logo
Old 12-20-2007, 06:34 AM
Find More Posts by leelee
Knife Edge
United States, NC, Lumberton
Joined Oct 2006
1,138 Posts
Balancing large airframes

I am just getting into larger scale airplanes and I have problems trying to balance them on my own. I hate to wait around for someone to help me, is there a CG device for giant scale or an easier way to do it. I also have a large biplane and would like something that would work with a monowing also. The old finger under the wing at the cg point with a 16lb and up plane is pretty hard. Thank's
leelee is offline Find More Posts by leelee
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 12-20-2007, 07:10 AM
Find More Posts by Vic3D
Suspended Account
Puerto Rico, Caguas, Caguas
Joined Jan 2006
5,011 Posts
Re: Balancing large airframes

Usually need two people to do this. Just raising by the wingtips. If you don't have an assistant, you would have to get a scale, pencil and paper, and a calculator and use this method:

https://www.flyinggiants.com/forums/...our-plane.html

Good luck
Vic3D is offline Find More Posts by Vic3D
Reply With Quote  (Disabled) Quick reply to this message (Disabled)
Old 12-20-2007, 07:12 AM
Find More Posts by Chris
United States, CO, Colorado Springs
Joined Apr 2006
342 Posts

If it is supposed to balance on the tube, there us an easy way to do it. Slip the wings out just enough to get a piece of string around the wing tube. Tie a loop around the tube and slip the wings back on. Pick up on the string.

Go to the giant scale forum on RCU and do a search. There is a way to do it by weighing the wheels and some simple math. It's the same way full scale are balanced.

Vic beat me to it. We musta been typing at the same time.
Chris is offline Find More Posts by Chris
Last edited by Chris; 12-22-2007 at 02:18 PM.
Old 12-20-2007, 07:31 AM
Find More Posts by tonyc9075
Ruston, Louisiana
Joined Sep 2007
355 Posts