logo
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2011, 04:48 PM
Alkaline is offline
Find More Posts by Alkaline
Registered User
United States, LA, Baton Rouge
Joined Mar 2010
945 Posts
Discussion
Kurt @ Fromeco is the man and Wolverine Switches should be standard

I would just like to say that after owning 8 wolverine switches and 3 badger switches, these things should be standard in any 35% or larger plane.

Its one of the few switches that gets it right:

16 Guage Wire, easily handling 20 amps constantly for hours if need be.

Dual Switches and Battery Share Built in for protection when a battery fails / shorts

Nice design and looks slick, but would like to see more face plates

Finally Support is spectacular, Kurt answers emails with 24 hours, even on weekends / Thanks giving break holiday even...

I have swapped all my HD Jr / MPI switches in favor of the wolverines, I have them in all my planes except the few in which I have 13/14 servos in which case I'm using custom 50 amp switches (May be a Grizzily Switch 50 amp switch in the future?)

Some people will frown at the cost, but its really not any more than 2 $30.00 switches form JR or MPI, but these have smart features that the regular switches don't.

Bottom Line: Get the Wolverines, they are worth it
Alkaline is offline Find More Posts by Alkaline
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:06 PM
jamesrxx951 is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Proud memeber of Team JR
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
8,417 Posts
amen!
jamesrxx951 is offline Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:09 PM
ericb is offline
Find More Posts by ericb
Team WTFO
ericb's Avatar
USA, SD, Worthing
Joined Mar 2006
9,062 Posts
+1,000,000 The best switches out there.
ericb is offline Find More Posts by ericb
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:15 PM
JoeAirPort is offline
Find More Posts by JoeAirPort
RC Enthusiast
JoeAirPort's Avatar
Milwaukee, WI
Joined Jan 2006
8,127 Posts
You are correct sir. I love their switches. Really nobody does a switch better.
JoeAirPort is offline Find More Posts by JoeAirPort
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:41 PM
STLAV8R is offline
Find More Posts by STLAV8R
Team Twisted!
STLAV8R's Avatar
STL
Joined Mar 2006
5,457 Posts
They sure are awesome switches. I use them in my 50cc, 100cc and 150cc planes.

The Badger switches for the ignition are great too.

And Mike is a really cool dude as well.
STLAV8R is offline Find More Posts by STLAV8R
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 06:09 PM
danielph is offline
Find More Posts by danielph
Fly Extreme!
danielph's Avatar
High Prairie, Washington
Joined Jul 2007
4,359 Posts
Kurt and Mike at Fromeco are awesome guys with outstanding products! I've used their equipment since my first 50cc and wouldn't fly for anyone else. Their service is legendary and they have bent over backwards for me and many others.
Keep up the good work guys!
danielph is offline Find More Posts by danielph
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:24 PM
bemeson is offline
Find More Posts by bemeson
Registered User
bemeson's Avatar
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Dec 2007
1,074 Posts
I just got my first set of Fromeco batteries, wolverine switch, and sahara regulators last month. I think the best thing is that I spoke to Mike on the phone and told him what I was building. Mike gave me some direction, quoted me a price for all the goodies, and then they arrived. Mike and Kurt built the items just how we discussed, which made installation a breeze. I think it was the easiest electronics install I have done. If the damn snow and cold would stop, I would be able to fly my plane. Hats off to the Fromeco guys. I have said this before....if all vendors in our hobby took care of their customers like the Fromeco guys do, we would have nothing to bitch about on the forums.....hahahaha

Merry Xmas

Brian
bemeson is offline Find More Posts by bemeson
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:45 PM
TimSmith is offline
Find More Posts by TimSmith
Account Closed
TimSmith's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
1,902 Posts
All my plane s have wolverine switchs and redundant power from fromeco batteries .I ll never buy anything else for my planes.They work great and are trust worthy.
TimSmith is offline Find More Posts by TimSmith
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:47 PM
Skippykix is offline
Find More Posts by Skippykix
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
Skippykix's Avatar
United States, TN, Oakland
Joined Mar 2007
365 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimSmith View Post
All my plane s have wolverine switchs and redundant power from fromeco batteries .I ll never buy anything else for my planes.They work great and are trust worthy.
Ditto, what he said!!
Skippykix is offline Find More Posts by Skippykix
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 08:39 PM
Tlisotta is offline
Find More Posts by Tlisotta
Uber Contributor
Joined Apr 2011
583 Posts
Question. If using a wolverine switch with 2 lions - do you need two regulators or can you get away with one regulator. I noticed in one of their diagrams - it shows two batts with one regulator.
Tlisotta is offline Find More Posts by Tlisotta
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 08:41 PM
jamesrxx951 is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Proud memeber of Team JR
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
8,417 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tlisotta View Post
Question. If using a wolverine switch with 2 lions - do you need two regulators or can you get away with one regulator. I noticed in one of their diagrams - it shows two batts with one regulator.

you would either have 2 power leads going into the reg or the switch have 1 power out.
jamesrxx951 is offline Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 08:54 PM
TimSmith is offline
Find More Posts by TimSmith
Account Closed
TimSmith's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
1,902 Posts
You can eliminate them and can get around using a regulator all together if you want too.Either by running a123 batts or if you have high voltage servos and ditch the regulators all completly and run fromeco lipos.
If you want a reg try the smart fly turbo reg it s set up for redundant battery usage.
Or if price is not a problem get two of the fromeco sahara regz.
TimSmith is offline Find More Posts by TimSmith
Last edited by TimSmith; 12-09-2011 at 09:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:02 PM
Tlisotta is offline
Find More Posts by Tlisotta
Uber Contributor
Joined Apr 2011
583 Posts
Little confused. Could you wire 2 lions connected to the wolverine then have the regulator connected (like the Sahara) to the wolverine. The sahara has 2 connections coming out that would then go into the receiver. Right? Or am I smoking something....
Tlisotta is offline Find More Posts by Tlisotta
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:04 PM
Tlisotta is offline
Find More Posts by Tlisotta
Uber Contributor
Joined Apr 2011
583 Posts
Tim - just saw your post. Sounds like if you don't have high voltage servos and running lions you need 2 regs. Thx
Tlisotta is offline Find More Posts by Tlisotta
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:08 PM
TimSmith is offline
Find More Posts by TimSmith
Account Closed
TimSmith's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
1,902 Posts
It would be like dis ..Batteries >wolverine>sahar>reciver. But you would need dual.leads the whole way to separate and isolate the two systems. OR like this I have a pitts set up using a y harness from the wolvrine into the sahara and then to an ar7000rx. ,It works fine, its redunant to a degree ,at least as far as battery power is concerned.
I forgot what rx are you plugging this into?
TimSmith is offline Find More Posts by TimSmith
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools