logo
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2007, 08:25 AM
Road Builder is offline
Find More Posts by Road Builder
Uber Contributor
Road Builder's Avatar
Oswego, IL
Joined Jan 2006
674 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Hey Mike, where did you buy that PS? I might have to try this unless you want to build it I'll buy lunch That this looks killer bro.

Jay
Road Builder is offline Find More Posts by Road Builder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 02-02-2007, 08:37 AM
DpRocks is offline
Find More Posts by DpRocks
Registered User
Newport,New Hapshire
Joined Nov 2006
44 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

One thing you have to be careful with is most P?S have all the 12v and the 5v coming from the same power rail. A pc will not use 12a all the time. this really only happens at start up to get the fans and hard drives turning. And with the 12v and 5v coming from the same power rail. This means that your P/S will provide 12a over a single pole. You may find that each 12v output will not provide 12a output per connection you build for it.
DpRocks is offline Find More Posts by DpRocks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 08:49 AM
Dangerous Dan is offline
Find More Posts by Dangerous Dan
Registered User
Dangerous Dan's Avatar
United States, TX, Gainesville
Joined Jan 2006
3,897 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertHucker View Post
Just finished making mine had a 430w thermaltake PSU that would not turn off, therefor did not need the resistor.

Mike if the PSU needs load across the 5v rail to keep it alive, would a load across the 12v rail do the same thing?

Was thinking if it did then a charger on the 12v rail would give enough load to keep it alive?

I beleve they are switching power supplies and the load on the 5v allows it to make max rated power on the 12v
Dangerous Dan is offline Find More Posts by Dangerous Dan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 09:16 AM
Mike Bargman is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
If only you knew...
Mike Bargman's Avatar
Geneva, IL
Joined Jan 2006
2,189 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Road Builder View Post
Hey Mike, where did you buy that PS? I might have to try this unless you want to build it I'll buy lunch That this looks killer bro.

Jay
Hey! I bought it from Tiger Direct. It was $59. If you buy the supplies and bring 'em by, I'll throw it together for ya.

Mikey
Mike Bargman is offline Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 09:19 AM
Mike Bargman is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
If only you knew...
Mike Bargman's Avatar
Geneva, IL
Joined Jan 2006
2,189 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by DpRocks View Post
One thing you have to be careful with is most P?S have all the 12v and the 5v coming from the same power rail. A pc will not use 12a all the time. this really only happens at start up to get the fans and hard drives turning. And with the 12v and 5v coming from the same power rail. This means that your P/S will provide 12a over a single pole. You may find that each 12v output will not provide 12a output per connection you build for it.
Yeah, I didn't think there were separate supplies for each bundle of wires. I was pretty sure it was all shared. I don't think most people will use more than 15A on the supply at once for charging airplane batts. Now if you had to charge a brick lipo or something, that might be a different story...
Mike Bargman is offline Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 09:58 AM
DesertHucker is offline
Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Registered User
DesertHucker's Avatar
Kalgoorlie Australia
Joined Apr 2006
662 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

I checked my 430w psu all red, yellow, and black wires come from a comon rail (seperate for each colour).
Looking at the circut board they appear to be on 2-4 diferant rails for each colour.
But turn the board over and they are all bridged
DesertHucker is offline Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 11:13 AM
Mike Bargman is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
If only you knew...
Mike Bargman's Avatar
Geneva, IL
Joined Jan 2006
2,189 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertHucker View Post
I checked my 430w psu all red, yellow, and black wires come from a comon rail (seperate for each colour).
Looking at the circut board they appear to be on 2-4 diferant rails for each colour.
But turn the board over and they are all bridged
Which is all fine for all practical purposes. What kind of Amperage is yours rated at? I'm guess 25 or so?
Mike Bargman is offline Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 11:40 AM
Dean Allison is offline
Find More Posts by Dean Allison
Crazy 'bout Extra's
Dean Allison's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Aug 2006
343 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Bargman View Post
If it's that old, it's probably an AT and 200W most likely wouldn't be enough. Can you post a pic of the supply and connectors on it?
Thanks Mike, but I think it won't be enough, the +12V is only 8 amps, hardly worth the effort. I'm going to go out to the local computer shop a get a new one. At least I get something worth while doing it with that way.

You must be pretty busy after starting up this thread.

Regards,

Dean.
Dean Allison is offline Find More Posts by Dean Allison
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 11:46 AM
Dave P is offline
Find More Posts by Dave P
Flyin' Around
Dave P's Avatar
Central, IL.
Joined Mar 2006
42 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Mike nice build thread. Great job.

Chris you have a great looking power supply now. I built one for all my shop charging two years ago and have had nothing but good luck with it. But it does not look anywhere near as good looking as yours does. Nice bling.
Dave P is offline Find More Posts by Dave P
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 11:46 AM
Road Builder is offline
Find More Posts by Road Builder
Uber Contributor
Road Builder's Avatar
Oswego, IL
Joined Jan 2006
674 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

I might just do that Mike! PM me a list of what I need, or I can shoot you some $ and you get what you need, it's up to you brotha.

Jay
Road Builder is offline Find More Posts by Road Builder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 01:31 PM
0llie is offline
Find More Posts by 0llie
Bring it on down!
0llie's Avatar
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Joined Feb 2006
247 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Big thanks from over here, its been our to-do list for a while and you just made it too easy!!!

I didn't have a resistor and it works without ?? Only thing I've done different is put a voltmeter accross the 12v and it works ok

Tried it last night, and it ran 2 chargers fine

Thanks again

Shaun and 0llie
0llie is offline Find More Posts by 0llie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 02:21 PM
Mike Bargman is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
If only you knew...
Mike Bargman's Avatar
Geneva, IL
Joined Jan 2006
2,189 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Road Builder View Post
I might just do that Mike! PM me a list of what I need, or I can shoot you some $ and you get what you need, it's up to you brotha.

Jay
If you want to go with the same setup that Chris has, it's about $70. If you wanna do it, PM me and we'll figure it out.
Mike Bargman is offline Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 02:22 PM
Mike Bargman is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
If only you knew...
Mike Bargman's Avatar
Geneva, IL
Joined Jan 2006
2,189 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0llie View Post
Big thanks from over here, its been our to-do list for a while and you just made it too easy!!!

I didn't have a resistor and it works without ?? Only thing I've done different is put a voltmeter accross the 12v and it works ok

Tried it last night, and it ran 2 chargers fine

Thanks again

Shaun and 0llie
That's awesome news! Might not be the same type of supply I used, but that's perfect. Enjoy it!
Mike Bargman is offline Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 02:23 PM
Mike Bargman is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
If only you knew...
Mike Bargman's Avatar
Geneva, IL
Joined Jan 2006
2,189 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Chris,

I hope you don't mind...I'm breaking her in...
Mike Bargman is offline Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 02:38 PM
Cracky is offline
Find More Posts by Cracky
WHATS CRACKALAKIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cracky's Avatar
Wentzville, MO
Joined Jan 2006
9,313 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Bargman View Post
Chris,

I hope you don't mind...I'm breaking her in...

Did you give her a kiss on the cheek first???
Cracky is offline Find More Posts by Cracky
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ion Cube 12v power supply dhawks Fromeco SA Support 48 09-04-2008 06:26 PM
8711 or 5955 kim3D General Discussion 103 04-02-2008 05:08 PM
smartfly power expander setup questions..?!?! SleepyC Onboard Electronics 20 11-06-2007 11:55 PM
OMG. Full Scale Electrics! madmax General Discussion 38 07-29-2007 09:24 PM
Smart-Fly Power Expander for 14MZ/G3 DKjens What's Hot 1 02-06-2006 01:50 PM