows. Another guy said that when the servo is at it's end point that if you bump it or push on it the servo will shut down and require a power cycle.???

That being said, if more and more people are testing them and having great success I think I may jump on a few! WrongWayRC and a few others like TBM really really liked these servos in testing, so I wont make any judgements until I can test them for myself.

In the mean time, I'm planning on placing an order for some XQ servos for my 33% Yak, the XQ-4020D servos. Cheap prices, and highly reviewed by T3Beatz in his cheap alternative servo database. HV, titanium gears, coreless, fast, high resolution, reasonably strong in real world testing, haven't found any reported failures yet, etc. but I doubt they're anything like the MKS servo is though. Those who are flying them, please keep us posted!

TFC thread has some great info on these MKS servos for those who haven't read it.
__________________
35% Hangar 9 Extra 300 DLE-111 | 33% Lanier Yak 54 DL-100 | 30% Peak Edge 540T v2 DLE-55 | SkyWalker 1280mHz Long Range FPV | My YouTube Channel | Jesus saves!

Last edited by Eganwp; 09-29-2011 at 12:18 PM.
Eganwp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:29 AM   #35
WrongWayRC
Dot Com-ing it...
 
WrongWayRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Age: 56
Posts: 3,123
Default

My MKS HV-767 are new in this vid. Nothing like that. I also have 660+ in the wings of this 50cc and the DS-1210 on throttle. All are flawless, I flew the plane 10 flights last weekend. Love them.

I have a 660+ in the rudder of my other 50cc slab and it has been in there since July, working good... no issues. (the plane with the blue under wing. Photos courtesy of Norman Watters.

Attached Thumbnails
  • Click image for larger version

Name:	0013.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	111.2 KB
ID:	415460 111.2 KB · Views: 49

  • Click image for larger version

Name:	0014.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	150.8 KB
ID:	415461 150.8 KB · Views: 44

  • Click image for larger version

Name:	0015.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	144.8 KB
ID:	415462 144.8 KB · Views: 47

__________________

A123 Batteries, SWB Manufacturing
Smart Fly, FMA Cellpro, Rcexl
Sooner or later.....your gonna do it the..
WrongWay
WrongWayRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 09:46 AM   #36
1bigben
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 361
Default DS 1210

Has anyone found if these are a coreless motor? If a pole motor is it three or five???
1bigben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:56 PM   #37
cje0114
Mr.DirtyRudder
 
cje0114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Carteret, NJ
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to cje0114
Default

I have some ds1210's waiting to go in a little 30cc but I'm kind of hesitant on using them now that I see the manufacturer doesn't recommend using anything over 6 volts on them...they actually state to use a 4 cell numb pack. All I use these days are a123 packs without any regulators. I really don't want a new plane to go in because of fried servos.

What's the word on this? Are the 1210's a123 friendly or should I find a different servo?

Thanks..

Chris

Last edited by cje0114; 10-07-2011 at 03:06 PM.
cje0114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:31 AM   #38
1bigben
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 361
Default DS 1210

Quote: Originally Posted by 1bigben
View Post
Has anyone found if these are a coreless motor? If a pole motor is it three or five???
I don't know what accounts for it but I sent a message to MKS and they didn't answer my question about coreless either. With so many other good choices guess I'll look at others instead.
1bigben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:40 PM   #39
MKSservosUSA
Flyin' Around
 
MKSservosUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States, TX, Houston
Posts: 7
Default

Sorry for not reply sooner but we were at the Tucson Shootout over the weekend.
Got to love the freestyle!

Regarding your question, the DS1210 uses a cored motor.
IMO the DS1210 is the the best value Titanium gear, standard size digital servo out there.

Thanks,
Thomas
MKSservosUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:44 PM   #40
cje0114
Mr.DirtyRudder
 
cje0114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Carteret, NJ
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to cje0114
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by MKSservosUSA
View Post
Sorry for not reply sooner but we were at the Tucson Shootout over the weekend.
Got to love the freestyle!

Regarding your question, the DS1210 uses a cored motor.
IMO the DS1210 is the the best value Titanium gear, standard size digital servo out there.

Thanks,
Thomas

That didn't answer my question...i wanted to know the reason why that are rated for 6v Max and if they can run on a123 packs without burning up..

Please refer to post #37.
cje0114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:49 PM   #41
MKSservosUSA
Flyin' Around
 
MKSservosUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States, TX, Houston
Posts: 7
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by cje0114
View Post
I have some ds1210's waiting to go in a little 30cc but I'm kind of hesitant on using them now that I see the manufacturer doesn't recommend using anything over 6 volts on them...they actually state to use a 4 cell numb pack. All I use these days are a123 packs without any regulators. I really don't want a new plane to go in because of fried servos.

What's the word on this? Are the 1210's a123 friendly or should I find a different servo?

Thanks..

Chris
Hi Chris,
Best to use a regulator if you plan to use A123's on the DS1210.
You need to remember that a charged A123 pack is over 6.9 volts.
We are working on a HV model to work with 2s LiFe and LiPo packs for next year.
Thanks,
Thomas
MKSservosUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:50 PM   #42
MKSservosUSA
Flyin' Around
 
MKSservosUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States, TX, Houston
Posts: 7
Default

Sorry chris I was anwering one question at a time.
See above
Cheers,
Thomas
MKSservosUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 05:39 PM   #43
Bikman
on a vacation
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 855
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by MKSservosUSA
View Post
Hi Chris,
Best to use a regulator if you plan to use A123's on the DS1210.
You need to remember that a charged A123 pack is over 6.9 volts.
That would be true for a unknown chinese servo, but LiFe pack voltage drops to 6.6V quickly when you power on the Rx. there is no damage for the servo unless you run them over 7V all the time they will have a short live.
4.0V - 6.0V means 4 and 5 cell with no regulator!
if you think that is a regulated voltage then 4.8V servos would burn with a 4 cell pack, I have never seen no one with a 4 cell pack + voltage regulator.

Why does a HV servo 7.4V work fine with a 2S pack ?
you know a 2S lipo is over 8V when full charged why dont you recommend a voltage regulator in this case ?

I bought 6 x DS1210 from Hobby King for $23 each, ($35 in the USA) this is why they are on back order, they wont have them never again in stock because you want the margin profit for you, malicious dealers
Bikman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 07:30 AM   #44
smarks
Gravity Sucks!
 
smarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Castle Rock, Colorado
Age: 41
Posts: 483
Default

__________________
Special Thanks To:

http://www.mksservosusa.com
http://www.smart-fly.com
smarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 10:22 AM   #45
RCToon
Uber Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 858
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by MKSservosUSA
View Post
Hi Chris,
Best to use a regulator if you plan to use A123's on the DS1210.
You need to remember that a charged A123 pack is over 6.9 volts.
We are working on a HV model to work with 2s LiFe and LiPo packs for next year.
Thanks,
Thomas
That is disappointing Thomas. Every other 6v servo (that I am aware off) we can use a A123 unregulated. Why is it different for the MKS? this alone is a deal killer for me.
RCToon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.