logo
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2006, 03:23 AM
RustyTumbles is offline
Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Time for something New......
RustyTumbles's Avatar
Newcastle NSW, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
5,050 Posts
New to foam HELP ME..

Hey guys,

I'm haven a little drama putting my new ultrafly outrage together. I need to centre the servos before installing them, and I can't get anything to work. I am using a jeti 5 channel RX and a JR 2610 Tx. Now the only spare crystal I had was a hitec one. Will this work in the Rx?? If not what do I use?? I was also using a 4.8v pack to power the RX as I haven't yet got a power pack or setup the speed controller. What do I need to get this thing moving???
RustyTumbles is offline Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 02-03-2006, 04:23 AM
Vic3D is offline
Find More Posts by Vic3D
Suspended Account
Puerto Rico, Caguas, Caguas
Joined Jan 2006
5,011 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

You need a JR crystal to get the RX to work. Generally RX's only work with the same brand crystals. Good luck.
Vic3D is offline Find More Posts by Vic3D
Reply With Quote  (Disabled) Quick reply to this message (Disabled)
Old 02-03-2006, 04:44 AM
RustyTumbles is offline
Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Time for something New......
RustyTumbles's Avatar
Newcastle NSW, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
5,050 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

Thanks, I'll give it a whirl... I have used hitec rx and rx crystals before with my Jr tx. I think the hitec crystal is in fact a dual conversion and the rx is single conversion. Maybe thats the problem???
RustyTumbles is offline Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2006, 09:59 AM
SofaKing is offline
Find More Posts by SofaKing
Does it always do that?
SofaKing's Avatar
Valrico, FL
Joined Jan 2006
1,352 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

Indeed... you need a single conversion crystal for it to work properly.
One way to tell is, the crystal is about half the size as usual. Check your LHS
Good luck
SofaKing is offline Find More Posts by SofaKing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2006, 10:52 AM
Xipp is offline
Find More Posts by Xipp
Dumb Thumbin
Xipp's Avatar
Las Vegas Nv.
Joined Jan 2006
120 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

Rusty I just got done building that plane and it must be the aileron servo thats holding you up from starting on that thing.
The instructions read to center the servo before you install the upperwing support..Do like i did i waited to install the servo to just before i installed the upperwing just poke a hole next to the support to run the servo wire through and now you do not have to glue in the servo intill you want to.

I am amazed at this cheap lil Bi-plane it tracks real true and is just a blast to fly.
Im sure you will enjoy it.....
Xipp is offline Find More Posts by Xipp
Last edited by Xipp; 02-03-2006 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2006, 05:43 PM
RustyTumbles is offline
Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Time for something New......
RustyTumbles's Avatar
Newcastle NSW, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
5,050 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

Thanks guys,

I am really itchin' to get this thing going. Yeah it is the aileron servo holding me up. Also I'm having some problems with the motor and speed control. The speed control has 3 wire that go to the motor. 1 red, 1 black, and 1 white. But the motor just has 3 black wires. Which ones go where???
RustyTumbles is offline Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2006, 06:04 PM
marpman is offline
Find More Posts by marpman
Joined Jan 2006
197 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

Just connect the wires to the speedy and if the motor is running in reverse just change over one the other wires over to get the prop spinning the way you want it to
marpman is offline Find More Posts by marpman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2006, 12:34 AM
Flatlandman is offline
Find More Posts by Flatlandman
Your my boy Blue!!!1
Flatlandman's Avatar
Lexington Kentucky U.S.A.
Joined Jan 2006
4,698 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

also if your usiing Castle creations pheonix speed control you can progran the motor direction. if you solder the wires together and its backwards this will fix it.
Flatlandman is offline Find More Posts by Flatlandman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2006, 03:38 AM
RustyTumbles is offline
Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Time for something New......
RustyTumbles's Avatar
Newcastle NSW, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
5,050 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

thanks heaps guys,

I went to the LHS today, but the smallest lipo batt they had was a 1200mAh 2 cell. It us rated a 10C discharge. What I want to know is can I fly the outrage on this batt?? According to the motor instructions the max draw of the motor with a 10x4.7 prop and a 3cell batt is 12 Amps. I don't want to 3d straight away so can I fly it on this batt just for sport aero's??
RustyTumbles is offline Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2006, 03:48 AM
Flatlandman is offline
Find More Posts by Flatlandman
Your my boy Blue!!!1
Flatlandman's Avatar
Lexington Kentucky U.S.A.
Joined Jan 2006
4,698 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

dependeing on the thrust you get you might be able to 3d with that batt.just dont wot more than a couple sec.

if the batt. is an old vrs it may weight 2 or more oz heavier than the newer vrs so if you can live with paying for a batt that you may not use when the new vrs can be bought go fo it if its a kokam dont do it they seem to not handle what there rating says nor last very long
Flatlandman is offline Find More Posts by Flatlandman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2006, 04:40 AM
RustyTumbles is offline
Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Time for something New......
RustyTumbles's Avatar
Newcastle NSW, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
5,050 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

Thanks I'll give it a go.
RustyTumbles is offline Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2006, 04:56 AM
RustyTumbles is offline
Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Time for something New......
RustyTumbles's Avatar
Newcastle NSW, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
5,050 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

next question,

How in the world to I put a prop on the motor?? The shaft is on the wrong side of the mounting pad. I tried losening the 2 grub screws, but the shaft doesn't move.
RustyTumbles is offline Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2006, 06:36 AM
RustyTumbles is offline
Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Time for something New......
RustyTumbles's Avatar
Newcastle NSW, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
5,050 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

Don't worry, I got the prop sorted..
RustyTumbles is offline Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2006, 02:01 AM
RustyTumbles is offline
Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Time for something New......
RustyTumbles's Avatar
Newcastle NSW, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
5,050 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

ave another problem. I put the battery on charge and I was just about to go down to the park and give it a whirl, when I tested to insure the motor would spin the right way and I found that it would just sit there and jitter back and forth. I played around with the throttle and still the same. Occationly it would spin slowly but then it would just stop and jitter back and forth. What it happening?? The motor was getting quite hot when this was happening too. Do I need the 3 cell pack to fly it. The motor is a ultrafly B/06/10, and I'm using a ultrafly typhoon 15 esc and 10x4.7 prop. Any ideas?????
RustyTumbles is offline Find More Posts by RustyTumbles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2006, 02:16 AM
Fly-guy is offline
Find More Posts by Fly-guy
Mother Huckin' Pro Bro
Fly-guy's Avatar
Brisbane, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
488 Posts
Re: New to foam HELP ME..

Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyTumbles
ave another problem. I put the battery on charge and I was just about to go down to the park and give it a whirl, when I tested to insure the motor would spin the right way and I found that it would just sit there and jitter back and forth. I played around with the throttle and still the same. Occationly it would spin slowly but then it would just stop and jitter back and forth. What it happening?? The motor was getting quite hot when this was happening too. Do I need the 3 cell pack to fly it. The motor is a ultrafly B/06/10, and I'm using a ultrafly typhoon 15 esc and 10x4.7 prop. Any ideas?????
Sounds like one of the motor wires isnt connected properly. If one of the three on an outrunner isnt, it will jitter back and forth, because they are an AC motor. Belive me, I've done it
Fly-guy is offline Find More Posts by Fly-guy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foamy Season is here - Milling Depron Foam -> A How To Matchless Foamies 98 04-01-2010 10:43 PM
Foam wing repair mark786 Workshop Skills 9 06-21-2007 01:53 PM
foam Vs Built up on 40% ARF Dangerous Dan General Discussion 23 06-17-2007 11:41 AM
The GREAT "Let's fly foam where we shouldn't" Thread! madmax General Discussion - Electrics 18 05-19-2006 03:10 PM
Using blue foam for Ribs??? Help with some pics torquen General Discussion 9 03-17-2006 12:42 AM