logo
Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2006, 04:29 PM
Say Ah!
DiabloKid's Avatar
Centreville, Va
Joined Jan 2006
569 Posts
Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

I am starting the proverbial list of "to buy" things for my new CAP and was wondeing about this product.

If I go 2 servos per aileron will this product work with the 5955's? I was not sure if they worked with a specific brand of servos or if there any negative side effects associated with it. Is it as simple as plugging in my 2 servos and tuning them with the device until I find center for each?

any info is appreciated
DiabloKid is offline Find More Posts by DiabloKid
Last edited by DiabloKid; 11-17-2006 at 09:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 05:34 PM
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
Pale Rider's Avatar
NJ
Joined Jan 2006
1,372 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

I have 2 of them and they work perfectly..Im using 8611's..they will work with any servo brand
Pale Rider is offline Find More Posts by Pale Rider
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 02:15 AM
Registered User
adrian's Avatar
Israel, Tel Aviv
Joined Jan 2006
2,931 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

check out the new Smartfly EQ10 - it has servo matching and many more features - out soon!!!!
adrian is offline Find More Posts by adrian
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:12 AM
Pro Pit Biotch
BR289's Avatar
United States, PA, Whitehall
Joined Jan 2006
4,068 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

There is always the option of using a Powerbox. That would be the simplest thing you could do.
BR289 is offline Find More Posts by BR289
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:21 AM
AKA.. John Murdoch
All Thumbs's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Jan 2006
448 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pale Rider View Post
I have 2 of them and they work perfectly..Im using 8611's..they will work with any servo brand
I too use them with 8611a's.. However, I remember reading an attached notice or something like that with a warning for use with Hitec's servos. I may be full of crap, but it woud be worth checking with Bob Ritchie at Smart-Fly, just in case. Just e-mail him with the question and I'm sure he'll get right back to you with an answer.
All Thumbs is offline Find More Posts by All Thumbs
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2006
900 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

If you are using Hitec 5995 servos, you do not need an external matching device as these servos are programmable.
Imac Kiwi is offline Find More Posts by Imac Kiwi
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:23 AM
Registered User
Andy540T's Avatar
Camarillo, CA
Joined Jan 2006
534 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

The Smart-Fly equalizer II is very similar to the JR Matchbox and works with all brands and types of servos. I have 2 of them on the ailerons of my son's airplane with Hitec 5945's and have had no problem. They provide a buffered/amplified signal to each servo and allow for matching of centers and end points, which will eliminate the need for the Hitec programmer.
Andy540T is offline Find More Posts by Andy540T
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:46 AM
Registered User
adrian's Avatar
Israel, Tel Aviv
Joined Jan 2006
2,931 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

equal to a matchbox?? - the smartfly stuff has many more features than a simple matchbox!!
adrian is offline Find More Posts by adrian
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:56 AM
AKA.. John Murdoch
All Thumbs's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Jan 2006
448 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Murdoch View Post
I too use them with 8611a's.. However, I remember reading an attached notice or something like that with a warning for use with Hitec's servos. I may be full of crap, but it woud be worth checking with Bob Ritchie at Smart-Fly, just in case. Just e-mail him with the question and I'm sure he'll get right back to you with an answer.
I wasn't full of crap, I knew there was a warning with Hitec. I used JR so I really wasn't too concerned. Looks like they'll work just fine.. it's just the programming technique is a little different.

Name: Hitec .jpg
Views: 94
Size: 601.5 KB
Description:
All Thumbs is offline Find More Posts by All Thumbs
Last edited by All Thumbs; 11-18-2006 at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 05:27 PM
Say Ah!
DiabloKid's Avatar
Centreville, Va
Joined Jan 2006
569 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

well thats bad news I like using the 5955's for my GS applications now

Maybe the Smartfly EQ10 will address the Hitec issue when its released?
DiabloKid is offline Find More Posts by DiabloKid
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 08:05 PM
AKA.. John Murdoch
All Thumbs's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Jan 2006
448 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

If you read it, it's not a problem at all. With other servos, other than the Hitec, you can adjust one servo at a time on a surface and with the equalizer freeing up any other servo on that channel to adjust them each seperately. All this says is not to use that function with Hitec's. You can certainly adjust them all very closesly individually, then fine tune with them all hooked up.
All Thumbs is offline Find More Posts by All Thumbs
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:25 PM
Say Ah!
DiabloKid's Avatar
Centreville, Va
Joined Jan 2006
569 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

thanks for the clarification John, I wasnt sure but after reading it again a few times it made better sense

The new smart-fly unit that isnt released does seem very cool. Kinda like a 1 stop solution for any GS setup.
DiabloKid is offline Find More Posts by DiabloKid
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 03:44 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2006
900 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiabloKid View Post
thanks for the clarification John, I wasnt sure but after reading it again a few times it made better sense

The new smart-fly unit that isnt released does seem very cool. Kinda like a 1 stop solution for any GS setup.

The new EQ 10 is an awesome unit. I caught up with Rob Ritchie at the Tucson Shootout and managed to wrestle a prototype unit from him for testing and evaluation. So far I have carried out extensive bench testing and the results are 100% positive. Will start flight testing the unit in the next few weeks.
Imac Kiwi is offline Find More Posts by Imac Kiwi
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 03:46 AM
Registered User
adrian's Avatar
Israel, Tel Aviv
Joined Jan 2006
2,931 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

your pic KIWI
adrian is offline Find More Posts by adrian
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 11:16 PM
Say Ah!
DiabloKid's Avatar
Centreville, Va
Joined Jan 2006
569 Posts
Re: Smart-Fly Equalizer II question

any idea when the 10 will be released?
DiabloKid is offline Find More Posts by DiabloKid
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart FLy Turbo-Reg Neogenesis What's Hot 31 06-30-2014 04:11 PM
IDIOTS SmoothFlying General Discussion 27 05-27-2008 03:05 PM
Smart - Fly Great Service T. Bob General Discussion 0 08-28-2006 05:20 PM
smart fly board? zulg Onboard Electronics 5 06-12-2006 12:46 AM
Help With Smart Fly Turboreg!!!! Sukhoikid Onboard Electronics 4 02-21-2006 07:49 PM