logo
Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 10:39 AM
Hillbilly Hucker
rcheliman's Avatar
United States, KY, Grayson
Joined Jan 2006
482 Posts
Discussion
JR 1221X Compatiable?

Is the JR 1221X Rx compatiable with the Smart-Fly Power Expander EQ-10?
rcheliman is offline Find More Posts by rcheliman
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:43 AM
RUTNBUC
wylieruneyjr's Avatar
United States, SC, McClellanville
Joined Sep 2008
2,602 Posts

Yes it is, However never insert any EQ10 leads into batt or bind ports on rx ,NEVER, read the directions carefully ! Two leads on the EQ10 supply power to the rx bus via the servo ports only, usaually channels 1 & 10, but any two channels will work. RutnBuc
wylieruneyjr is offline Find More Posts by wylieruneyjr
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:12 PM
Multi Platform Pilot
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
Jacksonville Florida
Joined Dec 2007
6,369 Posts

I can see the bind port, why the battery port? That doesn't make any sense.
BarracudaHockey is online now Find More Posts by BarracudaHockey
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:15 PM
You can't fix STUPID
vmceachern's Avatar
Texas City, Tx
Joined Dec 2008
4,407 Posts

It creates a back feed situation. Power port not isolated from other outputs.

That's how I understand it.
vmceachern is offline Find More Posts by vmceachern
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:26 PM
Multi Platform Pilot
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
Jacksonville Florida
Joined Dec 2007
6,369 Posts

The power bus is common across all servo ports, the bind port, and the battery port.

The only real difference is each port has a signal line that goes to the decoder to tell that channel's servo where to go. On the bind port that signal line, when shorted to ground, puts the reciever in bind mode. I've seen a couple of BEC's that would put enough bias on the signal line on the bind port to throw the RX into bind mode. Other than that, there's no difference in the power bus.
BarracudaHockey is online now Find More Posts by BarracudaHockey
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:27 AM
Super Contributor
Phoenix, AZ
Joined Sep 2006
399 Posts

We just make this a general rule. Battery ports tend to carry special functions and we do not want to interfere with any special function. Since we have a pulldown resistor on all our receiver connections this can cause the receiver to unbind if plugged into the bind port. Also, if you plug any of the receiver leads into anything other than a servo port you loose a channel of the Eq10. Since you are using a 12-channel receiver I would imagine you want to use all 10 channels of the Eq10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
I can see the bind port, why the battery port? That doesn't make any sense.
rrritchey is offline Find More Posts by rrritchey
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:37 AM
Multi Platform Pilot
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
Jacksonville Florida
Joined Dec 2007
6,369 Posts

As I suspected. Thanks for the clarification.

I was helping someone at an event and he bought an EQ10 from Chief to solve his issue. I had the EQ10 figured out in about 10 minutes and the problem that we spent 3 hours messing with at the field solved in short order.

Good stuff.
BarracudaHockey is online now Find More Posts by BarracudaHockey
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:44 AM
You can't fix STUPID
vmceachern's Avatar
Texas City, Tx
Joined Dec 2008
4,407 Posts

Thanks, now I have a new understanding!
vmceachern is offline Find More Posts by vmceachern
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools