logo
Old 06-21-2012, 06:50 PM
Find More Posts by androidx1
United States, OH, Avon
Joined May 2012
32 Posts
Discussion
Dual Receivers (Positives and Negatives)

Hi Everyone......
Im just starting to work on finishing two planes (30cc and 50cc). I just recently purchased a used 12Z (2.4ghz) to use for these planes and ive been thinking about the best way to set up the planes......specifically the receivers (one or two)

Ive been flying for 30 years but dont have much experience with larger stuff (specifically gas). All my flying has been with nitro or electric and nothing larger than say a 72 inch plane or so......

Anyway.......so i really like the idea of two receivers for redundancy (two batteries, two switches, two receivers) So if something goes wrong with one, I can still get the plane down. I would set it up so if one receiver/switch/batter fails, I will still have control of at lease say the right half elevator, and the left aileron.

That said, if it was such a great idea everyone would be doing it....so what are the drawbacks? why isnt everyone flying this way.

On a side note......which do u guys think is better? One Futaba reciever or two Frsky FASST compatible receiver? Im asking because if im going to use two receivers, i would save lots of money up front on the receivers if I purchased the Frsky receivers..........

Anyway.....Cant wait to hear some input from members with more experience than me!!!!
androidx1 is offline Find More Posts by androidx1
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 06-21-2012, 06:55 PM
Find More Posts by mbacosa
United States, AZ, Scottsdale
Joined May 2008
2,087 Posts
I always use two receivers on my big stuff. It's cheap insurance.
mbacosa is offline Find More Posts by mbacosa
Old 06-21-2012, 06:58 PM
Find More Posts by Wayne's World
Its great to be alive!
United States, OH, Norwalk
Joined Mar 2008
1,563 Posts