logo
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2020, 05:56 PM
Petya is offline
Find More Posts by Petya
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
19 Posts
Question
Wolverine Switch can feed RX and Ignition ?

Friends,

I would like to know if there is any problem using a Fromeco Wolverine switch with two inputs (two Life 2S 3000mah batteries) and two outputs, one to power the RX and the other the Ignition (DA-50cc).

Thank you .
Petya is offline Find More Posts by Petya
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 05-26-2020, 06:02 PM
The Hodge is online now
Find More Posts by The Hodge
Guided by JR Propo
The Hodge's Avatar
Victoria, Austrailia
Joined Mar 2008
2,197 Posts
It would work Fine, One to the Rxr and one to your Ign Switch.

But do check that with one battery in the switch that both outputs show voltage? Im pretty sire it will, What this means as if you loose a battery you dont loose the rxr or the Ign.

As i cant recall if each battery was a separate circuit or not, Normally with the switch you run both outputs to the rxr as it designed for redundancy & battery Sharing
The Hodge is online now Find More Posts by The Hodge
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2020, 06:12 PM
Petya is offline
Find More Posts by Petya
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hodge View Post
What this means as if you loose a battery you dont loose the rxr or the Ign.
= This is exactly the security I'm looking for .

Instead of having a 3000 battery for the RX and a 3000 battery for the ignition, I get the sum of 6000mah supplying both systems and with the security that if one fails the other takes over entirely and I don't lose either the radio or the engine ...

My fear is that this may cause any noise in the receiver, because the same power system is also connected to the ignition.
Petya is offline Find More Posts by Petya
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2020, 06:32 PM
The Hodge is online now
Find More Posts by The Hodge
Guided by JR Propo
The Hodge's Avatar
Victoria, Austrailia
Joined Mar 2008
2,197 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petya View Post
= This is exactly the security I'm looking for .

Instead of having a 3000 battery for the RX and a 3000 battery for the ignition, I get the sum of 6000mah supplying both systems and with the security that if one fails the other takes over entirely and I don't lose either the radio or the engine ...

My fear is that this may cause any noise in the receiver, because the same power system is also connected to the ignition.
Yes i really like the battery sharing switch like the Advanced Radio / booma Rc ones and the Wolverine switch.

Redundancy is a great safeguard, batterys can fail.

ideally you want to keep your Rxr power switch and source separate from the Ign.

Here is two ways i would do it:

1, Both outputs to the Rxr, and use a Tech aero ibec to power the Ign unit via the Rxr.

2. same as above, but Separate battery to the switch of the Ign unit.

This way you keep the power redundancy to the rxr.

What ign Cutoff / kill switch are you using for the engine ign unit?
The Hodge is online now Find More Posts by The Hodge
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2020, 06:40 PM
Petya is offline
Find More Posts by Petya
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hodge View Post
What ign Cutoff / kill switch are you using for the engine ign unit?
Rcexl KillSwitch .

I would not like to add a third battery to the system.

Having 6000mah available, has plenty of charge for everything.

If I were to add a third battery, I would use a powersafe receiver with two inputs and have redundancy in the RX but not to ignition.

But with the Wolverine I understand that I have redundancy for both the RX and the ignition and instead of having 3000mah for each, I have 6000mah for both.

My only fear is noise to rx .
Petya is offline Find More Posts by Petya
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2020, 06:47 PM
The Hodge is online now
Find More Posts by The Hodge
Guided by JR Propo
The Hodge's Avatar
Victoria, Austrailia
Joined Mar 2008
2,197 Posts
The Noise issues and Feed back could occur if a fault occurs in the Kill switch or some design flaw.

Normal operation it should not be an issues,many people have done it this way But its a risk or chance that i would avoid..

The Wolverine will work for this application your after, But due ensure you get power from both outputs with only one plugged in. (like i mentioned above)

Personally i would just install a Tech aero ibec that is optically isolated and deigned to be used in the fashion your after, and you get all the redundancy your after with only 2x battery's. and the Ibec is plugged in and powered by the rxr.

So nice simple setup.
The Hodge is online now Find More Posts by The Hodge
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2020, 06:54 PM
Petya is offline
Find More Posts by Petya
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
19 Posts
I did not know this IBEC, in this case I could use a PowerSafe receiver with 2 batts and have the same result .... since it would have the battery redundancy supplying both the RX and the ignition, it would be cheaper than the Wolverine Switch and eliminate KillSwitch .
It is an excellent option.
Thanks for the help and tips.
Petya is offline Find More Posts by Petya
Last edited by Petya; 05-26-2020 at 07:12 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2020, 06:58 PM
The Hodge is online now
Find More Posts by The Hodge
Guided by JR Propo
The Hodge's Avatar
Victoria, Austrailia
Joined Mar 2008
2,197 Posts
No worries at all
The Hodge is online now Find More Posts by The Hodge
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2020, 08:34 PM
William_Burkert is offline
Find More Posts by William_Burkert
Registered User
William_Burkert's Avatar
United States, NC, Cary
Joined Oct 2013
648 Posts
if a fromeco wolverine switch fails it fails in the ON position but these types of switches draw a little power. Do not store a plane for a long time with the batteries connected because they will drain to zero and be trash. I always unplug my battery’s at the end of a flying day.
William_Burkert is offline Find More Posts by William_Burkert
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2020, 09:22 AM
Petya is offline
Find More Posts by Petya
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
19 Posts
I always disconnect the batteries, tks !
Petya is offline Find More Posts by Petya
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2020, 10:05 AM
g257945 is offline
Find More Posts by g257945
Registered User
g257945's Avatar
United States, IN, Fort Wayne
Joined Oct 2014
767 Posts
In most cases I would agree about disconnection however, I'm running 2 5200mah packs to a Wolverine and so on. This past winter was this setup's 6th resting period and I have yet to disconnect anything.Just too much capacity to drain even after 4 or 5 months in storage. Checked with the 8 ball once or twice and still at or just below 8v under load. The drain through the Wolverine is in the microamps area just for reference.

Scott
g257945 is offline Find More Posts by g257945
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2020, 11:37 AM
William_Burkert is offline
Find More Posts by William_Burkert
Registered User
William_Burkert's Avatar
United States, NC, Cary
Joined Oct 2013
648 Posts
I have a plane with two dead batteries caused by the wolverine switch drain. Two Fromeco 2600’s wasted.
William_Burkert is offline Find More Posts by William_Burkert
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools