logo
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2019, 10:11 AM
superleccy68 is offline
Find More Posts by superleccy68
Registered User
superleccy68's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Framlingham
Joined Jan 2018
62 Posts
Help!
Anybody familiar with HobbyWing ESC programming?

I have bought a HobbyWing Platinum 200A OPTO ESC v4.1 and a HobbyWing Multifunction Programming box. I thought I would programme the ESC out of situ from the F/W aircraft. Hah! So I thought!
First problem is the connection diagram in the manual doesn’t match the ESC. The ESC has just one non-power lead which I assume to be the throttle lead to the RX with a single yellow wire added which I take to be the RPM signal plug.
Problem number one - the diagram shows the throttle wire And a program wire coming from the ESC. Something which is not the case realtime. I have tried some wiring alternatives as illustrated with the throttle lead unconnected to the programming box and just connecting an extra supplied lead between the p/box and ESC with the separate battery connected (as it's the Opto version)to the p/box, as photographed. The end result that the [B][B]"Connecting ESC" light comes up, but that’s as far as it goes and doesn’t progress on to the “current profile” display from which to begin programming. The same happens when I use the throttle lead from the ESC to p/box which I know its not the way to go. Any ideas? Thanks
superleccy68 is offline Find More Posts by superleccy68
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 08-17-2019, 11:16 AM
FGNewbie is offline
Find More Posts by FGNewbie
Registered User
FGNewbie's Avatar
Joined Mar 2010
3,977 Posts
you might have better luck over at rc groups if you haven't already posted there.
FGNewbie is offline Find More Posts by FGNewbie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2019, 04:40 PM
lrb75 is offline
Find More Posts by lrb75
Registered User
United States, VA, Springfield
Joined Aug 2010
41 Posts
You need a male to male lead. The servo port marked -/+/P is for programming.
lrb75 is offline Find More Posts by lrb75
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2019, 06:45 PM
suds is offline
Find More Posts by suds
indywestrc & viehercfliers
suds's Avatar
United States, IN, Zionsville
Joined Jul 2014
504 Posts
Fairly certain the ESC needs power to the mains as well before it can be programmed.
suds is offline Find More Posts by suds
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2019, 04:05 AM
asjen is offline
Find More Posts by asjen
Registered User
asjen's Avatar
holland
Joined May 2006
57 Posts
you need to power the esc aswel connect the esc to a 6s battery then you can programm the esc
i have a 130 esc from hobbywing and needs also a extern main battery to get in to the setup
with the programm box and connect that to the side in your pictures
asjen is offline Find More Posts by asjen
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2019, 04:34 AM
superleccy68 is offline
Find More Posts by superleccy68
Registered User
superleccy68's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Framlingham
Joined Jan 2018
62 Posts
Right, I think I've got it, gents.
suds & asjen - as I understand it I need to connect the ESC to a main flight pack (in this case a 6S lipo) to get the programme box to work.
Irb75 - I have a male to male lead that came with the LCD box so this should be ok.

Last question. As it's an OPTO ESC and I am powering the RX using a 2S lipo, presumably I don't need a separate small battery into the programming box? Sorry to be so dumb!
superleccy68 is offline Find More Posts by superleccy68
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2019, 04:42 AM
superleccy68 is offline
Find More Posts by superleccy68
Registered User
superleccy68's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Framlingham
Joined Jan 2018
62 Posts
Male to male lead is here I guess.
superleccy68 is offline Find More Posts by superleccy68
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2019, 07:40 AM
nappyroots2182 is offline
Find More Posts by nappyroots2182
Registered User
nappyroots2182's Avatar
United States, IL, Moline
Joined Oct 2008
1,875 Posts
Hook male to male to esc and box. Then plug a battery into the esc. Then I think I usually push any button once on the box and it should connect. I've only needed to use it a few times
nappyroots2182 is offline Find More Posts by nappyroots2182
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2019, 08:39 AM
superleccy68 is offline
Find More Posts by superleccy68
Registered User
superleccy68's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Framlingham
Joined Jan 2018
62 Posts
Thanks NappyRoots2182 I will give it a go.
superleccy68 is offline Find More Posts by superleccy68
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools