logo
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2006, 05:49 AM
rtn9105 is offline
Find More Posts by rtn9105
Flyin' Around
rtn9105's Avatar
central MN
Joined Jan 2006
38 Posts
Servo extension and Y-harness question

I'm installing servos in a H9 33% Cap. This plane uses two servos for each aileron, one servo on each elevator half, and two servos on the rudder.
My question is do you guys recommend using a Y-harness for the two aileron servos in each wing half or do you plug each servo into the receiver then program mixes for everything?
I'll be running everything through an I4C power isolator and I'm using Hitec digitals on all surfaces. I will also be using the Hitec programmer to set up each servo so I could even use a Y-harness for the two elevator servos but I've been told that the Y-harness isn't a good idea due to current draw of the digital servos.
rtn9105 is offline Find More Posts by rtn9105
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 10:43 AM
ashtek is offline
Find More Posts by ashtek
Fly it, like you stole it ;o)
ashtek's Avatar
UK
Joined Jun 2006
37 Posts
Re: Servo extension and Y-harness question

i would mix, if i was you.

The same prinicle on y-leads on the back end also apply on the alierons
ashtek is offline Find More Posts by ashtek
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 10:47 AM
ShortBus is offline
Find More Posts by ShortBus
Workin' the pole
ShortBus's Avatar
Hopewell Jct, NY
Joined Jan 2006
4,456 Posts
Re: Servo extension and Y-harness question

Use mixes to set up the servos.

By using a y harness the 2 servos connected to it will not get as strong of a signal as one that is connected dircetly to the i4c
ShortBus is offline Find More Posts by ShortBus
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 11:57 AM
Hoosier06 is offline
Find More Posts by Hoosier06
Registered User
United States, IN, Highland
Joined Jan 2006
541 Posts
Re: Servo extension and Y-harness question

Been using Y's on the aileron servos on the Hanger 9 Cap. Sukhoi and both of their Extra's. Also have the same on a 40% Edge. I used 5945's and never had a problem. But in the end it is what ever makes you feel good about your set ups. Just wanted you to know it works. However, I am not one to really push a plane with heavy 3D stuff.
Hoosier06 is offline Find More Posts by Hoosier06
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 12:07 PM
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline
Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Flying Giant Scale is News.
Bunky F. Knuckle's Avatar
TFC
Joined Jan 2006
7,310 Posts
Re: Servo extension and Y-harness question

I have "Y" harnesses on my ailerons and rudder servos in my 35% Carden. No losses there!!!! I even use the i4c Products stuff. But even before I used i4c, I was plugging direct. I never saw a bit of power loss. Your setup will be fine!!!

If you are using a JR 10 SX2 or X version, plug the ele. servos into ch.3 and ch.8. Then activate DUAL ELE and set travels. Anyother radio than the 10SX2 or X uses mixes to setup elevators!!!

Bunk~
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 01:04 PM
Dr. Yankem is offline
Find More Posts by Dr. Yankem
Doo It! Doo It!
Dr. Yankem's Avatar
Park Ridge, NJ
Joined Jan 2006
227 Posts
Re: Servo extension and Y-harness question

It probably wont be an issue with the Y's with servos on each wing. The voltage drop would be minimal, but from my experience with my 42% ultimate, when I tried using 2 servos in each wing with a Y, then Y'd top and bottom for right side and left, I had significant blow back on the ailerons from the drop in voltage.
Then switched to Smartfly power box and bypassed the Y's and there was no blowback or drop in voltage as measured on the onboard I4C meter.
Jerry
Dr. Yankem is offline Find More Posts by Dr. Yankem
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 05:14 PM
Breakstuff5050 is offline
Find More Posts by Breakstuff5050
SMACKING THE BEVEL!!!
Breakstuff5050's Avatar
Shelby NC
Joined Jan 2006
730 Posts
Re: Servo extension and Y-harness question

I have ALWAYS used Y harnesses on ailerons with my big birds, currently i have 33% and a 40% and I havent had any trouble at all. But i like mixing my elevator halfs, if you have a 10X you can setup point mixes with the radio and have each half absolutley perfect! But thats just me.
Breakstuff5050 is offline Find More Posts by Breakstuff5050
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 08:54 PM
tkilwein is offline
Find More Posts by tkilwein
Super Contributor
tkilwein's Avatar
DENVER
Joined Jul 2006
306 Posts
Re: Servo extension and Y-harness question

I have a monitor in line and with 6 HS5955TG's aileron and elevator, current draw is 2 to 8-9 amps @ 5.8v when moving small to full travel on the surfaces.
AW 36% katana.

With the Y I could not run the 5955 servos, the 149 pcm rx would not output a correct level to both servos. This is a known issue with the 149 RX and HS5955 in a Y setup. Some servos require more source-sink current than others. Some of the RX's have a resistor inline to the servo signal lines. Hitec has a mod to the servos but you have to send them in.

Tony
tkilwein is offline Find More Posts by tkilwein
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 09:40 PM
Jaybird is offline
Find More Posts by Jaybird
Registered User
Jaybird's Avatar
Jay Florida
Joined Jan 2006
3,662 Posts
Re: Servo extension and Y-harness question

I run Y's on my wings but I would mix the elevators so you can fine tune them. You will love that plane!
Jaybird is offline Find More Posts by Jaybird
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 03:05 AM
rtn9105 is offline
Find More Posts by rtn9105
Flyin' Around
rtn9105's Avatar
central MN
Joined Jan 2006
38 Posts
Re: Servo extension and Y-harness question

Thanks for all the input guys. I think I'm going to run dual receivers with the I4C isolator, that way I can still get redundancy on the batteries that power the servos plus I won't need to do any extra mixes other than the flaperon mix for the ailerons or use any Y-harnesses. Now that's a Win Win

Jaybird, I see you have this plane as your avitar. Is there anything I should know about it before the maiden? Any bad habbits?
rtn9105 is offline Find More Posts by rtn9105
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools