logo
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2019, 03:05 PM
Renegadeflyer is offline
Find More Posts by Renegadeflyer
Registered User
Renegadeflyer's Avatar
United States, PA, Harrisburg
Joined Feb 2016
338 Posts
Question for those using K&S rear dump on a DA150, what header length are you using? I should add that I am trying to use the Pro Flo cans, but they are not working out because the exit is right where a fuse former is.
Renegadeflyer is offline Find More Posts by Renegadeflyer
Last edited by Renegadeflyer; 11-05-2019 at 03:15 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 11-05-2019, 04:38 PM
Warwix is offline
Find More Posts by Warwix
Team AJ Aircraft
Warwix's Avatar
United States, MI, Westland
Joined Feb 2015
417 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegadeflyer View Post
Question for those using K&S rear dump on a DA150, what header length are you using? I should add that I am trying to use the Pro Flo cans, but they are not working out because the exit is right where a fuse former is.
Equally cut the length of the headers to help them align with the cutout in the fuse. It won't have any effect on the performance of your setup.
Warwix is offline Find More Posts by Warwix
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2019, 09:31 PM
Xpress.. is offline
Find More Posts by Xpress..
Fully Sending It
Xpress..'s Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Mar 2008
2,927 Posts
I concur, just trim your headers slightly.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2019, 09:36 PM
jamesrxx951 is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Registered User
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
10,498 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegadeflyer View Post
Question for those using K&S rear dump on a DA150, what header length are you using? I should add that I am trying to use the Pro Flo cans, but they are not working out because the exit is right where a fuse former is.
How do those pro_flow cans fit. I tried a set I had but they seemed way to big for the tunnel.
jamesrxx951 is offline Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2019, 09:01 AM
Renegadeflyer is offline
Find More Posts by Renegadeflyer
Registered User
Renegadeflyer's Avatar
United States, PA, Harrisburg
Joined Feb 2016
338 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warwix View Post
Equally cut the length of the headers to help them align with the cutout in the fuse. It won't have any effect on the performance of your setup.


I would have to cut at least an inch and a quarter (1.25") of the headers to clear that brace and not burn the wood. That would put me around 9.25" header length. Dave Sullivan recommends for these canisters 10.5" header, but no more than .5" variance. If I cut the header, I would be .75" out of his usable range. He recommends me to cut out the brace, and build a little frame around the opening (new brace) to keep within proper tolerances.
Renegadeflyer is offline Find More Posts by Renegadeflyer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2019, 09:59 AM
Renegadeflyer is offline
Find More Posts by Renegadeflyer
Registered User
Renegadeflyer's Avatar
United States, PA, Harrisburg
Joined Feb 2016
338 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesrxx951 View Post
How do those pro_flow cans fit. I tried a set I had but they seemed way to big for the tunnel.
They don't seem too big, they have a larger diameter (fatter) but they fit fine in the tunnel and they fit inside the largest of the three sets of mounts provided by AJ for the laser. The problem is with the length as noted above.
Renegadeflyer is offline Find More Posts by Renegadeflyer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2019, 03:47 PM
Xpress.. is offline
Find More Posts by Xpress..
Fully Sending It
Xpress..'s Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Mar 2008
2,927 Posts
Boo!! My 115 hit the deck on an unscheduled landing today

One of my rudder servos locked full over when I was low and in a harrier. I'm pretty sure I damaged the servo when I ripped wide open throttle at top speed into a crankshaft, can't be doing that with an airplane this size, oops..

The good news is the airplane is mostly fine, just need to glue the landing gear block back together and replace a wing panel and wheel pants. The engine will have to go back to a friend to be looked at because I was on the gas when it hit.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2019, 04:24 PM
jamesrxx951 is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Registered User
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
10,498 Posts
Ouch! That really sucks. But at least you were able to save most of the expensive parts.
jamesrxx951 is offline Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2019, 10:41 PM
Zeeb is offline
Find More Posts by Zeeb
Registered User
Zeeb's Avatar
United States, UT, St. George
Joined Feb 2006
4,471 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress.. View Post
Boo!! My 115 hit the deck on an unscheduled landing today

One of my rudder servos locked full over when I was low and in a harrier. I'm pretty sure I damaged the servo when I ripped wide open throttle at top speed into a crankshaft, can't be doing that with an airplane this size, oops..

The good news is the airplane is mostly fine, just need to glue the landing gear block back together and replace a wing panel and wheel pants. The engine will have to go back to a friend to be looked at because I was on the gas when it hit.
Sorry to see that Tanner, but considering what you were doing when it happened, I'd call that a "save".

If the engine didn't get a crankshaft problem and the fuselage where the main gear mounts didn't get hurt too much, should be fixable.
Zeeb is offline Find More Posts by Zeeb
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2019, 10:08 AM
Xpress.. is offline
Find More Posts by Xpress..
Fully Sending It
Xpress..'s Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Mar 2008
2,927 Posts
I hit on the throttle pretty hard, so the engine needs to get serviced. That's really the only part I'm bummed about, everything else is replaceable or glue-able.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools