logo
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2020, 03:52 PM
myfivezees is offline
Find More Posts by myfivezees
Registered User
myfivezees's Avatar
Pittsburgh, PA
Joined Oct 2007
692 Posts
Discussion
Smoke Pump and Smart Fly Power Expander

35% Skywing Slick

Here is my current setup:
DLE 111 Engine
Hitec Aurora 9 Transmitter
Hitec Optima 9 Receiver
9-Hitec 7955 Servos
Sullivan Skywriter Smoke Pump
Smart Fly Competition 12 Power Expander
Tech Aero IBEC
2-Duralite 2500 mah LiFe Batteries

I am looking for opinions on connecting the smoke pump to a port on the Smart Fly Competition 12 Power Expander instead of an additional battery and an additional switch.
myfivezees is offline Find More Posts by myfivezees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 11-18-2020, 09:13 AM
rrritchey is offline
Find More Posts by rrritchey
Registered User
Phoenix, AZ
Joined Sep 2006
435 Posts
Hi,
As I mentioned in my support email, many people have connected a smoke pump directly to the PowerExpander. There would be an issue if the smoke pump failed by a short. One suggestion, use a fuse in the line. My guess is that a 1A fuse would be about right. That way, if the smoke pump shorts the fuse would blow before you take out the PowerExpander.

Quote:
Originally Posted by myfivezees View Post
35% Skywing Slick

Here is my current setup:
DLE 111 Engine
Hitec Aurora 9 Transmitter
Hitec Optima 9 Receiver
9-Hitec 7955 Servos
Sullivan Skywriter Smoke Pump
Smart Fly Competition 12 Power Expander
Tech Aero IBEC
2-Duralite 2500 mah LiFe Batteries

I am looking for opinions on connecting the smoke pump to a port on the Smart Fly Competition 12 Power Expander instead of an additional battery and an additional switch.
rrritchey is offline Find More Posts by rrritchey
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2020, 01:01 PM
myfivezees is offline
Find More Posts by myfivezees
Registered User
myfivezees's Avatar
Pittsburgh, PA
Joined Oct 2007
692 Posts
Thanks so much for the reply. Very much appreciated!

So I have decided I will run the smoke pump power from the Smart Fly Competition 12. I will be using 2 Fromeco 5200 mah ReLion batteries and NO additional battery and switch for the smoke pump.

I am estimating 3-10 minute flights but I will recharge and monitor the batteries after each of the first 3 or 4 flights to get a better handle on it.
myfivezees is offline Find More Posts by myfivezees
Last edited by myfivezees; 11-20-2020 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2020, 04:48 PM
myfivezees is offline
Find More Posts by myfivezees
Registered User
myfivezees's Avatar
Pittsburgh, PA
Joined Oct 2007
692 Posts
Does anyone else have any experience using the same setup ?
myfivezees is offline Find More Posts by myfivezees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2020, 09:19 AM
ml82232 is offline
Find More Posts by ml82232
Registered User
ml82232's Avatar
United States, NE, Wahoo
Joined Oct 2013
193 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by myfivezees View Post
Does anyone else have any experience using the same setup ?
I've got 2 planes setup similar
Have a Smartfly EQ6 with a David Brown pump in 1 and an EQ10 with a Skywriter in the other
Power for pump plugged into the switch port next to the battery connection on the Smartfly
Power from 2 LIFE batteries to a Wolverine in 1 and to 2 Smartfly switches in the other to the boards
Haven't had a problem
ml82232 is offline Find More Posts by ml82232
Last edited by ml82232; 11-21-2020 at 09:22 AM. Reason: miss spell and addition
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2020, 10:33 AM
myfivezees is offline
Find More Posts by myfivezees
Registered User
myfivezees's Avatar
Pittsburgh, PA
Joined Oct 2007
692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml82232 View Post
I've got 2 planes setup similar
Have a Smartfly EQ6 with a David Brown pump in 1 and an EQ10 with a Skywriter in the other
Power for pump plugged into the switch port next to the battery connection on the Smartfly
Power from 2 LIFE batteries to a Wolverine in 1 and to 2 Smartfly switches in the other to the boards
Haven't had a problem
Thanks. Always good to hear from others for confirmation.
myfivezees is offline Find More Posts by myfivezees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools