logo
Old 05-26-2019, 02:29 PM
Find More Posts by tms261
United States, NC, Cary
Joined May 2010
15 Posts
Discussion
Big gas vs electric

Hey guys. I've been flying nothing but gas 50cc and up for 15 years or so. I'm considering trying electric for my next build, a 91 inch Laser. I've been using 6s lipos in EDF's for a couple of years and have high high amp chargers. Any of you out there fly gas and electric? I know some benefits....little noise, clean, no vibration.....Any downsides?
tms261 is offline Find More Posts by tms261
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 05-26-2019, 02:44 PM
Find More Posts by Festivus
I fly 12 months a year
United States, TX
Joined Jul 2017
879 Posts
Extremely short flight time fun reduced 91 percent. That is the short side to me. I have seen a few at my field try 30cc size planes to electric they all had issues with dependability and power after two minutes.
Festivus is offline Find More Posts by Festivus
Last edited by Festivus; 05-26-2019 at 03:01 PM.
Old 05-26-2019, 03:00 PM
United States, NC, Cary
Joined May 2010
15 Posts
As far as extremely short, I know thats the case with my edf's as I only get about 4 minutes. But watch a video of 60cc size electric with two 6s batteries on Extreme Fiights website. Jase Dussia flying about 10 minutes. I guess 10 minutes is short to some. As far as fun reduced? Watch the video. Just as powerful as a DA 70 twin with can....which would be my alternative. Just getting tired of the bark of everyones pitts mufflers. So are our neighbors. No deserts in NC.
Old 05-26-2019, 04:46 PM
I fly 12 months a year
United States, TX
Joined Jul 2017
879 Posts