logo
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2019, 08:53 AM
William_Burkert is online now
Find More Posts by William_Burkert
Registered User
William_Burkert's Avatar
United States, NC, Cary
Joined Oct 2013
405 Posts
Discussion
Carbon fiber pull-pull?

Anybody using carbon fiber for a pull-pull setup? The typical cable setup always works but some adjustments, always a little slop, and some times strain on the servo output post makes me wonder if carbon fiber pull-pull pushrods would be better.
William_Burkert is online now Find More Posts by William_Burkert
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 06-09-2019, 09:55 AM
dshriver is online now
Find More Posts by dshriver
Registered User
dshriver's Avatar
United States, TX, Cypress
Joined Oct 2014
1,030 Posts
I’ve done this on two airplanes. I used fiberglass ardor shafts on a 12’ telemaster. I used CF rods for the rudder of a Bill Hemple 25% Decathlon. It works but I wouldn’t do it again. It’s heavier and harder to setup than Kevlar or steel cable. Your geometry has to be absolutely 100% perfect or something will bind. You can’t cross the rods or they will bind. If you go straight it requires quite large slots where the rods exit the fuse.
dshriver is online now Find More Posts by dshriver
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2019, 12:25 PM
William_Burkert is online now
Find More Posts by William_Burkert
Registered User
William_Burkert's Avatar
United States, NC, Cary
Joined Oct 2013
405 Posts
Agree. While a good idea crossing is an issue but perfect geometry isnít common for me. If anything the carbon fiber pull-pull will help me figure servo height and location easily. A single carbon fiber push-pull with 6-32 threaded ends and forget perfect geometry?

I will do elevator pushrods but right now they only work crossed so Iím playing with making a Y carbon pushrod. A tinker-toy looking connector, glued and screwed.

All this because Iím waiting for the mail person to bring me some more hysol.
William_Burkert is online now Find More Posts by William_Burkert
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2019, 04:09 PM
ponyboy082662 is offline
Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
wrongwayfeldman
ponyboy082662's Avatar
United States, AL, Florence
Joined Mar 2010
2,268 Posts
On the servo tiller arm....one above and one below usually stops them from touching.
ponyboy082662 is offline Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2019, 04:47 PM
airboss/oc is offline
Find More Posts by airboss/oc
Registered User
airboss/oc's Avatar
United States, CA, ARROWHED FARM
Joined Aug 2007
6,002 Posts
dump the hardware and move the servo to the tail
airboss/oc is offline Find More Posts by airboss/oc
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2019, 04:55 PM
dshriver is online now
Find More Posts by dshriver
Registered User
dshriver's Avatar
United States, TX, Cypress
Joined Oct 2014
1,030 Posts
Clever! Now why didnít I think of that??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyboy082662 View Post
On the servo tiller arm....one above and one below usually stops them from touching.
dshriver is online now Find More Posts by dshriver
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools