logo
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2019, 07:38 AM
Xpira is offline
Find More Posts by Xpira
Registered User
Joined Oct 2019
28 Posts
Question
Need help setting up 120cc plane.

120cc Pau edge 540, Has a GP123 and 32oz fuel tank. Need help setting it up with smart fly and the pin switch. getting Savox servos soon. Should i use two for the rudder?
Xpira is offline Find More Posts by Xpira
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 10-20-2019, 08:41 AM
dshriver is offline
Find More Posts by dshriver
Registered User
dshriver's Avatar
United States, TX, Cypress
Joined Oct 2014
1,084 Posts
2x 1270 servos or one 2290. You should be going for 600oz/in or more torque.
dshriver is offline Find More Posts by dshriver
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2019, 11:36 AM
Xpira is offline
Find More Posts by Xpira
Registered User
Joined Oct 2019
28 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dshriver View Post
2x 1270 servos or one 2290. You should be going for 600oz/in or more torque.
600 oz in the rudder?

What brand are 1270 and 2290? Do they work with smart fly?
Xpira is offline Find More Posts by Xpira
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2019, 12:17 PM
BarracudaHockey is offline
Find More Posts by BarracudaHockey
Multi Platform Pilot
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
United States, FL, Jacksonville
Joined Dec 2007
9,771 Posts
Savox and yes

You don't need that Smart Fly stuff, just run 2 batteries and two good switches unless you're flying Spektrum in which case, get a power safe rx.

You're just adding complexity, cost and a failure point and getting nothing in return.
BarracudaHockey is offline Find More Posts by BarracudaHockey
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2019, 01:10 PM
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline
Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Just your Average Joe.
Bunky F. Knuckle's Avatar
Joined Jan 2006
8,489 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dshriver View Post
2x 1270 servos or one 2290. You should be going for 600oz/in or more torque.
600 oz is over kill, and frankly not needed.. My 37% airplanes KE Loop all day long on 400oz servos. Jr 8711s, 8711HVs, 8911HVs, Savox 1270, 2270, 1283, 1230, ProModeler 470, Futaba 9157, etc...... I have flown 800oz servos in 35/7% airplanes. Frankly not needed, and ridiculously overkill. Unless its what you want.

The days of ganging servos on 35/7% aircraft are long gone.
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2019, 07:05 PM
DCash is offline
Find More Posts by DCash
Registered User
DCash's Avatar
Joined Jul 2010
328 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dshriver View Post
2x 1270 servos or one 2290. You should be going for 600oz/in or more torque.
If you need 600oz-in, maybe look at http://www.promodeler.com/DS630BLHV
DCash is offline Find More Posts by DCash
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2019, 10:58 PM
Xpress.. is offline
Find More Posts by Xpress..
Fully Sending It
Xpress..'s Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Mar 2008
2,934 Posts
Lots of varying opinions, but generally 1 high torque servo is sufficient on the rudder. Savox, Futaba, Hitec, just pick a servo with over 400oz of factory rating and it'll be enough. By the way, I urge you to use the SmartFly. You're going to see serious bottlenecking and diminished servo performance if you try to power everything through a few servo plugs.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 12:03 AM
Toothata540 is offline
Find More Posts by Toothata540
Huckin', Learnin', & Burnin'
Toothata540's Avatar
United States, MA, Montague
Joined Dec 2013
602 Posts
I have a single 700 oz + servo (bluebird H50B) in both my 35% and 42% planes for the rudder. Never had any issues or lacked power. Depending on your flying style and surface throws you may not need much more than 400-500 oz. Ganged servos nowadays aren’t as necessary with the torque they’re putting out.
Toothata540 is offline Find More Posts by Toothata540
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 07:58 AM
Memo Lomeli is offline
Find More Posts by Memo Lomeli
Registered User
Memo Lomeli's Avatar
United States, TX, McAllen
Joined Mar 2006
578 Posts
I have use in my 35% planes a single Savox 1270 and works just great !!
Memo Lomeli is offline Find More Posts by Memo Lomeli
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 07:25 PM
Xpira is offline
Find More Posts by Xpira
Registered User
Joined Oct 2019
28 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toothata540 View Post
I have a single 700 oz + servo (bluebird H50B) in both my 35% and 42% planes for the rudder. Never had any issues or lacked power. Depending on your flying style and surface throws you may not need much more than 400-500 oz. Ganged servos nowadays arenít as necessary with the torque theyíre putting out.
Only reason Iím using two servos is to be able to ave my plane if one goes out
Xpira is offline Find More Posts by Xpira
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 07:43 PM
FGNewbie is offline
Find More Posts by FGNewbie
Registered User
FGNewbie's Avatar
Joined Mar 2010
4,076 Posts
they are still flyable without a rudder servo.
FGNewbie is offline Find More Posts by FGNewbie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 08:19 PM
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline
Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Just your Average Joe.
Bunky F. Knuckle's Avatar
Joined Jan 2006
8,489 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpira View Post
Only reason Iím using two servos is to be able to ave my plane if one goes out
Your ganged rudder servos. 1 locks up at 15 deg deflection. The other one isnt gonna move the one that is locked up. Unless you are using a SWB self adjusting tray.
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 09:39 PM
Festivus is offline
Find More Posts by Festivus
I fly 12 months a year
Festivus's Avatar
United States, TX
Joined Jul 2017
1,026 Posts
I have my PAU Edge set up with a XPS-24 to distribute power and electronically balance aileron servos.
Festivus is offline Find More Posts by Festivus
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2019, 12:17 AM
A.Delaney is offline
Find More Posts by A.Delaney
Registered User
United States, IL, Streator
Joined May 2018
94 Posts
Festivus. Two questions. Where do you get that red cable wrap? And what are those things plugged into your A1, A2 ,B1,B2 ports on the 24? My screen is too small. I can’t make out what they are.
A.Delaney is offline Find More Posts by A.Delaney
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2019, 02:47 PM
Festivus is offline
Find More Posts by Festivus
I fly 12 months a year
Festivus's Avatar
United States, TX
Joined Jul 2017
1,026 Posts
Red cable wrap is PET Expandable wire sleeve I buy it off EBAY just search braided pet expandable sleeving https://www.ebay.com/itm/ALL-SIZES-C...ss!76209!US!-1
Festivus is offline Find More Posts by Festivus
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools