logo
Old 04-28-2008, 12:48 AM
Find More Posts by MadMonkey
That's "MISTER" idiot to you!
United States, TX, Roanoke
Joined Sep 2007
1,064 Posts
Giant scale setup & preflight. What to look for?

Okay, here's the deal.

I just met a guy out at our field who is an RC nut. He flies all sorts of glow planes and has about 20 helicopters... somehow he heard of me, and some brilliant yahoo told him I was the best around with gas planes and giant scale (I'm not ).

Anyway, he came up and introduced himself, and said that he just bought a used 42% (I believe) plane at a swap meet, and he wants me to help him set it up and fly it next weekend (assuming the weather is good).

Now, to clarify. I'm no expert by any means, but I've been flying glow planes for about 14 years, and have only recently gotten into gas. I currently have a GP 1.60 size Ultimate with a Brillelli 46GT; that's the extent of my gas experience.

Trouble is, to my knowledge I'm the only guy at our field who flies any 3D gas planes, so I might be the one to help him out by necessity. I certainly want to help, but I want to do it right and keep him from being disappointed, so I need a checklist of things to go over.

I know all of the basics, like linkages, engine mounts, etc, the stuff that you'd also do on a small plane. But I also know that once you go bigger than 50cc or so, there's a difference in equipment (regulators, redundant systems, etc). THAT'S the stuff I'd have trouble with; making sure it's all properly connected and working right.

So, can anybody help me out here? I already told him I'm not an expert, so he's probably not expecting much, just someone who is able to assist with setup/inspection/preflight.

Thanks for any input Like I said, I'm one of the only guys who does this stuff at our field.
MadMonkey is offline Find More Posts by MadMonkey
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 04-28-2008, 08:33 PM
Find More Posts by skyesdad
irving, texas