logo
Old 09-16-2019, 08:23 AM
Find More Posts by royalstar05
United States, MA, Haverhill
Joined Aug 2019
3 Posts
Discussion
DA50 gas

I am new to gas been flying electric I have heard a bunch of different thing about the gas you should be using. The engine is broken in is there a brand and octane you like over an other Thanks
royalstar05 is offline Find More Posts by royalstar05
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 09-16-2019, 08:35 AM
Find More Posts by carrid02
Abilene, TX
Joined Jan 2006
1,238 Posts
I think the DA manual says regular unleaded... no serious gains flying premium. Personally, I like using aviation fuel (no ethanol) and redline 40:1 (that oil is also in the manual... highly recommended by DA)

So... 100LL and redline for me. Engine operates wonderfully, stays clean, doesn't spit black stuff out the exhaust and will fire right back up season after season.

-Craig
carrid02 is online now Find More Posts by carrid02
Old 09-16-2019, 08:38 AM
Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
wrongwayfeldman
United States, AL, Florence
Joined Mar 2010
2,492 Posts
Boy you just open a can of worms....you'll need pop corn and soda ! You will get 50 different answers . Some use high end fuel and oil ...others use whatever is cheapest. I personally use 87 octane and a quality name brand oil at 32/1 and have never lost an engine. I fuel My weed whacker from the same fuel can and it's still running after 18 years.
ponyboy082662 is online now Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
Old 09-16-2019, 08:47 AM
Find More Posts by FGNewbie
Joined Mar 2010
4,110 Posts
the other day I heard the field gas guru tell someone never to use cheap gas - like Arco. Well, I use Arco 87 regularly in all of my engines, DLE and DA. They run fine. Over the years I have used gas from countless different pumps and can't say I've ever noticed a difference.
FGNewbie is online now Find More Posts by FGNewbie
Old 09-16-2019, 01:14 PM
Find More Posts by ROFF