logo
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2013, 06:06 PM
boggintuff is online now
Find More Posts by boggintuff
Sigh...really?
boggintuff's Avatar
United States, MI, Lansing
Joined Dec 2009
2,987 Posts
Discussion
Throttle servo torque...

Throttle servo torque...

I normally run with way my torque than I need on everything, but I was sitting here pricing out new servos and got to wondering...

What do you guys consider enough torque to run a throttle?

I usually go with a coreless TG servo with 160oz ish of torque with a speed of .08 or less and with excellent centering
boggintuff is online now Find More Posts by boggintuff
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:13 PM
Glyder is offline
Find More Posts by Glyder
Registered User
United States, OH, Canton
Joined Sep 2011
873 Posts
I have a bunch of 7955's so I use em. Overkill but what the heck use em if ya got em. Its on HV to boot on a 30cc Yak.
Glyder is offline Find More Posts by Glyder
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:31 PM
orthobird is online now
Find More Posts by orthobird
Insane in the carb membrane
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
4,078 Posts
yep. i made mistake of using a HV servo with 88 ou/in (JR DS821) for the throttle
on a 60 cc airplane, and after 10 flights, servo got stuck and locked. i cut the engine and landed her, no problem. so i went with a HV servo that was >400 ou/in, have over 50 more flights with this, never a problem. also, on my 40% planes, i use this BLS 157 servo for throttle. some say overkill, but with this, never have to worry of it failing. remember, the throttle servo also gets a lot of abuse, not only from the "hovering" up/down movements,, but also from the vibrations that are sent to it. so if i were you, go for it, use the high torque servo on the throttle.
orthobird is online now Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:03 PM
KoleDeRacer is offline
Find More Posts by KoleDeRacer
Limitless Aero
KoleDeRacer's Avatar
Tyler, tx
Joined Oct 2010
1,658 Posts
Usually something with at least metal gears and around 200oz and fast. Like the HSB-9465SH
KoleDeRacer is offline Find More Posts by KoleDeRacer
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:08 AM
boggintuff is online now
Find More Posts by boggintuff
Sigh...really?
boggintuff's Avatar
United States, MI, Lansing
Joined Dec 2009
2,987 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoleDeRacer View Post
Usually something with at least metal gears and around 200oz and fast. Like the HSB-9465SH
You couldnt pay me to put that servo in my plane....
boggintuff is online now Find More Posts by boggintuff
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:19 AM
BRBR is offline
Find More Posts by BRBR
A contributor of sorts
Joined Aug 2012
1,937 Posts
a 42 oz output servo has more than enough power
BRBR is offline Find More Posts by BRBR
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:50 AM
FGNewbie is offline
Find More Posts by FGNewbie
Registered User
FGNewbie's Avatar
United States, CA, Moreno Valley
Joined Mar 2010
1,244 Posts
anything in the 20 -30 dollar range.
FGNewbie is offline Find More Posts by FGNewbie
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 08:25 AM
KoleDeRacer is offline
Find More Posts by KoleDeRacer
Limitless Aero
KoleDeRacer's Avatar
Tyler, tx
Joined Oct 2010
1,658 Posts
other good one i the savox 1258tg
KoleDeRacer is offline Find More Posts by KoleDeRacer
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:43 AM
wi53072 is offline
Find More Posts by wi53072
Registered User
United States, WI, Pewaukee
Joined Jun 2011
115 Posts
Guys,

What are your thoughts for a 50cc throttle servo using a 6 volt system? I would like to keep the servo small if possible? Let me know your thoughts.
wi53072 is offline Find More Posts by wi53072
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:45 AM
funboy is offline
Find More Posts by funboy
Registered User
funboy's Avatar
Denver
Joined Aug 2006
3,198 Posts
I've used everything from $7 standard 40oz servos up to $110 digital metal gear servos. They all work, but I've had to replace the digitals a few times over the years...
funboy is offline Find More Posts by funboy
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 10:11 AM
Jaybird is offline
Find More Posts by Jaybird
Registered User
Jaybird's Avatar
Jay Florida
Joined Jan 2006
3,662 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boggintuff View Post
Throttle servo torque...

I normally run with way my torque than I need on everything, but I was sitting here pricing out new servos and got to wondering...

What do you guys consider enough torque to run a throttle?

I usually go with a coreless TG servo with 160oz ish of torque with a speed of .08 or less and with excellent centering

I usualy run a pretty good servo on throttle. If you are not running HV a Savox 1257 is a badass servo. Really fast and accurate. I dont worry so much about the torgue, I just want a fairly fast and precise servo thats beefy enough to handle the vibrations.
Jaybird is offline Find More Posts by Jaybird
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 10:17 AM
boggintuff is online now
Find More Posts by boggintuff
Sigh...really?
boggintuff's Avatar
United States, MI, Lansing
Joined Dec 2009
2,987 Posts
In my last 2 planes ive used the Savox 1258 which was great was just curious about the need for a $70 servo. I dont mind spending the money, but any time you can save money without sacrificing reliability and accuracy im all for it
boggintuff is online now Find More Posts by boggintuff
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:23 AM
Jetpainter is offline
Find More Posts by Jetpainter
Registered User
Jetpainter's Avatar
United States, IL, Belleville
Joined Nov 2011
1,255 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by orthobird View Post
yep. i made mistake of using a HV servo with 88 ou/in (JR DS821) for the throttle
on a 60 cc airplane, and after 10 flights, servo got stuck and locked. i cut the engine and landed her, no problem. so i went with a HV servo that was >400 ou/in, have over 50 more flights with this, never a problem. also, on my 40% planes, i use this BLS 157 servo for throttle. some say overkill, but with this, never have to worry of it failing. remember, the throttle servo also gets a lot of abuse, not only from the "hovering" up/down movements,, but also from the vibrations that are sent to it. so if i were you, go for it, use the high torque servo on the throttle.
I had a JR DS821 suddenly decide one morning that idle should be about half throttle. Luckily I had it tied down well or it would have ate me. That started a new rule for me, NO cheap throttle servos. I've broken that rule once. On about the 12th flight of that airplane the servo failed at just over a fast idle just after takeoff. That started another new rule. Never fly a gasser without a kill switch.

One other thing, I am "VERY" careful about end point adjustments so i I know that is not what killed them.
Jetpainter is offline Find More Posts by Jetpainter
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:52 AM
KoleDeRacer is offline
Find More Posts by KoleDeRacer
Limitless Aero
KoleDeRacer's Avatar
Tyler, tx
Joined Oct 2010
1,658 Posts
6v is fine but i would always use a full size servo especially on any gas plane. It is no fun when a servo fails.
You could also use the Savox SC-0252MG there around $40 just a little slow.
KoleDeRacer is offline Find More Posts by KoleDeRacer
Last edited by KoleDeRacer; 09-23-2013 at 03:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:23 PM
JoeAirPort is online now
Find More Posts by JoeAirPort
RC Enthusiast
JoeAirPort's Avatar
Milwaukee, WI
Joined Jan 2006
8,205 Posts
Been using the Hitec metal gear high torque for years without one single failure. The old 5945's which have changed part numbers 2 or three times. 5985. 7985. Great for throttle. Like many say, the throttle is a control surface, and I hope my throttle servo never fails. So don't use the throttle servo as a way to save $40 on a $2-4k plane. Or even more $$ in some cases.
JoeAirPort is online now Find More Posts by JoeAirPort
Reply With Quote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools