Old 06-25-2013, 12:08 PM
Find More Posts by kwilson
Drone pilot since 1979
Jacksonville, FL
Joined May 2006
1,242 Posts
Discussion
Effects of wind on flight

I was reading a few posts regarding the tragic accident over on the full scale forum, and the effects of the wind. I had some questions, but thought it would be better to discuss them here. Let me start by saying I only have about 20 hours in a Cherokee and 1 hour in an Extra 300, so I am by no means an expert on full scale flight. I do have several years experience flying r/c though, and have alway heard from experts that the airplane does not know the wind is blowing. This is assuming a steady wind, not gusts.
My question is this. Why does the plane "weather vane" into the wind? For instance, if you pull to a vertical upline in a cross wind, the nose will invariably start to point in the direction the wind is coming from. In fact, I usually need to hold opposite rudder in order to maintain a straight line.
kwilson is offline Find More Posts by kwilson
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 06-25-2013, 12:18 PM
Find More Posts by Flyfalcons
Hero to the masses
United States, WA, Enumclaw
Joined Sep 2006
4,194 Posts
If you're flying in a coordinated, level line before the pull, your airplane won't weathervane.
Flyfalcons is offline Find More Posts by Flyfalcons
Old 06-25-2013, 12:24 PM
Find More Posts by reyn3545
United States, FL, Mulberry
Joined Oct 2006
10,499 Posts
The wind pushes against your rudder, pushing the tail of the plane with the wind, and the nose into the wind. To Flyfalcons' point, if you are flying a coordinated level line prior to pulling up, then you are already applying rudder to compensate for the wind. if you pull the elevator to go vertical, you should leave whatever rudder control exactly as it was prior to the pull.
reyn3545 is offline Find More Posts by reyn3545
Old 06-25-2013, 12:24 PM
Find More Posts by wylieruneyjr
RUTNBUC