logo
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2020, 05:02 PM
MINI30BOB is offline
Find More Posts by MINI30BOB
Registered User
United States, MI, Clinton
Joined Jul 2016
72 Posts
Discussion
Rewiring Robart electric retracts with standard servo plug

Does anyone have any experience trying to successfully rewire Robart electric retracts with a standard 3 pin servo plug? According to Robart they require the separate control box with "Proprietary plug design to ensure proper connections and eliminate damage caused from not using the control box." I see this as a ploy to milk another $70 to $100 out of us. Do the servo motors in their electric retracts run some special voltage that they wouldn't operate safely off of receiver power? Just curious if anyone has successfully tried this. Thanks.-Bill
MINI30BOB is offline Find More Posts by MINI30BOB
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 06-08-2020, 05:17 PM
lrb75 is offline
Find More Posts by lrb75
Registered User
United States, VA, Springfield
Joined Aug 2010
62 Posts
Pretty sure the robart gear are just motors. The change in current when they hit the stops triggers the box to stop the gear.
lrb75 is offline Find More Posts by lrb75
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2020, 05:44 PM
3DJP is offline
Find More Posts by 3DJP
Registered User
United States, NJ, Penns Grove
Joined Dec 2015
1,355 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrb75 View Post
Pretty sure the robart gear are just motors. The change in current when they hit the stops triggers the box to stop the gear.
Bingo.. the box tells them when to stop both up and down
3DJP is offline Find More Posts by 3DJP
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2020, 08:06 PM
2walla is offline
Find More Posts by 2walla
Registered User
2walla's Avatar
United States, WA, Walla Walla
Joined Apr 2007
2,409 Posts
You need their box. And they draw way more current than a receiver can handle. The connections are just connections. As long as they can handle the current any connector will work. But you need the logic to reverse the voltage for up/down and the current sensor to shut them off at the end of travel.
2walla is offline Find More Posts by 2walla
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools