logo
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2017, 11:35 AM
tmab11 is offline
Find More Posts by tmab11
Bus-driver
United States, NC, Asheville
Joined Feb 2009
62 Posts
Is anyone using the new X8r redundancy setup? If so how are you setting it up? Two X8rs with one for each side of the plane or one and a smaller receiver, like the xm+? Thanks


Thomas
tmab11 is offline Find More Posts by tmab11
Last edited by tmab11; 03-31-2017 at 11:48 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 03-31-2017, 01:43 PM
JoeT is online now
Find More Posts by JoeT
Racer, Flyer, Dad!
JoeT's Avatar
Canada, ON, Vaughan
Joined Oct 2013
1,251 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmab11 View Post
Is anyone using the new X8r redundancy setup? If so how are you setting it up? Two X8rs with one for each side of the plane or one and a smaller receiver, like the xm+? Thanks


Thomas
X8R will not do redundancy unless used through the redundancy bus or RB 10. The new Receiver called RX8R is the one that can be used with another RX8R for redundancy.

But if you want to use X8R's, both can be bound to the TX, just make sure you use the same "Model" number when you're binding. There is a jumper setting within the instructions of the X8R which can make the PWM ports of the 2nd receiver go from channels 9 - 16.

Receiver 1: 1-8
Receiver 2: 9 - 16 (Telemetry disabled)

Hope this helps.
JoeT is online now Find More Posts by JoeT
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2017, 01:45 PM
tmab11 is offline
Find More Posts by tmab11
Bus-driver
United States, NC, Asheville
Joined Feb 2009
62 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeT View Post
X8R will not do redundancy unless used through the redundancy bus or RB 10. The new Receiver called RX8R is the one that can be used with another RX8R for redundancy.

But if you want to use X8R's, both can be bound to the TX, just make sure you use the same "Model" number when you're binding. There is a jumper setting within the instructions of the X8R which can make the PWM ports of the 2nd receiver go from channels 9 - 16.

Receiver 1: 1-8
Receiver 2: 9 - 16 (Telemetry disabled)

Hope this helps.
The RX8R was what I meant. Whoops lol

But would there be an advantage to using two of the RX8Rs vs just two x8 s?
tmab11 is offline Find More Posts by tmab11
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2017, 04:23 PM
JoeT is online now
Find More Posts by JoeT
Racer, Flyer, Dad!
JoeT's Avatar
Canada, ON, Vaughan
Joined Oct 2013
1,251 Posts
tbam11,

If you were using SBUS to connect to something, I would say yes. But if you are using RX8R's and only using the PWM ports, then if one receiver dies, 1/2 your channels are gone.

I don't see an advantage using 2 RX8R's vs 2 X8R's based on the above.
JoeT is online now Find More Posts by JoeT
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2017, 09:51 AM
XPS is offline
XPS
Find More Posts by XPS
XPS
CEO/Mad Scientist
United States, AZ, Lake Havasu City
Joined Mar 2015
355 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeT View Post
I've been watching for the X24, it looks fantabulous, servo balancing, power distribution, redundant multi protocol inputs from SBUS, and others. Can't wait to try one out.
JoeT - they are available now!

http://www.xtremepowersystems.net/products.php?cat=8
XPS is offline Find More Posts by XPS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2017, 11:09 AM
Vapor Trails is offline
Find More Posts by Vapor Trails
Suspended Account
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Dec 2008
2,322 Posts
I just looked at those, they look awesome
Vapor Trails is offline Find More Posts by Vapor Trails
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2017, 12:03 AM
raydar is offline
Find More Posts by raydar
Registered User
Joined Nov 2009
1,179 Posts
I just use the Frsky redundancy box on my 120cc plane

$54 dollars

https://www.horusrc.com/en/frsky-red...-receiver.html

Bad link will sort later.
raydar is offline Find More Posts by raydar
Last edited by raydar; 04-28-2017 at 12:46 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2017, 12:08 AM
raydar is offline
Find More Posts by raydar
Registered User
Joined Nov 2009
1,179 Posts
Double post.
raydar is offline Find More Posts by raydar
Last edited by raydar; 04-28-2017 at 12:44 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2017, 05:50 AM
JoeT is online now
Find More Posts by JoeT
Racer, Flyer, Dad!
JoeT's Avatar
Canada, ON, Vaughan
Joined Oct 2013
1,251 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydar View Post
I just use the Frsky redundancy box on my 120cc plane

$54 dollars

https://www.horusrc.com/en/frsky-red...-receiver.html

Bad link will sort later.

I like the Rb, but it's lacking in the servo matching for 2 or 3 servos per wing. And it also comes with built in ibec.

If I added a booma rc im24 and tech aero ibec to the RB it would be more expensive than the x24.

That's why I'm considering it.
JoeT is online now Find More Posts by JoeT
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2017, 02:56 AM
raydar is offline
Find More Posts by raydar
Registered User
Joined Nov 2009
1,179 Posts
Fair point but servo matching can be done on the radio as you know.

The x24 looks great with loads of features so can see it's appeal, auto servo match is alot easier than trying to match three servo with a amp meter and curves.
raydar is offline Find More Posts by raydar
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2017, 07:02 AM
tande is offline
Find More Posts by tande
Registered User
tande's Avatar
United States, MI, Millington
Joined Sep 2008
1,548 Posts
FWIW.....from the X24 manual.....

While the AutoMatch is occurring the master and slave servo positions and
currents will be shown as a reference. Each slave is matched individually to
the master. The matching process will take quite some time as the system
builds up to a 2000 point match curve for each of the slave servos. During
the AutoMatch, do not apply any pressure to the surfaces being matched!
Doing so will interfere with the matching process, and give you inaccurate
results. For the best results it is recommended that you place all surfaces
vertically when performing the AutoMatch.
tande is offline Find More Posts by tande
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2017, 01:13 PM
XPS is offline
XPS
Find More Posts by XPS
XPS
CEO/Mad Scientist
United States, AZ, Lake Havasu City
Joined Mar 2015
355 Posts
That information was changed in the recent manual. After adding numerous additional features I was running out of code space to implement 2000 points, so I reduced it to 1536 (that's 816us to 2352us, in 1us steps). This also gives me extra code space to add features in the future.
XPS is offline Find More Posts by XPS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2017, 07:09 AM
BalsaDust is offline
Find More Posts by BalsaDust
Registered User
BalsaDust's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
2,420 Posts
The new X10 looks nice.

https://www.horusrc.com/en/frsky-hor....html?acc=4072
BalsaDust is offline Find More Posts by BalsaDust
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2017, 07:11 PM
BalsaDust is offline
Find More Posts by BalsaDust
Registered User
BalsaDust's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
2,420 Posts
Waiting on my M9 gimbals to show up so in preparations I tore the whole transmitter down and added some fresh color to the case. Never cared for the stock color. Painted it with a Hammered Metal look silver paint and I'm very happy with how it turned out.


Now for a question. Does anyone know if FrSky plans to release a Power Safe style RX in the future? Just curious that's all.
BalsaDust is offline Find More Posts by BalsaDust
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2017, 07:58 PM
cosmith is offline
Find More Posts by cosmith
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
343 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BalsaDust View Post
Waiting on my M9 gimbals to show up so in preparations I tore the whole transmitter down and added some fresh color to the case. Never cared for the stock color. Painted it with a Hammered Metal look silver paint and I'm very happy with how it turned out.


Now for a question. Does anyone know if FrSky plans to release a Power Safe style RX in the future? Just curious that's all.
Nice work! I'd love my Taranis to be grippier...some sort of rubbery coating would be cool!

You'll love the M9 gimbals.

As for PowerSafe receivers I think they've done one better with their redundancy bus products...not only do you get redundant power but also redundant receivers. I'm going to try the Redundancy Bus-10 with two X8Rs in my Mamba.
cosmith is offline Find More Posts by cosmith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools