logo
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2019, 05:34 PM
mikeh is offline
Find More Posts by mikeh
Registered User
mikeh's Avatar
United States, WI, Green Bay
Joined Mar 2006
542 Posts
Discussion
Hitech pads

I bought a used brushless servo without the pad. Whats the story about the pads? When do you have to use them?
mikeh is offline Find More Posts by mikeh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 06-16-2019, 05:54 PM
Philkoury is offline
Find More Posts by Philkoury
Registered User
United States, MS, Picayune
Joined Feb 2007
414 Posts
Functions of the Power Absorbing Device (P.A.D.) with your Hitec Brushless Servo. (2 min 39 sec)
Philkoury is offline Find More Posts by Philkoury
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2019, 10:54 AM
Xpress.. is offline
Find More Posts by Xpress..
Fully Sending It
Xpress..'s Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Mar 2008
2,801 Posts
The servos feed back power as a byproduct of their efficient design. Devices that have battery sharing tech don't want to accept that power back, so it bounces back to the servo and causes it to momentarily overshoot center before returning. You can see this demonstrated here:

Hitec HSB-9381TH with PowerSafe Rx - no PAD (0 min 31 sec)


Please describe your setup using extremely specific details of your components layout and I can tell you if you need the PAD or not. Be detailed.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2019, 12:38 PM
mikeh is offline
Find More Posts by mikeh
Registered User
mikeh's Avatar
United States, WI, Green Bay
Joined Mar 2006
542 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress.. View Post
The servos feed back power as a byproduct of their efficient design. Devices that have battery sharing tech don't want to accept that power back, so it bounces back to the servo and causes it to momentarily overshoot center before returning. You can see this demonstrated here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAe4NllsHxk

Please describe your setup using extremely specific details of your components layout and I can tell you if you need the PAD or not. Be detailed.
All servos are hitec's but only one servo is brushless. Running Jeti receivers into a Booma Rc RRS system with Pulse lipos for power.
mikeh is offline Find More Posts by mikeh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2019, 09:48 AM
Xpress.. is offline
Find More Posts by Xpress..
Fully Sending It
Xpress..'s Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Mar 2008
2,801 Posts
I would plug one PAD in. It can go into any open channel, or Y into the servo lead, or wherever you can fit it. It never hurts to run it.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2019, 12:29 PM
mikeh is offline
Find More Posts by mikeh
Registered User
mikeh's Avatar
United States, WI, Green Bay
Joined Mar 2006
542 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress.. View Post
I would plug one PAD in. It can go into any open channel, or Y into the servo lead, or wherever you can fit it. It never hurts to run it.
Where can i get one?
mikeh is offline Find More Posts by mikeh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2019, 07:48 PM
closetguy is offline
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,663 Posts
If it ain't one it's another.Get the latest greatest thing out there now buy another gadget to make it work!
closetguy is offline Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2019, 10:40 AM
Xpress.. is offline
Find More Posts by Xpress..
Fully Sending It
Xpress..'s Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Mar 2008
2,801 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeh View Post
Where can i get one?
They only come with the servos from the factory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by closetguy View Post
If it ain't one it's another.Get the latest greatest thing out there now buy another gadget to make it work!
See above. They come with the servos from the factory and aren't always needed, which means your post is just trolling.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2019, 02:08 PM View Post
closetguy
A moderator felt this post violated the following rule: Trolling (Obnoxious behavior). It is temporarily hidden while closetguy edits it. Show it to me anyway.
Old 06-24-2019, 10:46 PM
mikeh is offline
Find More Posts by mikeh
Registered User
mikeh's Avatar
United States, WI, Green Bay
Joined Mar 2006
542 Posts
Thanks Express! I opted to run two rudder servos so a pad came with the new servo.
mikeh is offline Find More Posts by mikeh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2019, 03:10 PM
closetguy is offline
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,663 Posts
So Express can call me a troll for no good reason other than me not liking a product that Hitec puts out, and he doesn't get a point? And I say "It takes one to know one" And I get a point?
I will gladly edit my post when Express edits his in calling me a troll.

Sorry for this public view but I don't know how to get a hold of the Moderator that sent me the notice
closetguy is offline Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2019, 06:24 PM
closetguy is offline
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,663 Posts
So this is just one or in most cases two pads minimum for a plane (1 pad for every 3 servos) and taking up one channel for every pad on a receiver,or you can probably Y them in, another possible failure point.Now you have two more possible or more failure points when and if these gadgets go bad. Then you won't know for sure what is giving you the problem the servo or is it one or how many pads you need .Dosen't sound very appealing to me for one of Hitec's latest and greatest servo's.
And I was correct in saying you have to buy them even though "Express" called me a troll for saying that.You do have to buy them at a additional cost,the servo comes with or with out the pad.For a cost savings as said in the video you can purchase them with out the pad for a cost savings. I think a apology from "Express" is in order to me. That is if he is a kind of guy that can omit when he is wrong.


So it looks like the only troll around here when talking about Hitec is "Express" when he doesn't like hearing the truth about their latest and greatest products.
closetguy is offline Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2019, 02:47 AM
MomoBrut is online now
Find More Posts by MomoBrut
What? Lower? OK!
MomoBrut's Avatar
Czech Republic
Joined Jan 2006
532 Posts
Can someone please explain exactly how PAD works, what's inside? What circuits? Thank you.
MomoBrut is online now Find More Posts by MomoBrut
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2019, 06:01 AM
ghoffman is offline
Find More Posts by ghoffman
Registered User
ghoffman's Avatar
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
7,898 Posts
It is a capacitor.
ghoffman is offline Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2019, 06:54 AM
MomoBrut is online now
Find More Posts by MomoBrut
What? Lower? OK!
MomoBrut's Avatar
Czech Republic
Joined Jan 2006
532 Posts
Certainly not ...
MomoBrut is online now Find More Posts by MomoBrut
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale RCV90SP NIB + In-Cowl Silencer (Pair) ir3 Engines 0 08-22-2015 01:34 AM