logo
Old 04-20-2007, 11:49 AM
Find More Posts by rcalbuquerque
United States, NM, Albuquerque
Joined Mar 2007
275 Posts
Futaba 12Z Problem

I have been flying Futaba for 25 years with never a problem until now.
I recently lost my new 100cc Aeroworks YAC with a BME 110 motor and All Hitec 5955TG servos. During the first flight of the day I began practicing the Basic IMAC sequence when I lost all control of the plane and calmly watched as it went in full throttle. It never went into fail safe. I sent in the radio to Futaba service and after a few weeks it came back with the following repairs:New parts installed
4 (1) 71-CRCW04023301FT 3.3K OHM RES
4 (10 2M41A05802 ST-52 STICK ENCODER
service notes:We changed the Stick pots and checked radio thoroughly

I called Futaba Service to check what caused the crash and was told the Stick pots were bad and that could most likly was the cause.
I am out $1300 for the Plane
$675 to BME to have the motor repaired
$160 for damaged batteries and switches
$200 for a 28/10 carbon prop and spinner.
I'm not one to complain or bash a product but I am out alot of money and am looking for some advice on how to proceed.
I have had everything repaired and aquired a new plane but franly I'm scared to use this radio now.
Lou S.
rcalbuquerque is offline Find More Posts by rcalbuquerque
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 04-20-2007, 12:34 PM
Find More Posts by Dantley
Joined Feb 2007
138 Posts
Re: Futaba 12Z caused my new 100cc Aerowork Yac to crash

Is your radio new? Was this the first plane you've used it in? I've been using a 14mz for over a year and I have lost a 50cc GP Ultimate because of lock-out due to the sensitivity of the receiver.

For my 100cc plane, I put in a Power Expander and I have zero problems in the air.
Dantley is offline Find More Posts by Dantley
Old 04-20-2007, 12:49 PM
Find More Posts by loop an roll
United States, MI, Waterford Charter Township
Joined Jan 2006
207 Posts