logo
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2015, 01:56 AM
3Deranged is offline
Find More Posts by 3Deranged
Aerodynamically challenged
3Deranged's Avatar
Clermont, Florida
Joined Aug 2006
603 Posts
Here's a vid I just shot @ SEFF with my 93" Flight Models Extra 330SC @ 21.2 lbs. Hacker Q80-8M, 12s 5800mah 40c Zippy compacts, Falcon Carbon 25.5 x 13 prop, CC 160HV. Have to do some logging on it but also flew it in my 87" 3DHS Extra for a couple of years before putting it the new bird. I seem to remember about 138amps top out. Added a Mejzlik 102mm carbon cooling spinner with a 70mm EDF fan installed on the prop adapter. With some additional ducting around the Q it comes down almost ambient temps when flying IMAC style or about 110-120deg. when 3D'ing low and slow. Heat is the real enemy and with additional cooling the whole setup seems much happier. I'd have to check firmware but I think it was 3.27 if I'm not mistaken.

FLIGHT MODELS 93" EXTRA 330 SC @ SEFF 2015 (6 min 39 sec)
3Deranged is offline Find More Posts by 3Deranged
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 05-10-2015, 11:28 AM
Aeroplayin is offline
Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
Registered User
Aeroplayin's Avatar
South Pasadena, Florida
Joined Mar 2009
1,285 Posts
Nice video. What's the AUW of that 93"?

My son and I never had a problem with Ice2 HV80, HV120, and HV160 ESCs with the Hacker Q80 or A60 28 pole motors on the older 3.27 version firmware. Never a hiccup with them on that firmware version -- no timing or commutation issues. We were spinning a Mejzlik 24x10TH on the Q80 and up to 21x10 Falcon electric beech with the A60's. The only other ESC I can say the same thing about is the Jeti-Mezon 95 OPTO. I can post videos of all of the setups if you'd like to see them.
Aeroplayin is offline Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-10-2015, 11:31 AM
Aeroplayin is offline
Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
Registered User
Aeroplayin's Avatar
South Pasadena, Florida
Joined Mar 2009
1,285 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Deranged View Post
Here's a vid I just shot @ SEFF with my 93" Flight Models Extra 330SC @ 21.2 lbs. Hacker Q80-8M, 12s 5800mah 40c Zippy compacts, Falcon Carbon 25.5 x 13 prop, CC 160HV.
CC Edge HV160 or CC Ice2 HV160?
Aeroplayin is offline Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2018, 10:51 AM
itizme is offline
Find More Posts by itizme
Registered User
itizme's Avatar
Canada, ON, Angus
Joined May 2012
29 Posts
Diggin up old posts for new info please

Running the CC160HVF on the Q80-8M
First flight test on stock settings with the exception of telemtry and I am using the SBUS-2 back to the MZ
Looking at my data log and in flight I am maxing out at 80.3 amp, 3593watt, 6690rpm. Falcon 24-10e
So I am about 1500 watts short of where I should be, maybe 1000rpm short as well.

Timing is set to the default, pwm also the default of 12khz
No stutter, slip, squeel...just not enough power for 3d flight.
The settings I used were on the advice of CC with the additional advice that if there is some stuttering I could try increasing the timing.
Max timing available is 20 degrees and the motor rating is 25-30 so I will try this 20 next looking for more power.

Does anyone else run the Q80-8M witht he Edge 160? If so what are your settings
itizme is offline Find More Posts by itizme
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2018, 12:09 PM
2walla is offline
Find More Posts by 2walla
Registered User
2walla's Avatar
United States, WA, Walla Walla
Joined Apr 2007
2,309 Posts
i like hacker motors, i like castle speed controls, but the 80 has never really played well with the castle.. you may just save a lot of headache and get a jeti. my 80 works perfect with a jeti. a buddy fried his with the castle... i dont remember the settings he had but they were the recommeneded ones by castle and it seemed to work good for 2-3 short flights. it wasnt overpropped and wasnt drawing too much current but first time he flew it hard it melted the insulation off of the winding. so whatever you do have some motor temp telemetry. the speed controller was running cool untill the winding shorted. hacker usa wouldnt warranty the motor.. so it was a spendy day..
2walla is offline Find More Posts by 2walla
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2018, 01:33 PM
itizme is offline
Find More Posts by itizme
Registered User
itizme's Avatar
Canada, ON, Angus
Joined May 2012
29 Posts
I'm hearing that very well, still like to hear from others.

It isn't beyond me to replace with a spin 170 if need be.
Was using a mezon 135 opto that was supposed to work on this, lasted one flight - literally dead on landing with 4 or 5 mosfets burnt right through the board. Saw a friend flying the CC and thought it would be simple. Unfortunately his setup is in a shipping container right now so maybe no access to his setup until mid winter if I am lucky
itizme is offline Find More Posts by itizme
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2018, 10:50 AM
Flybye Steve is offline
Find More Posts by Flybye Steve
Registered User
United States, MD, Parkton
Joined Jun 2008
1,118 Posts
I used the Hacker Q80-8m on an AJ 93" Laser with a Spin Pro 200. This combo worked very well


however, flying time was limited with 2 6S 5000mha batteries. I felt that adding additional battery


capacity would limit performance. Just my take on my experience.
Flybye Steve is offline Find More Posts by Flybye Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2018, 04:09 PM
itizme is offline
Find More Posts by itizme
Registered User
itizme's Avatar
Canada, ON, Angus
Joined May 2012
29 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flybye Steve View Post
I used the Hacker Q80-8m on an AJ 93" Laser with a Spin Pro 200. This combo worked very well


however, flying time was limited with 2 6S 5000mha batteries. I felt that adding additional battery


capacity would limit performance. Just my take on my experience.
Do you recall what prop?
Ty
itizme is offline Find More Posts by itizme
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2018, 08:06 PM
twest is offline
Find More Posts by twest
Registered User
twest's Avatar
United States, MA, Ware
Joined Mar 2010
80 Posts
This sounds 100% like a timing issue. Go to max timing, check the amp draw, and of course, be sure that you are reaching 100% throttle (it has happened to all of us). Castle esc’s have a green led light up when full throttle is reached.
twest is offline Find More Posts by twest
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2018, 12:42 AM
itizme is offline
Find More Posts by itizme
Registered User
itizme's Avatar
Canada, ON, Angus
Joined May 2012
29 Posts
Set at 20 degrees now, no real change
Still running about 6600-6700rpm but much below 4000 watts, below 100 amps and esc remains below 100f.
Still at 12khz carrier and still runs without any stuttering. Testing right now is on the ground.
Only larger E prop available anywhere around here is a 24-13. Will pick up today on my travels and retry.
itizme is offline Find More Posts by itizme
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2018, 08:42 AM
Flybye Steve is offline
Find More Posts by Flybye Steve
Registered User
United States, MD, Parkton
Joined Jun 2008
1,118 Posts
Sorry, I don't remember which prop I used. I do remember however, that the folks at Hacker advised
not to use Castle ESC. There was a problem relating to the number of "poles". Hacker has 28 while
most others use 14. That's why I went with the Jeti.
Flybye Steve is offline Find More Posts by Flybye Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2018, 12:19 PM
Deckeriv is offline
Find More Posts by Deckeriv
Luv Pattern
Deckeriv's Avatar
United States, TX, League City
Joined Apr 2016
42 Posts
My understanding is that the number of poles equates to the number of calculations that the esc has to do and CC can't handle 28 poles. They say the can but Hacker says that can't. I run Q80-14xs in my pattern planes and I ran an A200 in a 40% Sukhoi and Jeti worked perfectly for both platforms. I like CC but usually use them on motors with below 20 poles. My experience anyway.
Deckeriv is offline Find More Posts by Deckeriv
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2018, 08:10 AM
twest is offline
Find More Posts by twest
Registered User
twest's Avatar
United States, MA, Ware
Joined Mar 2010
80 Posts
EDIT: I was wrong, these are 24-pole motors. Sorry, my bad.

Here is a post by the ceo of extreme flight. Their new "x-power" motors are 24 pole (not 28 pole as I first stated), which does not mean they are exactly like the hacker q series, but they also have a high pole count.


Here, he describes the exact settings he recommends for his new x-power 60cc motor with a castle 160 esc. I hope this helps.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...ostcount=56225

"Most important is to use firmware version 4.22, absolutely essential!
Motor Start Power Medium 59
Motor timing Normal 5
PWM Rate 12 khz
Throttle Response Medium 5
Current Limiting disable

The rest default settings."
twest is offline Find More Posts by twest
Last edited by twest; 09-18-2018 at 08:16 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2018, 06:06 PM
itizme is offline
Find More Posts by itizme
Registered User
itizme's Avatar
Canada, ON, Angus
Joined May 2012
29 Posts
Thank you for the heads up
itizme is offline Find More Posts by itizme
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools