Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Technology > Onboard Electronics
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2011, 04:48 PM   #1
Alkaline
Uber Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United States, LA, Baton Rouge
Posts: 833
Default Kurt @ Fromeco is the man and Wolverine Switches should be standard

I would just like to say that after owning 8 wolverine switches and 3 badger switches, these things should be standard in any 35% or larger plane.

Its one of the few switches that gets it right:

16 Guage Wire, easily handling 20 amps constantly for hours if need be.

Dual Switches and Battery Share Built in for protection when a battery fails / shorts

Nice design and looks slick, but would like to see more face plates

Finally Support is spectacular, Kurt answers emails with 24 hours, even on weekends / Thanks giving break holiday even...

I have swapped all my HD Jr / MPI switches in favor of the wolverines, I have them in all my planes except the few in which I have 13/14 servos in which case I'm using custom 50 amp switches (May be a Grizzily Switch 50 amp switch in the future?)

Some people will frown at the cost, but its really not any more than 2 $30.00 switches form JR or MPI, but these have smart features that the regular switches don't.

Bottom Line: Get the Wolverines, they are worth it
Alkaline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:06 PM   #2
jamesrxx951
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
jamesrxx951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 7,959
Default

amen!
__________________
Extreme Flight 60" Edge E-flight 60
Hanger 9 Extra 300 DA120 re2's
Hanger 9 3.1M Sukhoi DA 170 re3's
Team JR NCFR IMAC
http://tntlandinggear.com/ http://www.rcaircraftcomponents.com/
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:09 PM   #3
ericb
Team WTFO
 
ericb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA, SD, Worthing
Posts: 8,799
Default

+1,000,000 The best switches out there.
ericb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:15 PM   #4
JoeAirPort
Obsessed
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 50
Posts: 7,226
Default

You are correct sir. I love their switches. Really nobody does a switch better.
JoeAirPort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:41 PM   #5
STLAV8R
Team Twisted!
 
STLAV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: STL
Posts: 5,315
Default

They sure are awesome switches. I use them in my 50cc, 100cc and 150cc planes.

The Badger switches for the ignition are great too.

And Mike is a really cool dude as well.
__________________
STLAV8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 06:09 PM   #6
danielph
Fly Extreme!
 
danielph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: High Prairie, Washington
Posts: 4,090
Default

Kurt and Mike at Fromeco are awesome guys with outstanding products! I've used their equipment since my first 50cc and wouldn't fly for anyone else. Their service is legendary and they have bent over backwards for me and many others.
Keep up the good work guys!
__________________
Daniel Holman - Horizon Hobby - Extreme Flight RC - Desert Aircraft - Fromeco Scale Avionics - Vess Propellers - B&E Graphics - DW Foamies - RC Sport Flyer Magazine
- May God bless you all!
danielph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:24 PM   #7
bemeson
Uber Contributor
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 942
Default

I just got my first set of Fromeco batteries, wolverine switch, and sahara regulators last month. I think the best thing is that I spoke to Mike on the phone and told him what I was building. Mike gave me some direction, quoted me a price for all the goodies, and then they arrived. Mike and Kurt built the items just how we discussed, which made installation a breeze. I think it was the easiest electronics install I have done. If the damn snow and cold would stop, I would be able to fly my plane. Hats off to the Fromeco guys. I have said this before....if all vendors in our hobby took care of their customers like the Fromeco guys do, we would have nothing to bitch about on the forums.....hahahaha

Merry Xmas

Brian
bemeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:45 PM   #8
TimSmith
Account Closed
 
TimSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,902
Default

All my plane s have wolverine switchs and redundant power from fromeco batteries .I ll never buy anything else for my planes.They work great and are trust worthy.
__________________
Non affilated ,INDEPENDANT .free speaking individual..
Mintor, Desert Aircraft, smartfly and fromeco Fox fuel jug caps,simply the best stuff keep me in the sky.
TimSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:47 PM   #9
Skippykix
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Skippykix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oakland, TN
Posts: 354
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by TimSmith
View Post
All my plane s have wolverine switchs and redundant power from fromeco batteries .I ll never buy anything else for my planes.They work great and are trust worthy.
Ditto, what he said!!
__________________
30 Years US Navy Master Chief Petty Officer "Retired"
Skippykix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 08:39 PM   #10
Tlisotta
Uber Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 583
Default

Question. If using a wolverine switch with 2 lions - do you need two regulators or can you get away with one regulator. I noticed in one of their diagrams - it shows two batts with one regulator.
Tlisotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 08:41 PM   #11
jamesrxx951
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
jamesrxx951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 7,959
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Tlisotta
View Post
Question. If using a wolverine switch with 2 lions - do you need two regulators or can you get away with one regulator. I noticed in one of their diagrams - it shows two batts with one regulator.

you would either have 2 power leads going into the reg or the switch have 1 power out.
__________________
Extreme Flight 60" Edge E-flight 60
Hanger 9 Extra 300 DA120 re2's
Hanger 9 3.1M Sukhoi DA 170 re3's
Team JR NCFR IMAC
http://tntlandinggear.com/ http://www.rcaircraftcomponents.com/
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 08:54 PM   #12
TimSmith
Account Closed
 
TimSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,902
Default

You can eliminate them and can get around using a regulator all together if you want too.Either by running a123 batts or if you have high voltage servos and ditch the regulators all completly and run fromeco lipos.
If you want a reg try the smart fly turbo reg it s set up for redundant battery usage.
Or if price is not a problem get two of the fromeco sahara regz.
__________________
Non affilated ,INDEPENDANT .free speaking individual..
Mintor, Desert Aircraft, smartfly and fromeco Fox fuel jug caps,simply the best stuff keep me in the sky.

Last edited by TimSmith; 12-09-2011 at 09:00 PM.
TimSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:02 PM   #13
Tlisotta
Uber Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 583
Default

Little confused. Could you wire 2 lions connected to the wolverine then have the regulator connected (like the Sahara) to the wolverine. The sahara has 2 connections coming out that would then go into the receiver. Right? Or am I smoking something....
Tlisotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:04 PM   #14
Tlisotta
Uber Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 583
Default

Tim - just saw your post. Sounds like if you don't have high voltage servos and running lions you need 2 regs. Thx
Tlisotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:08 PM   #15
TimSmith
Account Closed
 
TimSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,902
Default

It would be like dis ..Batteries >wolverine>sahar>reciver. But you would need dual.leads the whole way to separate and isolate the two systems. OR like this I have a pitts set up using a y harness from the wolvrine into the sahara and then to an ar7000rx. ,It works fine, its redunant to a degree ,at least as far as battery power is concerned.
I forgot what rx are you plugging this into?
__________________
Non affilated ,INDEPENDANT .free speaking individual..
Mintor, Desert Aircraft, smartfly and fromeco Fox fuel jug caps,simply the best stuff keep me in the sky.
TimSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.