logo
Old 09-23-2019, 06:56 PM
Find More Posts by Aero_Joe79
United States, MI, New Baltimore
Joined Sep 2019
15 Posts
Question
Question from a first time large scale gasser about batteries

Hi there guys (and gals), I'm new to this large scale gas engine stuff and I'm currently putting the finishing touches on my Hempel 25% L4. My question is around my batteries and if I have enough "power" for my setup.

I am running (2) 6.6V LiFe batteries, each with 3000mAh that will be running through a Booma RC flag switch. I am also running a Tech-Aero IBEC supplying ignition power to a DA50. Each control surface has their own 645MG for a total of 6. Those will be running through a AR8010T receiver and an Aura8 Gyro.

This will be for scale flying, no advanced acro. (yes I know the DA50 is more than needed for scale flight)

I'm hoping that my current setup will be ok as I am cramped for space and I'm not sure I can fit any bigger batteries in there.

Also looking to know how many flights I should expect (with flight times around 10 min I'm guessing)

I appreciate any advise!
Thanks, Joe
Aero_Joe79 is offline Find More Posts by Aero_Joe79
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 09-23-2019, 07:02 PM
Find More Posts by The Hodge
Victoria, Austrailia
Joined Mar 2008
1,280 Posts
That will be fine you will have loads on power on board could probably fly for 2-3 hours

With A123/ Life batterys the best way to work out what current your drawing per flight and what run time you can expect is to do a flightm say 10 mins with charged battery's then land and charge,
The amount you put back in will equate to roughly what you consume per flight, Then you can do some simple maths to work out how many flight @ 10 mins you can get.

But work on a margin of 30-40% left just so they never go FLAT.

Hope that helps.
The Hodge is offline Find More Posts by The Hodge
Old 09-23-2019, 07:06 PM
Find More Posts by closetguy
United States, OH, Berlin Heights