Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Giant Scale Planes > General Discussion
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2013, 06:06 PM   #1
boggintuff
Sigh...really?
 
boggintuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States, MI, Lansing
Age: 36
Posts: 2,121
Default Throttle servo torque...

Throttle servo torque...

I normally run with way my torque than I need on everything, but I was sitting here pricing out new servos and got to wondering...

What do you guys consider enough torque to run a throttle?

I usually go with a coreless TG servo with 160oz ish of torque with a speed of .08 or less and with excellent centering
__________________
Pilot-RC / Extreme Flight / B&E Graphix
Savox / 4titude / Aztech Aeromodels / Smart-Fly
Team Chaos
boggintuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:13 PM   #2
Glyder
Uber Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 723
Default

I have a bunch of 7955's so I use em. Overkill but what the heck use em if ya got em. Its on HV to boot on a 30cc Yak.
__________________
"Dont tell me what you can do for me.......just give me some money"
Glyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:31 PM   #3
orthobird
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
orthobird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States, LA, Shreveport
Age: 43
Posts: 2,878
Default

yep. i made mistake of using a HV servo with 88 ou/in (JR DS821) for the throttle
on a 60 cc airplane, and after 10 flights, servo got stuck and locked. i cut the engine and landed her, no problem. so i went with a HV servo that was >400 ou/in, have over 50 more flights with this, never a problem. also, on my 40% planes, i use this BLS 157 servo for throttle. some say overkill, but with this, never have to worry of it failing. remember, the throttle servo also gets a lot of abuse, not only from the "hovering" up/down movements,, but also from the vibrations that are sent to it. so if i were you, go for it, use the high torque servo on the throttle.
orthobird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:03 PM   #4
KoleDeRacer
Limitless Aero
 
KoleDeRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tyler, tx
Posts: 1,334
Default

Usually something with at least metal gears and around 200oz and fast. Like the HSB-9465SH
__________________
GP Engines US Distributor and Service Center
Team Hitec
KoleDeRacer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:08 AM   #5
boggintuff
Sigh...really?
 
boggintuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States, MI, Lansing
Age: 36
Posts: 2,121
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by KoleDeRacer
View Post
Usually something with at least metal gears and around 200oz and fast. Like the HSB-9465SH
You couldnt pay me to put that servo in my plane....
__________________
Pilot-RC / Extreme Flight / B&E Graphix
Savox / 4titude / Aztech Aeromodels / Smart-Fly
Team Chaos
boggintuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:19 AM   #6
BRBR
A contributor of sorts
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,921
Default

a 42 oz output servo has more than enough power
BRBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:50 AM   #7
FGNewbie
Uber Contributor
 
FGNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 564
Default

anything in the 20 -30 dollar range.
FGNewbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 08:25 AM   #8
KoleDeRacer
Limitless Aero
 
KoleDeRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tyler, tx
Posts: 1,334
Default

other good one i the savox 1258tg
__________________
GP Engines US Distributor and Service Center
Team Hitec
KoleDeRacer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:43 AM   #9
wi53072
Gettin' Lower!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 92
Default

Guys,

What are your thoughts for a 50cc throttle servo using a 6 volt system? I would like to keep the servo small if possible? Let me know your thoughts.
wi53072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:45 AM   #10
funboy
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
funboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Denver
Age: 38
Posts: 1,984
Default

I've used everything from $7 standard 40oz servos up to $110 digital metal gear servos. They all work, but I've had to replace the digitals a few times over the years...
__________________
Rocky Mountain 3D Throwdown! Check out the 2014 thread!
http://www.flyinggiants.com/forums/s...=5#post2168985
Special thanks:
WWW.VITAL-RC.COM
funboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 10:11 AM   #11
Jaybird
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Jaybird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jay Florida
Age: 39
Posts: 3,655
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by boggintuff
View Post
Throttle servo torque...

I normally run with way my torque than I need on everything, but I was sitting here pricing out new servos and got to wondering...

What do you guys consider enough torque to run a throttle?

I usually go with a coreless TG servo with 160oz ish of torque with a speed of .08 or less and with excellent centering

I usualy run a pretty good servo on throttle. If you are not running HV a Savox 1257 is a badass servo. Really fast and accurate. I dont worry so much about the torgue, I just want a fairly fast and precise servo thats beefy enough to handle the vibrations.
__________________
Brian Hawthorne
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 10:17 AM   #12
boggintuff
Sigh...really?
 
boggintuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States, MI, Lansing
Age: 36
Posts: 2,121
Default

In my last 2 planes ive used the Savox 1258 which was great was just curious about the need for a $70 servo. I dont mind spending the money, but any time you can save money without sacrificing reliability and accuracy im all for it
__________________
Pilot-RC / Extreme Flight / B&E Graphix
Savox / 4titude / Aztech Aeromodels / Smart-Fly
Team Chaos
boggintuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:23 AM   #13
Jetpainter
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Jetpainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States, IL, Belleville
Age: 52
Posts: 1,099
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by orthobird
View Post
yep. i made mistake of using a HV servo with 88 ou/in (JR DS821) for the throttle
on a 60 cc airplane, and after 10 flights, servo got stuck and locked. i cut the engine and landed her, no problem. so i went with a HV servo that was >400 ou/in, have over 50 more flights with this, never a problem. also, on my 40% planes, i use this BLS 157 servo for throttle. some say overkill, but with this, never have to worry of it failing. remember, the throttle servo also gets a lot of abuse, not only from the "hovering" up/down movements,, but also from the vibrations that are sent to it. so if i were you, go for it, use the high torque servo on the throttle.
I had a JR DS821 suddenly decide one morning that idle should be about half throttle. Luckily I had it tied down well or it would have ate me. That started a new rule for me, NO cheap throttle servos. I've broken that rule once. On about the 12th flight of that airplane the servo failed at just over a fast idle just after takeoff. That started another new rule. Never fly a gasser without a kill switch.

One other thing, I am "VERY" careful about end point adjustments so i I know that is not what killed them.
Jetpainter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:52 AM   #14
KoleDeRacer
Limitless Aero
 
KoleDeRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tyler, tx
Posts: 1,334
Default

6v is fine but i would always use a full size servo especially on any gas plane. It is no fun when a servo fails.
You could also use the Savox SC-0252MG there around $40 just a little slow.
__________________
GP Engines US Distributor and Service Center
Team Hitec

Last edited by KoleDeRacer; 09-23-2013 at 03:31 PM.
KoleDeRacer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:23 PM   #15
JoeAirPort
Obsessed
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 50
Posts: 7,144
Default

Been using the Hitec metal gear high torque for years without one single failure. The old 5945's which have changed part numbers 2 or three times. 5985. 7985. Great for throttle. Like many say, the throttle is a control surface, and I hope my throttle servo never fails. So don't use the throttle servo as a way to save $40 on a $2-4k plane. Or even more $$ in some cases.
JoeAirPort is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: The E Zone :: Lift Zone :: RC Power :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.