logo
Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2013, 08:14 PM
gwjwbw is offline
Find More Posts by gwjwbw
Registered User
United States, PA, Salunga-Landisville
Joined Jul 2012
14 Posts
Help!
3w 60cc

I got this plane with everything in it. It a Ohio rc kit and the plane is a Super Fli.
This plane been sitting in a barn for 4 years, no heat or A/C, so it been thru some bad weather.
Now, it wont start, have good compression, battery is new, new spark plug,carb is new also.
I really want to get this engine going.
Can anyone help me out what the next step?
Thank you, Gerard
gwjwbw is offline Find More Posts by gwjwbw
Last edited by gwjwbw; 08-22-2013 at 08:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:34 PM
vmceachern is offline
Find More Posts by vmceachern
You can't fix STUPID
vmceachern's Avatar
Texas City, Tx
Joined Dec 2008
4,506 Posts
Check for spark. That is one great motor
vmceachern is offline Find More Posts by vmceachern
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:48 PM
Mikeq is offline
Find More Posts by Mikeq
Darned Spoilsport
United States, AR, Maumelle
Joined Oct 2011
2,253 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmceachern View Post
Check for spark. That is one great motor
+1...might be an ignition problem. If you are sure you are getting fuel then check to ensure you are getting a spark.
Mikeq is offline Find More Posts by Mikeq
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:31 PM
WangoTango is offline
Find More Posts by WangoTango
Registered User
WangoTango's Avatar
Conroe, Texas U.S.A.
Joined Feb 2007
4,131 Posts
First thing to check would be the spark. 4.8 volt ignition or a 4.8-6.0 volt ignition. If its solid gray case and 4.8 volt unit, you may need another one. (old unit) On to the other immediate thing to check: If you're not getting any fuel draw as you turn over the motor with your choke on, open up the carb and check to make sure the screen is clean and the fuel metering pin is not stuck with old congealed fuel. Clean out the carb really well with a fine piece of music wire. (Clean all obstructions with the wire and blow out
with compressed air.) I've got one of these and it's a real powerhouse. Good luck with the make ready...
We're all listening for that 3W bark real soon!
WT
WangoTango is offline Find More Posts by WangoTango
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:35 PM
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline
Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Flying Giant Scale is News.
Bunky F. Knuckle's Avatar
TFC
Joined Jan 2006
7,304 Posts
A couple of things to expand on here.................

Battery- If the 3W 60 has a "old style" ignition, uses a pick up coil to generate the spark to the module, the pick up will be a bit larger and will be black in color. It will have 3 wires coming from the pick up. If anyone remembers what the Futaba "G" series plug looks like, it will be the "servo" end on the pick up. The ignition system itself will either have a blue dot on the top label or it won't have. If it has a blue dot, then the highest voltage pack you can use on it is a 6V battery. A123, LiFE, or 6V NiMH/NiCads will work excellent. If it does not, then a 4.8V pack is all you can use. If you only have Lithium Ion/Poly packs, you can most certainly use a regulator, drop down diode in line to the ignition unit. There is no ill effect if using a regulator, unless the ignition has been changed out to the new IIS ignitions. It is a 4 wire system, and then any battery under the sun up to 8.4 V will work fine. If you are not getting spark, 99% chance that it is a plug cap.

It is quite possible that the carb is not drawing fuel. Possibly a pinched fuel line, collapsed, etc. Be 100% sure that fuel is getting to the carb. It is also possible that the carb is all cluttered up with crud and junk, and it just needs to be cleaned up and flushed.
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:52 PM
49dimes is offline
Find More Posts by 49dimes
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
Joined Dec 2010
2,062 Posts
All good advice here. You said your carb is new. Use the "Fore Play" method to make shure that new carb is good and wet inside. Just need to loosen the screw holding the pump side plate down and gently force gas into carb. The Jedi describes this in other threads. I had the 75 rear carb and it had sat for some time in less than ideal environment and I had to unstick the reed pedals.
49dimes is offline Find More Posts by 49dimes
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:09 PM
gwjwbw is offline
Find More Posts by gwjwbw
Registered User
United States, PA, Salunga-Landisville
Joined Jul 2012
14 Posts
bad?

I'm think now that the Ignition System maybe not be any good, because it sat in the barn for 4 years. I'm looking at rc extreme power, they have them cheaper then what 3w sell em for.
What you guys think?
Thank, Gerard
gwjwbw is offline Find More Posts by gwjwbw
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:13 PM
sweetpea is offline
Find More Posts by sweetpea
If you can't HUCK it BLING IT!
sweetpea's Avatar
United States, OH, Lebanon
Joined Jan 2006
10,693 Posts
Any Rcexcel or CH ignition is better than replacing with a 3w ignition due to price. You can also replace with DA ignition but its pricey like a 3W.

don't waste your money on a new ignition until you are 100% sure that is the culprit.
sweetpea is offline Find More Posts by sweetpea
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 10:03 PM
Captinjohn 2 is offline
Find More Posts by Captinjohn 2
Suspended Account
Joined Apr 2011
1,054 Posts
Also check every connection on the ignition system. If it sat for 4 years, there may be corrosion on just one of the pins in the connectors. Does it pull fuel up the fuel line when you prop the engine over? Could be something simple!! Capt,n
Captinjohn 2 is offline Find More Posts by Captinjohn 2
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 10:27 PM
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline
Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Flying Giant Scale is News.
Bunky F. Knuckle's Avatar
TFC
Joined Jan 2006
7,304 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwjwbw View Post
I'm think now that the Ignition System maybe not be any good, because it sat in the barn for 4 years. I'm looking at rc extreme power, they have them cheaper then what 3w sell em for.
What you guys think?
Thank, Gerard

Seat and reseat any plug in you have on the ignition, spark plugs included. It could be possible that there is a tad bit of corrosion on the plug ins. If you have to, inspect them under a magnafying glass.

Still, all good advice from the above.
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 11:16 PM
aussiesteve is offline
Find More Posts by aussiesteve
Clothed Account
aussiesteve's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Sale
Joined May 2008
2,124 Posts
All the advice above about checking the ignition is spot on. As is the question about whether or not the carb pulls fuel. (Does it?)

If it turns out your ignition is u/s - I strongly advise that you replace it with a unit from rcextremepower. I have converted a few 3Ws of various displacements over the years with those units and they definitely are the way to go.
aussiesteve is offline Find More Posts by aussiesteve
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:13 PM
gwjwbw is offline
Find More Posts by gwjwbw
Registered User
United States, PA, Salunga-Landisville
Joined Jul 2012
14 Posts
got it

After replacing the ing from my new 3w 75cc, I tell you what!. It scare the crap out of me, the engine started and ready for take off,lol
Now I know what the problem along. For now, I just use the new one from the 75 in the 60.
I cant figure out which new ing I need from RC extream, 1 or 2 magnet prop hub, anyone eles know?
Thank guys, you been great!
Gerard
gwjwbw is offline Find More Posts by gwjwbw
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:18 PM
RCEXTREMEPOWER is offline
Find More Posts by RCEXTREMEPOWER
Registered User
RCEXTREMEPOWER's Avatar
United States, GA, Auburn
Joined Jan 2008
1,844 Posts
Simple, If the prop hub has two magnets you need the two magnet ignition.

If your prop hub has one magnet you need the one magnet ignition.

Milton
RCEXTREMEPOWER is offline Find More Posts by RCEXTREMEPOWER
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:03 PM
gwjwbw is offline
Find More Posts by gwjwbw
Registered User
United States, PA, Salunga-Landisville
Joined Jul 2012
14 Posts
What the oil and gas mix I need for the 60cc?
Thanks you
gwjwbw is offline Find More Posts by gwjwbw
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:40 PM
antique is offline
Find More Posts by antique
older than dirt,
antique's Avatar
United States, AZ, Williams
Joined Aug 2007
1,823 Posts
Pretend it's your weedeater...Same gas and oil...PERIOD...
antique is offline Find More Posts by antique
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools