logo
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2019, 10:28 PM
Xpira is offline
Find More Posts by Xpira
Registered User
Joined Oct 2019
28 Posts
Question
Can I go higher than 400oz?

I have a 120cc PAU Edge 540. In the manual it says, “One or two servos for rudder equaling 400oz.” Does this mean I cant go to 800oz? Do I have to stay at 400oz? I was going to use two 400oz servos. (I know thats a lot of torque, but still....)
Xpira is offline Find More Posts by Xpira
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 10-21-2019, 10:35 PM
Festivus is offline
Find More Posts by Festivus
I fly 12 months a year
Festivus's Avatar
United States, TX
Joined Jul 2017
1,044 Posts
You can always go more torque, the 400oz min is established as the minimum needed for that size plane. I have the same plane and use a single JR s-8911 coreless $149.00 rated at 855 oz at 8.4v
Festivus is offline Find More Posts by Festivus
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2019, 10:41 PM
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline
Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Just your Average Joe.
Bunky F. Knuckle's Avatar
Joined Jan 2006
8,494 Posts
You can. But honestly, anything over 500oz in of torque, is not needed.

I KE Loop 35/7% airplanes on Savox 1270, Savox 2270, JR 8711/HV, Futaba 9157. And they will do it all day long.

Its your bird, outfit it the way you want.
Bunky F. Knuckle is offline Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 01:04 PM
jharkin is offline
Find More Posts by jharkin
Registered User
jharkin's Avatar
United States, MA, Holliston
Joined Jul 2007
659 Posts
+1 to Bunky.

Servo specs have been doing the telephone game for years.

Builder #1 uses 150oz. Builder #2 hears that and says well I better use 200. Builder #3 wants to show up 2 and installs 300. #4 says well if 3 uses 300 and I think I fly harder I will use 400. Then MKS servo reads the forum and decides to make a 600 because obviously guys will buy it. Futaba sees what MKS did and comes out with the 1000oz A700 monster to stay ahead of everybody else.

And so on. Someday the madness has to stop or else you are going to see somebody try and rig up a DeWalt impact driver to a rudder....


The reality is most of us probably dont need anywhere near these crazy numbers. Years ago there was a spreadsheet floating around that would calculate real servo loads if you plug in the surface geometry, throws and airspeed and I remember the numbers it spit out where surprisingly low. I'm still flying an old 18lb PAU Edge and 300oz on the rudder (at only 6 volts!) will KE loop that all day just like Bunkys 35%ers....
jharkin is offline Find More Posts by jharkin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 02:15 PM
ponyboy082662 is offline
Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
wrongwayfeldman
ponyboy082662's Avatar
United States, AL, Florence
Joined Mar 2010
2,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jharkin View Post
+1 to Bunky.

Servo specs have been doing the telephone game for years.

Builder #1 uses 150oz. Builder #2 hears that and says well I better use 200. Builder #3 wants to show up 2 and installs 300. #4 says well if 3 uses 300 and I think I fly harder I will use 400. Then MKS servo reads the forum and decides to make a 600 because obviously guys will buy it. Futaba sees what MKS did and comes out with the 1000oz A700 monster to stay ahead of everybody else.

And so on. Someday the madness has to stop or else you are going to see somebody try and rig up a DeWalt impact driver to a rudder....


The reality is most of us probably dont need anywhere near these crazy numbers. Years ago there was a spreadsheet floating around that would calculate real servo loads if you plug in the surface geometry, throws and airspeed and I remember the numbers it spit out where surprisingly low. I'm still flying an old 18lb PAU Edge and 300oz on the rudder (at only 6 volts!) will KE loop that all day just like Bunkys 35%ers....
Exactly.. we been thru the exact same thing with engine/plane sizes....50cc then 55...then 60 and so on.
ponyboy082662 is offline Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 08:46 PM
Hinckley Bill is offline
Find More Posts by Hinckley Bill
Registered User
Hinckley Bill's Avatar
Hinckley Illinois
Joined Jan 2006
2,202 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jharkin View Post
Years ago there was a spreadsheet floating around that would calculate real servo loads if you plug in the surface geometry, throws and airspeed and I remember the numbers it spit out where surprisingly low. .
Is this the spreadsheet you're referring too:
http://www.mnbigbirds.com/Servo%20To...0Caculator.htm
Hinckley Bill is offline Find More Posts by Hinckley Bill
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2019, 09:05 PM
acerc is offline
Find More Posts by acerc
Registered User
acerc's Avatar
United States, FL, Center Hill
Joined Jul 2014
2,103 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hinckley Bill View Post
Is this the spreadsheet you're referring too:
http://www.mnbigbirds.com/Servo%20To...0Caculator.htm
Hey! I have that one, it is pretty good. I find it is usually nearly half of what the mfg recommends. And I also find even at the nearly half I still don't use any mah's, a good sign of no loading.
But my situation is more of normal flight, I would imagine 3D would require the higher torque ratings.
acerc is offline Find More Posts by acerc
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2019, 08:21 AM
astrohog is offline
Find More Posts by astrohog
movin' on
astrohog's Avatar
Bellingham, WA
Joined Jul 2007
2,164 Posts
You can use more than 400 oz., just don't fly over 400'

Astro
astrohog is offline Find More Posts by astrohog
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2019, 12:37 AM
extrabad3 is offline
Find More Posts by extrabad3
Extra Bad
extrabad3's Avatar
United States, CA, Fallbrook
Joined Nov 2012
177 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpira View Post
I have a 120cc PAU Edge 540. In the manual it says, “One or two servos for rudder equaling 400oz.” Does this mean I cant go to 800oz? Do I have to stay at 400oz? I was going to use two 400oz servos. (I know thats a lot of torque, but still....)
You can definitely use more then 400oz. Just the question is, do you really need it. Unless you fly hardcore 3D, you really don’t need a ton of torque especially with today’s servos. I’ve seen guys use one Hitec HS-7955 on there 35%er rudder and fly the heck out of it with no issues.
extrabad3 is offline Find More Posts by extrabad3
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools