Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Vendors > Smart-Fly Support
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 09:39 AM   #1
rcheliman
Hillbilly Hucker
 
rcheliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States, KY, Grayson
Age: 55
Posts: 465
Default JR 1221X Compatiable?

Is the JR 1221X Rx compatiable with the Smart-Fly Power Expander EQ-10?
__________________
Go Lower, Lower, "Not that Low".
Hempel 50% Edge 540, 3W-275cs
H-9 46% Ultimate, DA-150
EF 125" Extra 300, DA-200L
QQ Pitts Python, DA-120
rcheliman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 10:43 AM   #2
wylieruneyjr
RUTNBUC
 
wylieruneyjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: McClellanville South Carolina
Age: 51
Posts: 2,549
Default

Yes it is, However never insert any EQ10 leads into batt or bind ports on rx ,NEVER, read the directions carefully ! Two leads on the EQ10 supply power to the rx bus via the servo ports only, usaually channels 1 & 10, but any two channels will work. RutnBuc
__________________
Hear me Now, Believe me Later !
wylieruneyjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
BarracudaHockey
Multi Platform Pilot
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Age: 48
Posts: 5,918
Send a message via AIM to BarracudaHockey
Default

I can see the bind port, why the battery port? That doesn't make any sense.
__________________
3D Bowl March 20-22 2015 at Jax RC!
Andy AMA 77227
http://www.jaxrc.com
Florida Freestyle Aerobatics Association
Fly RC Magazine
BarracudaHockey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:15 PM   #4
vmceachern
You can't fix STUPID
 
vmceachern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Texas City, Tx
Age: 51
Posts: 4,147
Default

It creates a back feed situation. Power port not isolated from other outputs.

That's how I understand it.
vmceachern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:26 PM   #5
BarracudaHockey
Multi Platform Pilot
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Age: 48
Posts: 5,918
Send a message via AIM to BarracudaHockey
Default

The power bus is common across all servo ports, the bind port, and the battery port.

The only real difference is each port has a signal line that goes to the decoder to tell that channel's servo where to go. On the bind port that signal line, when shorted to ground, puts the reciever in bind mode. I've seen a couple of BEC's that would put enough bias on the signal line on the bind port to throw the RX into bind mode. Other than that, there's no difference in the power bus.
__________________
3D Bowl March 20-22 2015 at Jax RC!
Andy AMA 77227
http://www.jaxrc.com
Florida Freestyle Aerobatics Association
Fly RC Magazine
BarracudaHockey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:27 AM   #6
rrritchey
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 396
Default

We just make this a general rule. Battery ports tend to carry special functions and we do not want to interfere with any special function. Since we have a pulldown resistor on all our receiver connections this can cause the receiver to unbind if plugged into the bind port. Also, if you plug any of the receiver leads into anything other than a servo port you loose a channel of the Eq10. Since you are using a 12-channel receiver I would imagine you want to use all 10 channels of the Eq10?

Quote: Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey
View Post
I can see the bind port, why the battery port? That doesn't make any sense.
__________________
Owner, Smart-Fly
rrritchey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:37 AM   #7
BarracudaHockey
Multi Platform Pilot
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Age: 48
Posts: 5,918
Send a message via AIM to BarracudaHockey
Default

As I suspected. Thanks for the clarification.

I was helping someone at an event and he bought an EQ10 from Chief to solve his issue. I had the EQ10 figured out in about 10 minutes and the problem that we spent 3 hours messing with at the field solved in short order.

Good stuff.
__________________
3D Bowl March 20-22 2015 at Jax RC!
Andy AMA 77227
http://www.jaxrc.com
Florida Freestyle Aerobatics Association
Fly RC Magazine
BarracudaHockey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:44 AM   #8
vmceachern
You can't fix STUPID
 
vmceachern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Texas City, Tx
Age: 51
Posts: 4,147
Default

Thanks, now I have a new understanding!
vmceachern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.