logo
Old 05-26-2019, 01:47 PM
Find More Posts by Flyingtightwad
United States, KS, Garnett
Joined Feb 2017
9 Posts
Help!
Life batteries

I have no experience using life batteries on ignition and receiver..always having used nmhydrides..I purchased a nice sbach that is running life 2s 2500s on both, using star hobby miracle switches I believe there called along with a optikill..my questions are as follows..with the batteries buried in the frt of the fuse/cowl area I assume one does not worry about balancing?...also is a digital volt meter usable to check voltage both static and loaded at the field?..thank you all!
Flyingtightwad is offline Find More Posts by Flyingtightwad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 05-26-2019, 01:54 PM
Find More Posts by BarracudaHockey
Multi Platform Pilot
United States, FL, Jacksonville
Joined Dec 2007
9,645 Posts
Balancing yes, charging in the plane is fine though. Depends on your setup and who installed them, my Life batteries have an external 3 wire balance jack that uses a CellPro to balance charge them

Nothing you can do with a voltage check, charge them, fly them and charge again, see how much you put back in, from that using your capacity you can come up with a figure for the number of safe flights but I can tell you're looking minimum 4 to 5 flights using maybe half your capacity
BarracudaHockey is online now Find More Posts by BarracudaHockey
Old 05-26-2019, 02:04 PM
Joined Feb 2017
9 Posts
Ok well there has been no provision made for balancing..only charge..maybe I need to tear down and rethink this thing a bit..
Old 05-26-2019, 02:15 PM
Find More Posts by tms261
United States, NC, Cary
Joined May 2010
15 Posts
Go to Hangtime Hobbies. You can get packs wired anyway you want. That way, balancing is easy. I have used nothing but their batteries for several years and they are great. I won't use anything else on my rx's. All you need is a balancing charger.