Welcome to The FlyingGiants! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

 

Welcome to The FlyingGiants Community! We're all about fun, and inside you'll find the greatest, friendliest, and most helpful group of people around! If this is your first time visiting, please check out site, and click here to sign up! We hope to see you soon!!

Go Back   FlyingGiants > Technology > Radios
Forgot your password? Create a new account


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2006, 04:29 PM   #1
DiabloKid
Say Ah!
 
DiabloKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Centreville, Va
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to DiabloKid
Default Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

I am starting the proverbial list of "to buy" things for my new CAP and was wondeing about this product.

If I go 2 servos per aileron will this product work with the 5955's? I was not sure if they worked with a specific brand of servos or if there any negative side effects associated with it. Is it as simple as plugging in my 2 servos and tuning them with the device until I find center for each?

any info is appreciated
__________________

Last edited by DiabloKid; 11-17-2006 at 09:28 PM.
DiabloKid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 05:34 PM   #2
Pale Rider
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
Pale Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,372
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

I have 2 of them and they work perfectly..Im using 8611's..they will work with any servo brand
Pale Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 02:15 AM   #3
adrian
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Israel, Tel Aviv
Age: 27
Posts: 2,773
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

check out the new Smartfly EQ10 - it has servo matching and many more features - out soon!!!!
__________________

my blog
http://janstrydom.blogspot.com
adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:12 AM   #4
BR289
Pro Pit Biotch
 
BR289's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 48
Posts: 4,060
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

There is always the option of using a Powerbox. That would be the simplest thing you could do.
__________________
Extreme Flight RC
www.extremeflightrc.com
Aircraft International
www.aircraftinternational.com
Stansphotos.com
BR289 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:21 AM   #5
All Thumbs
AKA.. John Murdoch
 
All Thumbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 448
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

Quote: Originally Posted by Pale Rider
View Post
I have 2 of them and they work perfectly..Im using 8611's..they will work with any servo brand
I too use them with 8611a's.. However, I remember reading an attached notice or something like that with a warning for use with Hitec's servos. I may be full of crap, but it woud be worth checking with Bob Ritchie at Smart-Fly, just in case. Just e-mail him with the question and I'm sure he'll get right back to you with an answer.
All Thumbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:23 AM   #6
Imac Kiwi
Uber Contributor

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 880
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

If you are using Hitec 5995 servos, you do not need an external matching device as these servos are programmable.
__________________

Imac Kiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:23 AM   #7
Andy540T
Uber Contributor

 
Andy540T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Camarillo, CA
Age: 48
Posts: 511
Send a message via Yahoo to Andy540T
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

The Smart-Fly equalizer II is very similar to the JR Matchbox and works with all brands and types of servos. I have 2 of them on the ailerons of my son's airplane with Hitec 5945's and have had no problem. They provide a buffered/amplified signal to each servo and allow for matching of centers and end points, which will eliminate the need for the Hitec programmer.
__________________
Andy Portman

Carden-Aricraft
Fromeco Scale Avionics
Andy540T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:46 AM   #8
adrian
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Israel, Tel Aviv
Age: 27
Posts: 2,773
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

equal to a matchbox?? - the smartfly stuff has many more features than a simple matchbox!!
__________________

my blog
http://janstrydom.blogspot.com
adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:56 AM   #9
All Thumbs
AKA.. John Murdoch
 
All Thumbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 448
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

Quote: Originally Posted by John Murdoch
View Post
I too use them with 8611a's.. However, I remember reading an attached notice or something like that with a warning for use with Hitec's servos. I may be full of crap, but it woud be worth checking with Bob Ritchie at Smart-Fly, just in case. Just e-mail him with the question and I'm sure he'll get right back to you with an answer.
I wasn't full of crap, I knew there was a warning with Hitec. I used JR so I really wasn't too concerned. Looks like they'll work just fine.. it's just the programming technique is a little different.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Hitec .jpg
Views:	82
Size:	601.5 KB
ID:	26040

Last edited by All Thumbs; 11-18-2006 at 12:11 PM.
All Thumbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 05:27 PM   #10
DiabloKid
Say Ah!
 
DiabloKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Centreville, Va
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to DiabloKid
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

well thats bad news I like using the 5955's for my GS applications now

Maybe the Smartfly EQ10 will address the Hitec issue when its released?
__________________
DiabloKid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 08:05 PM   #11
All Thumbs
AKA.. John Murdoch
 
All Thumbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 448
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

If you read it, it's not a problem at all. With other servos, other than the Hitec, you can adjust one servo at a time on a surface and with the equalizer freeing up any other servo on that channel to adjust them each seperately. All this says is not to use that function with Hitec's. You can certainly adjust them all very closesly individually, then fine tune with them all hooked up.
All Thumbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:25 PM   #12
DiabloKid
Say Ah!
 
DiabloKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Centreville, Va
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to DiabloKid
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

thanks for the clarification John, I wasnt sure but after reading it again a few times it made better sense

The new smart-fly unit that isnt released does seem very cool. Kinda like a 1 stop solution for any GS setup.
__________________
DiabloKid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 03:44 AM   #13
Imac Kiwi
Uber Contributor

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 880
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

Quote: Originally Posted by DiabloKid
View Post
thanks for the clarification John, I wasnt sure but after reading it again a few times it made better sense

The new smart-fly unit that isnt released does seem very cool. Kinda like a 1 stop solution for any GS setup.

The new EQ 10 is an awesome unit. I caught up with Rob Ritchie at the Tucson Shootout and managed to wrestle a prototype unit from him for testing and evaluation. So far I have carried out extensive bench testing and the results are 100% positive. Will start flight testing the unit in the next few weeks.
__________________

Imac Kiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 03:46 AM   #14
adrian
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
 
adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Israel, Tel Aviv
Age: 27
Posts: 2,773
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

your pic KIWI
Attached Thumbnails
  • Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0093.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	195.7 KB
ID:	26086 195.7 KB · Views: 73

__________________

my blog
http://janstrydom.blogspot.com
adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 11:16 PM   #15
DiabloKid
Say Ah!
 
DiabloKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Centreville, Va
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to DiabloKid
Default Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

any idea when the 10 will be released?
__________________
DiabloKid is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart FLy Turbo-Reg Neogenesis What's Hot 31 06-30-2014 04:11 PM
IDIOTS SmoothFlying General Discussion 27 05-27-2008 03:05 PM
Smart - Fly Great Service T. Bob General Discussion 0 08-28-2006 05:20 PM
smart fly board? zulg Onboard Electronics 5 06-12-2006 12:46 AM
Help With Smart Fly Turboreg!!!! Sukhoikid Onboard Electronics 4 02-21-2006 07:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.

All Flyinggiants.com content copyright 2006-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Flyinggiants.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: Crackroll :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.