Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Technology > Onboard Electronics
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2012, 07:43 PM   #16
Jaybird
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Jaybird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jay Florida
Age: 40
Posts: 3,657
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by midwestpilot
View Post
Ah ah ah.... Little people ;-)
Thats right, Gotta be PC these days

Quote: Originally Posted by jaggededge
View Post
Not lit atm but.... LED's (left of switches).

The LED's are on the board and just shine through the charge jack/switch holes.
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 07:43 PM   #17
plane
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
plane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,415
Default

The Badger/Wolverine switches LED's are bright. But you have to view them sort of straight on. But the best part of those switches is there is NO current loss across them what so ever.

The only negative is they're hard to mount. If you don't need led's go with the Smartfly switch.
plane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:31 PM   #18
danielph
Fly Extreme!
 
danielph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: High Prairie, Washington
Posts: 4,091
Default

Fromeco all the way! Excellent products and even better customer service if that's possible!
__________________
Daniel Holman - Horizon Hobby - Extreme Flight RC - Desert Aircraft - Fromeco Scale Avionics - Vess Propellers - B&E Graphics - DW Foamies - RC Sport Flyer Magazine
- May God bless you all!
danielph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 09:08 PM   #19
yak101
Doo It! Doo It!
 
yak101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States, Mt, Missoula
Posts: 174
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by danielph
View Post
Fromeco all the way! Excellent products and even better customer service if that's possible!
True, true, cant get any better. Kurt has been amazing with answering all my e-mails and questions. Great switches no doubt about it. Just my opinion.
__________________
Fromeco, Futaba
yak101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 07:32 AM   #20
Ohio AV8TOR
Just Do It
 
Ohio AV8TOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States, TX, Benbrook
Posts: 1,225
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by jaggededge
View Post
Not lit atm but.... LED's (left of switches).



This reply is misleading. Left of the switches are two machined recessed circles (these holes do nothing and would have been a great place for the LED's) - these are not the LED's. The LED's are mounted on the board and are recessed about 3/8" below the mounting plate and shine through the charging access holes machined on the mounting plate to the "right of the switch's".

Last edited by Ohio AV8TOR; 03-24-2012 at 07:50 AM.
Ohio AV8TOR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 06:43 PM   #21
jlloyd1995
Extreme Flight, DA, JR. (:
 
jlloyd1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Molalla, OR.
Posts: 1,182
Default

Fromeco! It's been taking them some time now, but they're eventually supposed to be coming out with a revised version of the Kodiak switch but they'll be much more compact. The Kodiacs tell you how many mah you've used from your flight packs. Great for A123's.
__________________
Justin Lloyd
Matthew 6:33
God Bless!
jlloyd1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 09:55 AM   #22
Robotech
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Posts: 2,993
Default

Attached Thumbnails
  • Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010540.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	454992 49.5 KB · Views: 196

Robotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 12:07 PM   #23
Scott Gerber
Closed Account
 
Scott Gerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 56
Posts: 3,108
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by jaggededge
View Post
+1. Badger and a Wolverine.
+2

Scott
Scott Gerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 03:44 PM   #24
Ohio AV8TOR
Just Do It
 
Ohio AV8TOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States, TX, Benbrook
Posts: 1,225
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by plane
View Post
The Badger/Wolverine switches LED's are bright. But you have to view them sort of straight on. But the best part of those switches is there is NO current loss across them what so ever.

The only negative is they're hard to mount. If you don't need led's go with the Smartfly switch.
The Wolverine switch is not hard to mount if you help yourself out first. Spot glue the 4 aluminum standoffs to the board before trying to install. Mount the plate to the plane first with two outer plate screws, then the board goes right in with no fiddling with standoffs.
Ohio AV8TOR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:31 PM   #25
FLYING_HIGH
Gettin' Lower!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 86
Default

Left of the switches are two machined recessed circles (these holes do nothing and would have been a great place for the LED's) - these are not the LED's. The LED's are mounted on the board and are recessed about 3/8" below the mounting plate and shine through the charging access holes machined on the mounting plate to the "right of the switch's".




this looks like it is shinning in the recessed holes and not the charge jack.
so which one would you be getting if you ordered one today?
FLYING_HIGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 08:28 PM   #26
STLAV8R
Team Twisted!
 
STLAV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: STL
Posts: 5,344
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by danielph
View Post
Fromeco all the way! Excellent products and even better customer service if that's possible!
+1
__________________
STLAV8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 01:26 PM   #27
jaggededge
Has a lot to learn.
 
jaggededge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Age: 39
Posts: 919
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Ohio AV8TOR
View Post
This reply is misleading. Left of the switches are two machined recessed circles (these holes do nothing and would have been a great place for the LED's) - these are not the LED's. The LED's are mounted on the board and are recessed about 3/8" below the mounting plate and shine through the charging access holes machined on the mounting plate to the "right of the switch's".
Totally right, sorry for misleading anyone.
It's been a while since I powered up my MX-2.

Apologies.
__________________
jaggededge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 08:41 AM   #28
Vital-Rc
Free Agent
 
Vital-Rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States, KY, Glasgow
Posts: 1,221
Default

I have probably 10 switches with red LED from old stock I will let go for $2.50 plus shipping. Never had any issues with them, I just don't have time to mess with selling accessories. Pm if interested.
Vital-Rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:51 AM   #29
Jonathan Ott
Will fly for food.
 
Jonathan Ott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States, TX, Killeen
Posts: 1,033
Default

A super simple way to do a switch on indicator light is just get an LED of your color choice from Radio shack, solder it to an old servo lead and plug it into a open slot on the receiver, or use a "Y" off another channel slot. Mount the LED with a snap in pannel mount, or get creative and put it on your instrument pannel. Turn on the switch and the light goes on, turn it off, and the light goes off. $2 invested and 10 minutes of time.

Jon
__________________
Jonathan Ott
MAJ, LG, USAR
AMA 107225 - IMAC 2741 - ProBro #66
Jonathan Ott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 04:44 PM   #30
dumbthumbs53
Doo It! Doo It!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States, OR, Albany
Posts: 175
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Jonathan Ott
View Post
A super simple way to do a switch on indicator light is just get an LED of your color choice from Radio shack, solder it to an old servo lead and plug it into a open slot on the receiver, or use a "Y" off another channel slot. Mount the LED with a snap in pannel mount, or get creative and put it on your instrument pannel. Turn on the switch and the light goes on, turn it off, and the light goes off. $2 invested and 10 minutes of time.

Jon

So I can just wire an LED into a servo lead with no resistors? I was under the impression that an LED wired straight to a battery would cook the LED.
dumbthumbs53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.