Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Giant Scale Planes > General Discussion
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2013, 07:06 PM   #1
boggintuff
Sigh...really?
 
boggintuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States, MI, Lansing
Age: 37
Posts: 2,344
Default Throttle servo torque...

Throttle servo torque...

I normally run with way my torque than I need on everything, but I was sitting here pricing out new servos and got to wondering...

What do you guys consider enough torque to run a throttle?

I usually go with a coreless TG servo with 160oz ish of torque with a speed of .08 or less and with excellent centering
__________________
Pilot-RC / B&E Graphix
Savox / 4titude / Aztech Aeromodels / Smart-Fly
Team Chaos
boggintuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 10:13 PM   #2
Glyder
Uber Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 871
Default

I have a bunch of 7955's so I use em. Overkill but what the heck use em if ya got em. Its on HV to boot on a 30cc Yak.
__________________
"Dont tell me what you can do for me.......just give me some money"
Glyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 10:31 PM   #3
orthobird
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
orthobird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States, LA, Shreveport
Age: 43
Posts: 3,181
Default

yep. i made mistake of using a HV servo with 88 ou/in (JR DS821) for the throttle
on a 60 cc airplane, and after 10 flights, servo got stuck and locked. i cut the engine and landed her, no problem. so i went with a HV servo that was >400 ou/in, have over 50 more flights with this, never a problem. also, on my 40% planes, i use this BLS 157 servo for throttle. some say overkill, but with this, never have to worry of it failing. remember, the throttle servo also gets a lot of abuse, not only from the "hovering" up/down movements,, but also from the vibrations that are sent to it. so if i were you, go for it, use the high torque servo on the throttle.
orthobird is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:03 AM   #4
KoleDeRacer
Limitless Aero
 
KoleDeRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tyler, tx
Posts: 1,627
Default

Usually something with at least metal gears and around 200oz and fast. Like the HSB-9465SH
__________________
GP Engines Sales and Service
MVVS Engines Sales and Service

www.limitlessaero.com
KoleDeRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 07:08 AM   #5
boggintuff
Sigh...really?
 
boggintuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States, MI, Lansing
Age: 37
Posts: 2,344
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by KoleDeRacer
View Post
Usually something with at least metal gears and around 200oz and fast. Like the HSB-9465SH
You couldnt pay me to put that servo in my plane....
__________________
Pilot-RC / B&E Graphix
Savox / 4titude / Aztech Aeromodels / Smart-Fly
Team Chaos
boggintuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 07:19 AM   #6
BRBR
A contributor of sorts
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,937
Default

a 42 oz output servo has more than enough power
BRBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 07:50 AM   #7
FGNewbie
Uber Contributor
 
FGNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 708
Default

anything in the 20 -30 dollar range.
FGNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:25 AM   #8
KoleDeRacer
Limitless Aero
 
KoleDeRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tyler, tx
Posts: 1,627
Default

other good one i the savox 1258tg
__________________
GP Engines Sales and Service
MVVS Engines Sales and Service

www.limitlessaero.com
KoleDeRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 10:43 AM   #9
wi53072
Doo It! Doo It!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 100
Default

Guys,

What are your thoughts for a 50cc throttle servo using a 6 volt system? I would like to keep the servo small if possible? Let me know your thoughts.
wi53072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 10:45 AM   #10
funboy
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
funboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Denver
Age: 38
Posts: 2,296
Default

I've used everything from $7 standard 40oz servos up to $110 digital metal gear servos. They all work, but I've had to replace the digitals a few times over the years...
__________________
Rocky Mountain 3D Throwdown! Check out the 2014 thread!
http://www.flyinggiants.com/forums/s...=5#post2168985
Special thanks:
WWW.VITAL-RC.COM
funboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:11 AM   #11
Jaybird
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Jaybird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jay Florida
Age: 40
Posts: 3,656
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by boggintuff
View Post
Throttle servo torque...

I normally run with way my torque than I need on everything, but I was sitting here pricing out new servos and got to wondering...

What do you guys consider enough torque to run a throttle?

I usually go with a coreless TG servo with 160oz ish of torque with a speed of .08 or less and with excellent centering

I usualy run a pretty good servo on throttle. If you are not running HV a Savox 1257 is a badass servo. Really fast and accurate. I dont worry so much about the torgue, I just want a fairly fast and precise servo thats beefy enough to handle the vibrations.
__________________
Brian Hawthorne
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:17 AM   #12
boggintuff
Sigh...really?
 
boggintuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States, MI, Lansing
Age: 37
Posts: 2,344
Default

In my last 2 planes ive used the Savox 1258 which was great was just curious about the need for a $70 servo. I dont mind spending the money, but any time you can save money without sacrificing reliability and accuracy im all for it
__________________
Pilot-RC / B&E Graphix
Savox / 4titude / Aztech Aeromodels / Smart-Fly
Team Chaos
boggintuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:23 PM   #13
Jetpainter
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Jetpainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States, IL, Belleville
Age: 53
Posts: 1,225
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by orthobird
View Post
yep. i made mistake of using a HV servo with 88 ou/in (JR DS821) for the throttle
on a 60 cc airplane, and after 10 flights, servo got stuck and locked. i cut the engine and landed her, no problem. so i went with a HV servo that was >400 ou/in, have over 50 more flights with this, never a problem. also, on my 40% planes, i use this BLS 157 servo for throttle. some say overkill, but with this, never have to worry of it failing. remember, the throttle servo also gets a lot of abuse, not only from the "hovering" up/down movements,, but also from the vibrations that are sent to it. so if i were you, go for it, use the high torque servo on the throttle.
I had a JR DS821 suddenly decide one morning that idle should be about half throttle. Luckily I had it tied down well or it would have ate me. That started a new rule for me, NO cheap throttle servos. I've broken that rule once. On about the 12th flight of that airplane the servo failed at just over a fast idle just after takeoff. That started another new rule. Never fly a gasser without a kill switch.

One other thing, I am "VERY" careful about end point adjustments so i I know that is not what killed them.
Jetpainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:52 PM   #14
KoleDeRacer
Limitless Aero
 
KoleDeRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tyler, tx
Posts: 1,627
Default

6v is fine but i would always use a full size servo especially on any gas plane. It is no fun when a servo fails.
You could also use the Savox SC-0252MG there around $40 just a little slow.
__________________
GP Engines Sales and Service
MVVS Engines Sales and Service

www.limitlessaero.com

Last edited by KoleDeRacer; 09-23-2013 at 04:31 PM.
KoleDeRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 01:23 PM   #15
JoeAirPort
Obsessed
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 7,499
Default

Been using the Hitec metal gear high torque for years without one single failure. The old 5945's which have changed part numbers 2 or three times. 5985. 7985. Great for throttle. Like many say, the throttle is a control surface, and I hope my throttle servo never fails. So don't use the throttle servo as a way to save $40 on a $2-4k plane. Or even more $$ in some cases.
JoeAirPort is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.