logo
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2007, 10:02 PM
Jaybird is offline
Find More Posts by Jaybird
Registered User
Jaybird's Avatar
Jay Florida
Joined Jan 2006
3,713 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

That is a great idea about the 5 volt output. I'm gonna do that this weekend to my power supply. Would work great for setting up an airplane. Some Ernst charge jacks and a long extension would be the ticket.
Brian
Jaybird is offline Find More Posts by Jaybird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 02-01-2007, 10:06 PM
Boulder is offline
Find More Posts by Boulder
It's official, thanks Verne...
Boulder's Avatar
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Jan 2006
11,247 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Bargman View Post
The only thing I'd be worried about Ken, is...How are you going to charge the Gel Cell from the power supply? Are you going to use a charger? I wouldn't hook it straight up in fear of charging the gel cell too fast, ya know? You would need a way to control the current. I use a FMA Direct Supernova to charge my hobby batteries...works great. That runs right off 12VDC.

You're right, it would have to have a peak detect or a similar shut-off device. I'll get a charger made for the task, thanks bro.
Boulder is offline Find More Posts by Boulder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2007, 10:23 PM
SleepyC is offline
Find More Posts by SleepyC
USA, OH, Aurora
Joined Jan 2006
30,070 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

NICE THREAD dude.

MAN, very informative.
Max we need to sticky this somewhere.
SleepyC is offline Find More Posts by SleepyC
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2007, 10:27 PM
Wayne is offline
Find More Posts by Wayne
Learn how to work Kid.
Wayne's Avatar
Bloomington, Il
Joined Jan 2006
7,403 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Done stuck.
Wayne is offline Find More Posts by Wayne
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2007, 10:43 PM
Andy Thomas is offline
Find More Posts by Andy Thomas
OK 1 Roll, No I Mean 2 Point
Andy Thomas's Avatar
Farmington, MN
Joined Jan 2006
1,155 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Nice Work Dude!!
Andy Thomas is offline Find More Posts by Andy Thomas
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2007, 10:45 PM
Mike Bargman is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
If only you knew...
Mike Bargman's Avatar
Geneva, IL
Joined Jan 2006
2,189 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
You're right, it would have to have a peak detect or a similar shut-off device. I'll get a charger made for the task, thanks bro.
Yeah, just use the PS to power the charger, that's all.
Mike Bargman is offline Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2007, 11:28 PM
Dean Allison is offline
Find More Posts by Dean Allison
Crazy 'bout Extra's
Dean Allison's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Aug 2006
343 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Mike,

I've pulled my old power supply apart and found that I do not have a green wire, but I do have a single blue wire that goes into a part of the board that has -12V next to where its soldered into. Is this the same thing?

Regards,

Dean
Dean Allison is offline Find More Posts by Dean Allison
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2007, 11:31 PM
DesertHucker is offline
Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Registered User
DesertHucker's Avatar
Kalgoorlie Australia
Joined Apr 2006
662 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean Allison View Post
Mike,

I've pulled my old power supply apart and found that I do not have a green wire, but I do have a single blue wire that goes into a part of the board that has -12V next to where its soldered into. Is this the same thing?

Regards,

Dean
Dean do you know if it is a ATX or AT power supply? is the motherboard plug in 2 pieces and flat with all the pins in 1 line
DesertHucker is offline Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2007, 11:35 PM
DesertHucker is offline
Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Registered User
DesertHucker's Avatar
Kalgoorlie Australia
Joined Apr 2006
662 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Just finished making mine had a 430w thermaltake PSU that would not turn off, therefor did not need the resistor.

Mike if the PSU needs load across the 5v rail to keep it alive, would a load across the 12v rail do the same thing?

Was thinking if it did then a charger on the 12v rail would give enough load to keep it alive?
DesertHucker is offline Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2007, 11:54 PM
Dean Allison is offline
Find More Posts by Dean Allison
Crazy 'bout Extra's
Dean Allison's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Aug 2006
343 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertHucker View Post
Dean do you know if it is a ATX or AT power supply? is the motherboard plug in 2 pieces and flat with all the pins in 1 line
Lawrie, I would not have a clue mate. It's out of an old PC that is about 9 years old. Does this give you any clues. It's also only a 200W. I'm probably better off trying to get hold of another one. What do you think.

Cheers,

Dean
Dean Allison is offline Find More Posts by Dean Allison
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2007, 11:57 PM
DesertHucker is offline
Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Registered User
DesertHucker's Avatar
Kalgoorlie Australia
Joined Apr 2006
662 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean Allison View Post
Lawrie, I would not have a clue mate. It's out of an old PC that is about 9 years old. Does this give you any clues. It's also only a 200W. I'm probably better off trying to get hold of another one. What do you think.

Cheers,

Dean

If it is 9 years old most likely be AT it would have a long lead with a switch on the end.
DesertHucker is offline Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 12:02 AM
DesertHucker is offline
Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Registered User
DesertHucker's Avatar
Kalgoorlie Australia
Joined Apr 2006
662 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Dean i got a couple of 300w ATX PSU's here if you whant to drop by
DesertHucker is offline Find More Posts by DesertHucker
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 12:06 AM
Dean Allison is offline
Find More Posts by Dean Allison
Crazy 'bout Extra's
Dean Allison's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Aug 2006
343 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertHucker View Post
Dean i got a couple of 300w ATX PSU's here if you whant to drop by
Lawrie, thanks for the offer. Bit of a drive though mate ( LOL )
Dean Allison is offline Find More Posts by Dean Allison
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 03:11 AM
Mike Bargman is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
If only you knew...
Mike Bargman's Avatar
Geneva, IL
Joined Jan 2006
2,189 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertHucker View Post
Just finished making mine had a 430w thermaltake PSU that would not turn off, therefor did not need the resistor.

Mike if the PSU needs load across the 5v rail to keep it alive, would a load across the 12v rail do the same thing?

Was thinking if it did then a charger on the 12v rail would give enough load to keep it alive?
The load has to come from the 5V rail as far as I know. I've tried using a load on the 12V side and got nothing.
Mike Bargman is offline Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 03:12 AM
Mike Bargman is offline
Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
If only you knew...
Mike Bargman's Avatar
Geneva, IL
Joined Jan 2006
2,189 Posts
Re: FrankenPower! Building a 12V Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean Allison View Post
Lawrie, I would not have a clue mate. It's out of an old PC that is about 9 years old. Does this give you any clues. It's also only a 200W. I'm probably better off trying to get hold of another one. What do you think.

Cheers,

Dean
If it's that old, it's probably an AT and 200W most likely wouldn't be enough. Can you post a pic of the supply and connectors on it?
Mike Bargman is offline Find More Posts by Mike Bargman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ion Cube 12v power supply dhawks Fromeco SA Support 48 09-04-2008 06:26 PM
8711 or 5955 kim3D General Discussion 103 04-02-2008 05:08 PM
smartfly power expander setup questions..?!?! SleepyC Onboard Electronics 20 11-06-2007 11:55 PM
OMG. Full Scale Electrics! madmax General Discussion 38 07-29-2007 09:24 PM
Smart-Fly Power Expander for 14MZ/G3 DKjens What's Hot 1 02-06-2006 01:50 PM