logo
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2018, 10:50 AM
haribo is offline
Find More Posts by haribo
Registered User
haribo's Avatar
Joined Dec 2016
578 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghoffman View Post
If it says "7.4v" they really mean 8.4v since that is a fully charged 2S lipo.
http://pakratt.weebly.com/4-25-16-bl...ss-servos.html

''When I first received the BLS-2514H servos I was planing on running them on 2s (7.2v) lipo batteries, as the indicated voltage is 3.3v to 7.6v.

With that said, I did try experimenting and setting them up
with the 2s lipo and they did some weird, bad things such as overshooting and hunting badly for center position, along with getting really warm...

Also, on the packaging, in defense
of the company, they don't state "High Voltage", so I was kind of wondering if I should even try in the first place.....

Luckilly I didn't "toast" any of these five servos trying this.... and to me,
that means that the electronics in them are for the most part "decently robust"! Lucky me!''
haribo is offline Find More Posts by haribo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 12-11-2018, 11:50 AM
ajflys is offline
Find More Posts by ajflys
NO not that AJ
ajflys's Avatar
United States, CA, Pasadena
Joined Jul 2014
108 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by haribo View Post
http://pakratt.weebly.com/4-25-16-bl...ss-servos.html

''When I first received the BLS-2514H servos I was planing on running them on 2s (7.2v) lipo batteries, as the indicated voltage is 3.3v to 7.6v.

With that said, I did try experimenting and setting them up
with the 2s lipo and they did some weird, bad things such as overshooting and hunting badly for center position, along with getting really warm...

Also, on the packaging, in defense
of the company, they don't state "High Voltage", so I was kind of wondering if I should even try in the first place.....

Luckilly I didn't "toast" any of these five servos trying this.... and to me,
that means that the electronics in them are for the most part "decently robust"! Lucky me!''
Good thing that's referencing Futaba servos and not some off brand. What a relief.

A.J.
ajflys is offline Find More Posts by ajflys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2018, 12:04 PM
torquen is offline
Find More Posts by torquen
Registered User
torquen's Avatar
Lodi, Ca. USA
Joined Jan 2006
1,600 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajflys View Post
Good thing that's referencing Futaba servos and not some off brand. What a relief.

A.J.
Rotflmao. AJ, try to stay on topic will ya. This is about Futaba
torquen is offline Find More Posts by torquen
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2018, 03:35 PM
japan3d is online now
Find More Posts by japan3d
Mr. Cessna
japan3d's Avatar
Japan, Ibaraki-ken, Sashima-gun
Joined Jan 2006
2,141 Posts
Got three of them hooked up to the elevators and rudder. Looks like it's going to fun flying with them. Have 9177s installed on the ailerons.
japan3d is online now Find More Posts by japan3d
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2019, 11:20 PM
orthobird is online now
Find More Posts by orthobird
I hammer at 1500 feet
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
8,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by japan3d View Post
Got three of them hooked up to the elevators and rudder. Looks like it's going to fun flying with them. Have 9177s installed on the ailerons.
any updates?

Have you been able to fly and test them for us?

I know it is winter time and some us cannot go out and fly. Here it is 45 F and way too cold for me, someone raised in Miami, Florida. Now living in Shreveport, LA.
orthobird is online now Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2019, 06:00 PM
japan3d is online now
Find More Posts by japan3d
Mr. Cessna
japan3d's Avatar
Japan, Ibaraki-ken, Sashima-gun
Joined Jan 2006
2,141 Posts
Haven't flown it yet. Still awaiting parts to finish the plane. Holidays slow package delivery way down.
japan3d is online now Find More Posts by japan3d
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2019, 06:34 AM
orthobird is online now
Find More Posts by orthobird
I hammer at 1500 feet
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
8,237 Posts
Anyone else have these servos? And can they tell us how they perform so far?
orthobird is online now Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2019, 06:56 AM
Billy Bunter is offline
Find More Posts by Billy Bunter
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
88 Posts
I have 6 of these servos on order, here in the UK. I plan to fit two of these to the rudder on a CARF YAK55SP I an currently flying.

At the moment the YAK has a pair of Hitec 7990s driving the rudder, powered at 7.4V. So, about 88kg of torque. The servos are mounted either side of the fuselage about 100mm in front of the rudder and are on a push/pull direct drive arrangement.

Currently, knife edge loops can see a bit of blow-back on the way down, if you get a bit throttle happy.

I'm hoping that the A700s will remedy this issue, delivering 148kg of torque.

The servos should be here this month, so as soon as they are arrive, I'll fit them, test them and give some feedback.

B.
Billy Bunter is offline Find More Posts by Billy Bunter
Last edited by Billy Bunter; 01-12-2019 at 07:27 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2019, 05:22 PM
haribo is offline
Find More Posts by haribo
Registered User
haribo's Avatar
Joined Dec 2016
578 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy Bunter View Post
At the moment the YAK has a pair of Hitec 7990s driving the rudder, powered at 7.4V.
what voltage will you power your A700 servos with ?
I didn't know that 1.2V less would make a servo last twice as much.

haribo is offline Find More Posts by haribo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2019, 09:18 PM
mrc100 is offline
Find More Posts by mrc100
Registered User
rochester, ny
Joined Aug 2006
280 Posts
I have received the one I order awhile back but won’t get to try it until spring. I also ordered the recommended capacitor which also arrived. Should really add some authority to my PAU rudder.
mrc100 is offline Find More Posts by mrc100
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2019, 10:18 AM
Billy Bunter is offline
Find More Posts by Billy Bunter
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
88 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by haribo View Post
what voltage will you power your A700 servos with ?
I didn't know that 1.2V less would make a servo last twice as much.

I plan on running the servos at 7.4V.

Not surprised by the reduction in life.

B.
Billy Bunter is offline Find More Posts by Billy Bunter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2019, 01:28 PM
mrc100 is offline
Find More Posts by mrc100
Registered User
rochester, ny
Joined Aug 2006
280 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy Bunter View Post
I have 6 of these servos on order, here in the UK. I plan to fit two of these to the rudder on a CARF YAK55SP I an currently flying.

At the moment the YAK has a pair of Hitec 7990s driving the rudder, powered at 7.4V. So, about 88kg of torque. The servos are mounted either side of the fuselage about 100mm in front of the rudder and are on a push/pull direct drive arrangement.

Currently, knife edge loops can see a bit of blow-back on the way down, if you get a bit throttle happy.

I'm hoping that the A700s will remedy this issue, delivering 148kg of torque.

The servos should be here this month, so as soon as they are arrive, I'll fit them, test them and give some feedback.

B.
Have you logged your power draw to see if there is a degradation in available power contributing to the blow back?
mrc100 is offline Find More Posts by mrc100
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2019, 01:36 PM
mrc100 is offline
Find More Posts by mrc100
Registered User
rochester, ny
Joined Aug 2006
280 Posts
This is the capacitor that is recommended for the A700.

https://futabausa.com/shop/accessori...u-top-ubr0002/
mrc100 is offline Find More Posts by mrc100
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2019, 03:42 PM
Billy Bunter is offline
Find More Posts by Billy Bunter
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
88 Posts
No, I haven’t logged the power draw. But, I’m using the lastest Powerbox Competition for power management. And, when flying a knife edge loop I’m mostly just using a rudder input, so not much draw from all for the other servos. Putting this together and based upon past experience, I’d be really surprised if there is any degreadation in power.

B.
Billy Bunter is offline Find More Posts by Billy Bunter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2019, 05:44 PM
Sukhoikid is offline
Find More Posts by Sukhoikid
Team Futaba
Sukhoikid's Avatar
Joined Jan 2006
11,472 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrc100 View Post
This is the capacitor that is recommended for the A700.

https://futabausa.com/shop/accessori...u-top-ubr0002/
I believe this is only if you plan on using it on SBUS
Sukhoikid is offline Find More Posts by Sukhoikid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
luishmald
Thread Tools